As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links marked “Affiliate link” may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more.
Quick answer
A wood and metal bookcase pairs shelves with a metal frame, usually black, for an industrial look and a narrower profile than a boxy wood case. The three five-tier models we read on Amazon on 2026-10-01 are 57, 62.2 and 63 inches tall, only 12 inches deep, and their stated loads range from 30 pounds to 200 pounds, so read the load line carefully. We have not tested any of them; every number comes from the listings, and where a listing contradicts itself we say so. Check the claims against each other: one lists a metal frame but a unit weight of 1,740 grams, which is only 3.8 pounds, and another lists “200 pounds” for each shelf while the whole unit weighs 40 pounds. Anchor any tall case: the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission’s Anchor It! campaign says anchoring furniture with shelves prevents tip-over injuries and deaths.
Quick compare: the products in this guide
Sizes come from the Amazon listings as we read them; check the product page for the current details before you buy.
| Product | Listed details | Link |
|---|---|---|
| HCHQHS Adjustable 5 Tier Open Bookcase, Rustic Farmhouse Book Shelves,… | 12 x 24 x 57 in; layer height 10 to 15 in | See details on Amazon Affiliate link |
| NUMENN 5 Tier Bookshelf, Tall Freestanding Open Storage Bookcase, Vintage | 11.8 x 23.6 x 62.2 in; 30 lb maximum | See details on Amazon Affiliate link |
| WH-AOERPUMY 5 Tier Bookcase, Solid Wood Bookshelf Rustic Vintage Industrial… | 12 x 32 x 63 in; 200 lb maximum | See details on Amazon Affiliate link |
Three listings side by side
| Listing | Size (D x W x H) | Stated load | Unit weight | Adjustable? | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HCHQHS Adjustable 5 Tier Open Bookcase, wood and black metal | 12 x 24 x 57 in | not stated in the rows we read | not stated | middle shelves adjustable; layer height 10 to 15 in | View on Amazon |
| NUMENN 5 Tier Bookshelf, Tall Freestanding, Vintage | 11.8 x 23.6 x 62.2 in | 30 lb maximum | 1,740 g listed | not stated in the rows we read | View on Amazon |
| WH-AOERPUMY 5 Tier Bookcase, solid wood, rustic industrial | 12 x 32 x 63 in (bullet: 11.8 x 31.5 x 62.9) | 200 lb maximum | 40 lb | not stated; adjustable leg pads | View on Amazon |
Contradictions to know about. The HCHQHS listing’s size table covers several variants, from 24 by 12 by 57 inches to 56.7 by 12 by 65 inches, and only some are adjustable (the table marks “Adjustable height” for the 24 inch wide 57 and 70 inch units and two others, but not the 35 and 47 inch ones), so check you are on the right size. The NUMENN listing says it uses a metal frame and FSC certified wood panels but gives an item weight of 1,740 grams, which is 1,740 ÷ 454 = 3.8 pounds, too light for a five-tier case of that size, so it may be a data-entry error; check the product page. The WH-AOERPUMY listing says “Each shelf can hold up to 200 lbs” in a bullet and “Weight Capacity Maximum 200 pounds” in its details, and the whole bookcase weighs 40 pounds; 200 pounds on every shelf would be 5 x 200 = 1,000 pounds, which is hard to believe, so read it as a total at most.
Tier height: what fits where
The usable gap between shelves depends on board thickness, which the listings do not give, so use the pitch as a rough estimate:
- HCHQHS: 57 ÷ 5 = 11.4 inches per tier, within its listed 10 to 15 inch layer range.
- NUMENN: 62.2 ÷ 5 = 12.4 inches per tier.
- WH-AOERPUMY: 63 ÷ 5 = 12.6 inches per tier.
A 12 inch gap holds a typical hardcover (roughly 9 to 10 inches by our rough figure) and an 11 inch art book with a little headroom; an 11.4 inch tier is tighter. Only the HCHQHS lists a layer height range, 10 to 15 inches on its adjustable sizes, so it is the one to choose if you own tall books.
Load: reading the numbers carefully
Treat the stated load as a ceiling, not a target.
- WH-AOERPUMY: 200 pounds. If that is the total, then 200 ÷ 5 = 40 pounds per shelf, about 20 hardcovers at 2 pounds each by our rough figure. At 32 inches wide a shelf also holds about 32 spines of 1 inch, so space and weight are about balanced. If the claim is per shelf, no tests we have seen support it, and we would not rely on it.
- NUMENN: 30 pounds. If that is the total, then 30 ÷ 5 = 6 pounds per shelf, only three hardcovers per shelf, so it is a display case, not a library.
- HCHQHS: no stated load in the rows we read; ask the seller before loading it with books.
The metal frame and the tip-over question
A metal frame helps stability only if the case is braced. The WH-AOERPUMY listing mentions an X-frame back and adjustable leg pads for uneven floors; the HCHQHS listing mentions edge protection and adjustable feet. A narrow, 63 inch case, only 12 inches deep, has a high center of gravity. The CPSC’s Anchor It! campaign says anchoring all furniture with drawers, doors and shelves to the wall prevents tip-over injuries and deaths, and its steps are to attach a bracket to the wall, move the furniture close, attach the other plate to the furniture, connect the strap and tighten it; the tools it lists are a drill, a screwdriver and a stud finder. Put heavy books on the lower shelves.
Wood types and finish
The WH-AOERPUMY listing calls the shelves “real solid wood”, and the NUMENN listing says FSC certified wood panels, with a waterproof and anti-scratch surface. The HCHQHS lists engineered wood with metal and the word “waterproof” among its features. The listings do not give any test standard for these claims, so we would treat “waterproof” as water-resistant at best and wipe up spills promptly. We have not tested the finishes.
A worked example: a 24 inch wall space
A bedroom has a 24 inch wide gap between a door frame and a wardrobe.
- HCHQHS 24 inch wide: 24 − 24 = 0 inches of spare width, so it does not fit with any margin; a 20 inch gap would not take it.
- NUMENN 23.6 inch wide: 24 − 23.6 = 0.4 inch spare, which is too tight to slide in.
- WH-AOERPUMY 32 inch wide: does not fit.
If the gap is 28 inches, the 24 inch and 23.6 inch units leave 4 and 4.4 inches, enough to fit and to reach the sides. The depth of all three is about 12 inches; in a hall 36 inches wide that leaves 36 − 12 = 24 inches to walk past, which is below the 36 inch walkway width the National Kitchen & Bath Association recommends for kitchens, so in a narrow hall the shelf makes a tight squeeze.
Which one for which room
- HCHQHS (57 inches): the shortest and the one with a stated adjustable layer height of 10 to 15 inches on the right variant; good for a room where height is limited and you need tall-book flexibility.
- NUMENN (62.2 inches): the lightest on paper, with a 30 pound stated maximum; a display case for light items.
- WH-AOERPUMY (63 inches): the widest at 32 inches, the heaviest at 40 pounds and the highest stated load; the best fit for books if the listing’s figure holds.
Care and assembly
All three need assembly. Check the metal parts for burrs, assemble on a rug or blanket, tighten the bolts again after a month and level the feet on an uneven floor. Wipe wood with a damp cloth and dry it. For more storage that closes, see our small bookcases with doors guide, and for cubes cube storage organizers for small rooms; for a low shelf under a window see our guide to a low bookshelf under a window.
How to check a listing before you trust it
Three quick checks catch most bad listings. First, compare the unit weight with the size: a 62 inch, five-shelf case with a metal frame should weigh far more than 3.8 pounds, and the 40 pound WH-AOERPUMY is far more plausible. Second, compare the load claim with the weight of the product itself: a 40 pound case that claims 1,000 pounds across five shelves is not credible. Third, read the dimensions in at least two places on the page, such as the title, the bullets and the details table, and use the smaller or the better-supported number when they disagree. If two numbers in one listing contradict each other, ask the seller to confirm in writing before you rely on either, and keep the order within the return window.
Mistakes to avoid
- Believing a 200 pounds per shelf claim without a second source.
- Ignoring the unit weight; a case that claims a metal frame but weighs 3.8 pounds is a red flag.
- Picking the wrong variant in a multi-size listing.
- Putting the heaviest books on the top shelf of a tall, narrow case.
- Skipping the wall anchor.
Frequently asked questions
How much weight can a wood and metal bookcase hold?
The three here state 200 pounds (WH-AOERPUMY), 30 pounds (NUMENN) and nothing usable (HCHQHS). Read the unit as a whole, not per shelf, unless the listing says so clearly.
Are metal-frame bookcases more stable?
A metal frame helps, but a narrow, tall case still needs a wall anchor.
How far apart are the shelves?
About 11 to 13 inches by our pitch estimate; the HCHQHS lists 10 to 15 inches on adjustable sizes.
Do wood and metal bookcases need assembly?
Yes, all three do. Plan for a screwdriver or the included tools and an hour.
Can I trust “waterproof” on a bookcase listing?
Treat it as water-resistant only; none of the listings we read cite a test.
Products worth checking
We have not tested these products. Sizes and features come from the Amazon listings as we read them; where a listing does not say, we say so.
HCHQHS Adjustable 5 Tier Open Bookcase, Rustic Farmhouse Book Shelves, Industrial Wood and Black Metal
- Keep in mind: we have not tested it, and the listing may show more than one size or finish, so pick the variant that matches your numbers.
NUMENN 5 Tier Bookshelf, Tall Freestanding Open Storage Bookcase, Vintage
- Keep in mind: we have not tested it, and the listing may show more than one size or finish, so pick the variant that matches your numbers.
WH-AOERPUMY 5 Tier Bookcase, Solid Wood Bookshelf Rustic Vintage Industrial Etagere Bookcase
- Keep in mind: we have not tested it, and the listing may show more than one size or finish, so pick the variant that matches your numbers.
Sources checked
Specifications come from the Amazon listings as we read them for this guide. Product details and availability can change, so confirm on the product page before you buy.