As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links marked “Affiliate link” may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more.
A standing desk is a desk whose work surface can be set at two heights, one for sitting and one for standing, so you can change position during the day. The most common type today is an electric sit-stand desk with a motor in each leg and memory buttons. Others use a hand crank, a gas spring, or sit on top of an existing desk as a converter.
Quick compare: the products in this guide
Sizes come from the Amazon listings as we read them; check the product page for the current details before you buy.
| Product | Listed details | Link |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon Basics Electric Standing Desk, Height Adjustable Home Office Desk with… | 28 to 45.7 in height; 43.6 lb | See details on Amazon Affiliate link |
| Okin Small Electric Standing Desk, 36″ x 24″ Whole Piece Height Adjustable… | 27.56 to 45.28 in height; 154 lb load | See details on Amazon Affiliate link |
| HUANUO 32×19 Inch Small Electric Standing Desk, Adjustable, Light Walnut | 28.3 to 46.5 in height; 176 lb load | See details on Amazon Affiliate link |
What makes one right for you is not the label but the height range. The U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration describes a good working position as elbows bent between 90 and 120 degrees with forearms roughly parallel to the floor. A desk has to reach that elbow height both sitting and standing. The three listings we read on Amazon on 2026-10-01 run from about 28 inches at the bottom to about 45 or 46 inches at the top. We have not tested any of them.
The main types
- Electric sit-stand desk. A motor raises and lowers the frame at the press of a button. Most have 3 or 4 memory presets. This is what most people mean by “standing desk.”
- Manual crank or gas-spring desk. Same idea without a motor; you wind a handle or release a lever. Fewer parts to fail, slower to change.
- Desktop converter. A riser that sits on your current desk and lifts the monitor and keyboard. It keeps your desk and costs less, but it takes up surface and the keyboard can end up higher than you want. See our standing desk converter guide.
- Fixed-height standing desk. A tall desk or counter with no adjustment. It works if you only stand, which most people do not want all day.
If you are choosing between sitting only and a sit-stand model, standing desk vs fixed desk for a small room covers floor space and trade-offs.
How a standing desk differs from a normal desk
A standard desk is built around one height. Our own guide to what height a desk should be explains why that single height suits only part of the population. A standing desk replaces the single number with a range. In practice the differences are:
- Range: the lowest and highest the top can go.
- Load: how much the lift can carry. The listings below state 176 pounds for two of them.
- Memory: presets so you do not guess the height each time.
- Frame width: electric frames need floor clearance and a power outlet.
Three listings, read side by side
| Listing | Top size | Height range stated | Load stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon Basics Electric Standing Desk, 47 x 24 in | 47 x 24 in | 28 to 45.7 in, 3 memory buttons | not stated |
| Okin Small Electric Standing Desk, 36 x 24 in | 36 x 24 in | 27.56 to 45.28 in | 154 lb (listing text also mentions 176 lb tested) |
| HUANUO 32×19 Small Electric Standing Desk | 32 x 19 in | 28.3 to 46.5 in, 4 memory presets | 176 lb |
Two listings disagree with themselves, and it is worth knowing before you buy. The Okin details table shows “36 in D x 24 in W” and a “tabletop thickness” of 26.2 inches, which cannot be right for a desktop; the bullets say the top is 36 by 24 inches, so we use those. The HUANUO table shows a height range of 28 to 45 inches while the bullets say 28.3 to 46.5 inches. We use the bullet range and treat the table as a rounding of it, but we cannot confirm which is correct from the page. The Amazon Basics listing gives its width as 47 inches and its depth as 24 inches in both the bullets and the table.
A worked fit check
OSHA gives the target: elbows between 90 and 120 degrees, forearms roughly parallel to the floor. Take a person whose elbows, when they stand relaxed with the upper arm hanging down and the forearm out level, are 42 inches off the floor. That is a number you can measure with a tape against a wall.
- The top of the Amazon Basics desk reaches 45.7 inches: 45.7 − 42 = 3.7 inches of margin.
- The Okin reaches 45.28 inches: 3.28 inches of margin.
- The HUANUO reaches 46.5 inches by its bullets: 4.5 inches of margin, or 3 inches if its table’s 45 inches is right.
All three clear 42 inches. Now the sitting side. Suppose the same person’s seated elbow, with feet flat on the floor, is 27 inches off the floor. All three desks start at 28 inches or less, but the 28 inch minimum of the Amazon Basics and the 28.3 inch minimum of the HUANUO sit above 27 by 1 and 1.3 inches, and the Okin at 27.56 by 0.56. That small gap is fine for a keyboard on a thin tray, or for someone who raises their chair, but it shows why the bottom of the range matters as much as the top. A person 6 feet 4 inches tall will need a higher top, and one under 5 feet 2 inches may need a lower bottom than any of these gives.
The listing numbers describe the desk with the top attached. Whether a monitor arm, a keyboard tray or a thick desk mat shifts the usable height is not stated, so measure after setup.
What to check before you buy
- Your elbow height both ways. Stand and sit, measure floor to elbow, and compare with the range.
- Depth. A 19 inch deep top, like the HUANUO, is tight for a monitor and a laptop together; 24 inches is more common.
- Floor space and outlet. A 32 by 19 inch top has a footprint of 32 × 19 = 608 square inches, about 4.2 square feet. The 47 by 24 inch Amazon Basics top is 1,128 square inches, about 7.8 square feet.
- Weight. The listings give 24.5 pounds (HUANUO), 43.6 pounds (Amazon Basics) and 43.7 pounds (Okin); check the stairs you will carry it up.
- Cable length and the control panel. Not covered in the listings we read.
What the listings say about motion and noise
Standing desks differ in how they move, and the listings give a few numbers. The Okin listing states noise under 50 dB, a top that adjusts from 27.56 to 45.28 inches with one button, and lockable casters 1.97 inches in diameter, so it can roll. The HUANUO listing says the feet have M8 screw holes for adding your own casters, and claims its motor and lift system were tested to 50,000 lift cycles at full capacity. That is the seller’s claim; we have not verified it and there is no independent test in the listing. The Amazon Basics listing mentions an electronic display that shows the current height and three memory positions, but does not state a noise level or a lift-cycle rating in the text we read.
Treat noise and cycle claims as marketing until you see a source. What you can use is the stated load: if your monitor, laptop, arm and a mug add up to 40 pounds, the 154 and 176 pound ratings leave a wide margin, and the margin is smaller if you add a heavy under-desk treadmill or a second monitor.
Assembly and setup
Most electric models ship in sections. The Amazon Basics listing says the desktop comes in securely packaged sections that join with included screws and fittings. A reviewer of the HUANUO described a top made of two 32 by 8 inch boards joined by dowels and a bracket, which means a seam you can feel under a mouse pad. Plan for one to two hours and a second person to lift the top onto the frame. After assembly, set the sitting and standing presets while you are in position, and keep cables loose enough that they do not pull when the desk rises.
Do you actually need one?
A sit-stand desk only helps if you use the standing height. Many people set a preset and forget it. A simple habit is to change position at set times or after a task. OSHA’s guidance is about neutral posture in either position, not a prescribed stand time, so we do not give one. If you have pain or a medical condition, ask a professional.
Frequently asked questions
Is a standing desk the same as an adjustable desk?
Mostly. “Adjustable” covers any desk with changeable height, including a hand crank or a kids’ desk. “Standing” or “sit-stand” usually means the range reaches standing height, around 42 to 46 inches at the top for the listings above.
How tall must a standing desk go?
Tall enough that your forearms are parallel to the floor with elbows between 90 and 120 degrees, per OSHA. Measure your own elbow height; there is no single number.
Do electric standing desks need an outlet?
Yes, the motor and control panel plug into a wall outlet. A hand-crank desk does not.
Can I use my chair with a standing desk?
Yes, but a chair that is too tall or has fixed arms can hit the underside of the top. See the best chair for a standing desk.
What is the smallest standing desk?
Among the three we read, the HUANUO at 32 by 19 inches. For more small options, see best standing desks for small spaces, and for larger tops see best electric standing desks.
Products worth checking
We have not tested these products. Sizes and features come from the Amazon listings as we read them; where a listing does not say, we say so.
Amazon Basics Electric Standing Desk, Height Adjustable Home Office Desk with Memory Buttons and Electronic Display, 47″ x 24″, Black/Walnut Effect
See details on Amazon Affiliate linkOkin Small Electric Standing Desk, 36″ x 24″ Whole Piece Height Adjustable Desk, White Sit to Stand Computer Workstation with Wheels for Home Office
See details on Amazon Affiliate linkHUANUO 32×19 Inch Small Electric Standing Desk, Adjustable, Light Walnut
See details on Amazon Affiliate linkSources checked
Specifications come from the Amazon listings as we read them for this guide. Product details and availability can change, so confirm on the product page before you buy.