As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links marked “Affiliate link” may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more.

Measure five things before you buy furniture for a small room: the wall length, the depth you can spare, the height limit, the narrowest point on the delivery path and the walkway you want to keep. Then compare those numbers with three fields on the listing: the size, the stated weight recommendation and what is included. If the size fields disagree, use the smaller number or ask the seller. One of the three nightstands below, the VEVOR, has a title width that does not match its dimension field. The ten checks below take about fifteen minutes.

Quick compare: the products in this guide

Sizes come from the Amazon listings as we read them; check the product page for the current details before you buy.

ProductListed detailsLink
TIQLAB Modern Nightstand 24″ Curved Side Table, Charging Station, Walnut15.5″D x 24″W x 25.2″HSee details on Amazon Affiliate link
VEVOR Fluted Nightstand 3 Drawer Dresser, 24″ Wide Bedside Table with…23.6″D x 15.4″W x 27.6″HSee details on Amazon Affiliate link
SONGMICS Nightstand with Charging Station, 2 Fabric Drawers11.8″D x 15.6″W x 23.8″HSee details on Amazon Affiliate link

The ten checks

  1. Measure the wall. Write the length in inches, not feet, so the arithmetic is simple.
  2. Measure the depth you can spare. Measure from the wall, including the baseboard, to where the piece may end.
  3. Note the height limit. A window sill, an outlet, a sloped ceiling or a lamp all set a ceiling.
  4. Measure the delivery path. The narrowest point could be a doorway, a hallway or a stair turn.
  5. Decide the walkway you want to keep. The US Access Board gives 36 inches as the minimum continuous clear width of an accessible route, narrowing to 32 inches at a doorway for no more than 24 inches. This is a public-building rule and only a yardstick for a home.
  6. Read all three size fields. The title, the bullet points and the specification table can disagree. Treat the smallest figure as the safe one.
  7. Confirm the variant. Color and size options sometimes change the dimensions.
  8. Read the weight recommendation. It is a limit for what the piece holds, not the weight of the piece. If it is missing, treat it as unknown.
  9. Count what is included. Some listings sell one piece and some sell a set. Check whether assembly or tools are included.
  10. Read the return terms. For a large item, read the return window before you order.

How to measure the delivery path

A piece can fit the room and still not get into it. Measure the route from the front door to the final spot, and write down the narrowest point.

  • The front door. Measure the clear opening with the door open as far as it goes, from the door edge to the frame. Many people measure the frame and forget the door and its hinges take space.
  • Each hallway. Measure at the narrowest point, including a radiator, a shelf or a coat rack.
  • Stair turns and landings. Measure the clear width and the headroom at the turn. A long piece may need to be tilted, and a tilted piece needs more height than its depth.
  • An elevator or a building door. If you live in an apartment, measure the door width and the depth of the car.

Then compare the narrowest width with the size of the box. If the listing gives a package size, use it. If it does not, ask the seller before you order, because the box is larger than the piece. As a yardstick, the US Access Board lets an accessible route narrow to 32 inches at a doorway for no more than 24 inches, so a 15.7 in wide piece leaves 32 – 15.7 = 16.3 in at a doorway of that size, but a box is wider than the piece inside it.

How to read the size fields on a listing

Amazon listings give a size in three places, and they do not always agree: the product title, the bullet points and the specification table. Read all three.

  • If they agree, use that size.
  • If they disagree, use the smallest figure as the safe one and ask the seller which one is correct.
  • If a field gives three numbers without labels, such as 11.4 x 15.6 x 23.8, do not assume the order. Depth, width and height can be listed in different orders, so check the product images or the seller’s drawing.

For example, one of the nightstands below has a title that says 24 in wide, while its dimension field lists 23.6 in deep and 15.4 in wide. If you read 15.4 in as the width, the two readings differ by 24 – 15.4 = 8.6 in, which is enough to decide whether the piece fits a gap beside a bed.

What to do when the listing is silent

Some listings do not state a weight recommendation, an item weight or an assembly detail. Treat a missing number as unknown, not as zero and not as high.

  • Use the Questions and Answers section on the product page, or message the seller, before you order.
  • Take a screenshot of the size fields and the selected variant so you can compare the box with the listing later.
  • Do not put a heavy load on a piece that does not state a limit. Keep books, a large lamp or a television off it until you know.
  • Keep the packaging until you have checked the fit in the room, in case you need to return it.

Worked example: a nightstand beside a queen bed

Assume a 120 in bedroom wall and a queen mattress. Mattress charts list a queen mattress as 60 x 80 in.

  1. Wall left after the mattress: 120 – 60 = 60 in.
  2. If you place a nightstand on each side and each is 15.7 in wide, two nightstands take 2 x 15.7 = 31.4 in.
  3. The space left to walk or reach beside the bed is 60 – 31.4 = 28.6 in, which is 14.3 in on each side if split evenly (28.6 / 2 = 14.3).
  4. Compare each 14.3 in gap with the 36 in walkway yardstick: 36 – 14.3 = 21.7 in short. Swapping one 15.7 in nightstand for a 24 in one would shrink the remaining space by 24 – 15.7 = 8.3 in.

The arithmetic does not decide for you. It tells you whether a width is worth the floor it takes before you think about the price.

Three listings and what their fields say

These three nightstand listings were read on Amazon. They are examples of the size and weight fields, not a ranking, and none is shown with a price.

1. TIQLAB Modern Nightstand 24″ Curved Side Table, Charging Station, Walnut

Listed details: dimensions 15.5″D x 24″W x 25.2″H; item weight 38.1 pounds; maximum weight recommendation 110 pounds; material Engineered Wood.

The title gives a 24 in width and the dimension field lists 15.5 in deep by 24 in wide, so the two fields agree. At 15.5 x 24 = 372 sq in, the footprint is 2.58 sq ft (372 / 144 = 2.58). It weighs 38.1 pounds, so it is heavy to carry up stairs.

2. VEVOR Fluted Nightstand 3 Drawer Dresser, 24″ Wide Bedside Table with Charging Station, Mid Century Modern Night Stand w

Listed details: dimensions 23.6″D x 15.4″W x 27.6″H; maximum weight recommendation 50 pounds; material Particle Board; drawers 3.

This listing is a good example of fields that disagree. The title says the piece is 24 in wide, while the dimension field lists 23.6 in deep by 15.4 in wide. The two readings give different footprints, so ask the seller or check the product images before you rely on either one. The listing does not state an item weight.

3. SONGMICS Nightstand with Charging Station, 2 Fabric Drawers

Listed details: dimensions 11.8″D x 15.6″W x 23.8″H; item weight 10.2 pounds; maximum weight recommendation 66 pounds; drawers not stated.

At 11.8 in deep by 15.6 in wide the listed footprint is 11.8 x 15.6 = 184.08 sq in, or 1.28 sq ft. The listing states a 66 lb maximum weight recommendation and a 10.2 lb item weight, so it is light to move and the load limit is stated.

Common mistakes

  • Measuring the room but not the doorway. A piece that fits the room can still be too wide for the hall or a stair turn.
  • Using the width only. Depth decides how much walkway you keep.
  • Trusting one size field. Check the title, the bullets and the table together.
  • Reading the weight recommendation as the weight of the piece. They are different numbers.

Frequently asked questions

How do I measure for furniture before buying?

Write down the wall length, the depth you can spare, the height limit and the narrowest point on the delivery path. Use inches for all of them. Then compare them with the size fields on the listing.

What if a listing’s size fields disagree?

Use the smallest figure as the safe one and ask the seller before you order. Some listings give a different size in the title than in the specification table.

Is the weight recommendation the weight of the piece?

No. It is a limit for what the piece holds. The weight of the piece, if stated, appears as the item weight.

How much walkway should I keep?

There is no single home rule. The US Access Board uses 36 inches as the minimum clear width for an accessible route in public buildings, so many people use it as a yardstick and keep more where they can.

Products worth checking

We have not tested these products. Sizes and features come from the Amazon listings as we read them; where a listing does not say, we say so.

TIQLAB Modern Nightstand 24″ Curved Side Table, Charging Station, Walnut

listed dimensions 15.5″D x 24″W x 25.2″H

The listing gives listed dimensions 15.5″D x 24″W x 25.2″H.

See details on Amazon Affiliate link

VEVOR Fluted Nightstand 3 Drawer Dresser, 24″ Wide Bedside Table with Charging Station, Mid Century Modern Night Stand with Metal Handle, USB-A/Type-C

listed dimensions 23.6″D x 15.4″W x 27.6″H

The listing gives listed dimensions 23.6″D x 15.4″W x 27.6″H.

See details on Amazon Affiliate link

SONGMICS Nightstand with Charging Station, 2 Fabric Drawers

listed dimensions 11.8″D x 15.6″W x 23.8″H

The listing gives listed dimensions 11.8″D x 15.6″W x 23.8″H.

See details on Amazon Affiliate link

Sources checked

Specifications come from the Amazon listings as we read them for this guide. Product details and availability can change, so confirm on the product page before you buy.

How we research our guides