As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links marked “Affiliate link” may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more.

Quick answer

Pick a dresser in this order: first the wall width you can spare, then the depth you can lose (the three below are 11.8 to 15.8 inches deep), then the drawer count you need. Check that the listing states an anti-tip kit, anchor the dresser to the wall, and read the weight: a dresser lighter than 30 pounds can fall outside the federal rule, so it deserves more care, not less. In a small room, a dresser at the foot of the bed can leave under 25 inches of walkway, so measure before you decide.

The three numbers that decide fit

Width. The three listings below are 23.6, 31.5 and 47.2 inches wide. A dresser wider than the wall space beside the bed will force the door or the closet to stay half open, so measure the wall between fixed objects, not corner to corner.

Depth. The listings run from 11.8 to 15.8 inches. Depth matters less than you would expect on the wall and more than you would expect at the foot of the bed, where it eats into the walkway.

Height. The dressers below are 27.6 to 31 inches tall, a height that makes the top a shelf for a lamp or a small TV only if the weight limit allows it. One listing states a maximum weight capacity of 66 pounds.

What the federal rule covers

The Consumer Product Safety Commission’s rule for clothing storage units, which we opened on its business-guidance page on 2026-10-01, applies to free-standing units that are at least 27 inches tall, weigh at least 30 pounds and have at least 3.2 cubic feet of enclosed storage. The page lists chests, dressers, armoires and bureaus as examples and excludes bookcases, office furniture, built-in units and under-bed storage. It says such units must pass three stability tests, must come with an anti-tip device that meets ASTM F3096 and must carry warning labels, for units manufactured after September 1, 2023.

That gives you a way to read a listing. A dresser that is 27 inches or taller and weighs 30 pounds or more is the kind of product the rule is aimed at; a lightweight fabric dresser can fall below the weight line. The rule is a manufacturer requirement, not something the listing proves, so the listing’s own statement of an anti-tip kit is the item to look for. Anchoring the dresser to the wall is the step you control.

Worked example: a dresser at the foot of a queen bed

Say the room is 10 feet by 10 feet, which is 120 by 120 inches, and the bed is a queen of 60 by 80 inches (Amerisleep’s chart). Amerisleep lists 10 by 10 feet as the minimum room for a queen and advises at least 24 inches of clearance on each side and at the foot of the bed. Put the head of the bed on one wall and the dresser on the opposite wall. The bed uses 80 inches, so 120 minus 80 leaves 40 inches. A dresser that is 15.7 inches deep (the Garvee below) takes 40 minus 15.7, which leaves 24.3 inches. That just meets the 24 inch guide.

Then open the top drawer. Say the drawer pulls out 14 inches (an assumption, so measure yours): 24.3 minus 14 leaves 10.3 inches, and you cannot stand in front of it. A shallower 11.8 inch dresser, like the WLIVE below, leaves 28.2 inches closed (40 minus 11.8) and 14.2 inches with a 14 inch drawer open. The same room, a 3.9 inch difference in depth, and the drawers become usable.

How to estimate drawer capacity

Most listings give a drawer count and nothing else. One listing below gives a capacity table for a three-drawer dresser: 18 to 24 clothing items, 12 to 16 T-shirts, 12 to 16 pairs of pants and 48 to 60 pairs of socks. Use a table like this as a ceiling for that dresser, not as a figure for others.

Say you own 28 folded T-shirts (an example). Dividing by the table’s 12 to 16 per dresser gives 28 divided by 16, which is 1.75, up to 28 divided by 12, which is 2.33. So one such dresser is not enough for 28 shirts, and you need two or three, or a larger one. If the listing gives no capacity, count drawers and measure the drawer interior instead: a listing that states a drawer width of 14.4 inches and a drawer height of 8.3 inches gives you the volume to compare.

Three dressers read on 2026-10-01

We have not tested these. The numbers are from the Amazon measurement tables and bullets. The Garvee listing shows “cannot be shipped to your selected delivery location” from Vietnam, so its cart button is hidden; that is a shipping limit from where we opened it.

Garvee farmhouse 6-drawer dresser, 47.2 inch, black. The table gives 15.7 inches deep, 47.2 wide, 30.7 high and 97 pounds. The bullets give an MDF build, metal slides and an anti-tipping accessory. The first bullet swaps the labels, writing “47.2 in D x 15.7 in W”, so trust the table. Best for: a wide wall in a main bedroom. Watch out: at 15.7 inches it is one of the two deepest of the three.

WLIVE 6-drawer fabric dresser, white. The table gives 11.8 inches deep, 31.5 wide, 31 high, 21.1 pounds, a drawer width of 14.4 inches, a drawer height of 8.3 inches and a ground clearance of 3.7 inches. The bullets give a steel frame and fabric drawers. At 21.1 pounds it is below the 30 pound line in the federal rule’s scope, so check what anti-tip hardware comes in the box. Best for: a small room or a closet. Watch out: it is the lightest of the three, so anchor it and check what anti-tip hardware comes in the box.

Modern fluted 3-drawer dresser, 27.6 inch, green. The bullets give 15.8 inches deep, 23.6 wide and 27.6 high; the table lists a capacity of 18 to 24 clothing items, a maximum weight capacity of 66 pounds and wall-mount hooks as anti-tip hardware. Best for: a narrow wall or a nursery. Watch out: the listing does not state a weight, and at 27.6 inches it sits just above the 27 inch line.

How the three compare

ListingWidthDepthHeightWeightAnti-tip stated
Garvee 6-drawer47.2 in15.7 in30.7 in97 lbAnti-tipping accessory (bullets)
WLIVE fabric 6-drawer31.5 in11.8 in31 in21.1 lbNot stated in the table we read
Fluted 3-drawer23.6 in15.8 in27.6 inNot statedWall-mount hooks

Mistakes to avoid

Skipping the anchor. The CPSC rule requires an anti-tip device in the box for covered units, and it only works if you install it in the wall.

Planning the room from width only. Depth and open drawers decide the walkway.

Trusting one label. The Garvee listing swaps width and depth in a bullet. Read the table.

Counting drawers as capacity. Six shallow fabric drawers hold less than three deep ones.

Putting a TV on a dresser without checking the weight limit. The one listing that states a capacity gives 66 pounds.

When you may not need a dresser

If the room has a closet with shelves, a few drawer organizers can do the same job at lower cost. If the room is small, a tall narrow chest uses wall height instead of floor; see the guide to a chest of drawers. For a matching pair with bedside tables, see the dresser and nightstand set guide, and for hanging space see the armoire and wardrobe closet guides.

Frequently asked questions

How wide should a dresser be?

Match it to the free wall, not to a rule. The three listings we read are 23.6, 31.5 and 47.2 inches wide, and the right one is the widest that still leaves a clear walkway.

How deep is a dresser?

The listings we read are 11.8 to 15.8 inches deep. At the foot of a queen bed in a 10 by 10 foot room, that difference changes the walkway from 24.3 inches to 28.2 inches.

Do dressers need to be anchored to the wall?

Yes. The CPSC rule requires an anti-tip device to be packaged with covered units, and the anchor is only useful if you install it.

What dresser is covered by the federal rule?

Free-standing units at least 27 inches tall, at least 30 pounds and with at least 3.2 cubic feet of enclosed storage, made after September 1, 2023, per the CPSC guidance page.

How many drawers do I need?

Count what you fold. One listing says a three-drawer unit holds 12 to 16 T-shirts, so 28 shirts need two or three of them.

Products (for Claude)

ASINName as on the listingTwo numbers from the listingListing URL
B0H3VGF4QWGarvee Farmhouse Wood 47.2″ Wide 6 Drawer Dresser for Bedroom, Black15.7 x 47.2 x 30.7 in (D x W x H); 97 lbhttps://www.amazon.com/dp/B0H3VGF4QW
B0BX678RN6WLIVE Dresser for Bedroom with 6 Drawers, White11.8 x 31.5 x 31 in (D x W x H); 21.1 lbhttps://www.amazon.com/dp/B0BX678RN6
B0F3JGZ5YZ3 Drawer Dresser for Bedroom, 27.6″ Modern Storage Dresser, Green15.8 x 23.6 x 27.6 in (bullets); 66 lb maximum weight capacityhttps://www.amazon.com/dp/B0F3JGZ5YZ

Products worth checking

We have not tested these products. Sizes and features come from the Amazon listings, checked on September 30, 2026; where a listing does not say, we say so.

Garvee Farmhouse Wood 47.2″ Wide 6 Drawer Dresser for Bedroom, Black

15.7 x 47.2 x 30.7 in (D x W x H); 97 lb

The listing gives 15.7 x 47.2 x 30.7 in (D x W x H); 97 lb. We re-opened the page on September 30, 2026 and found these figures; other details are on the product page.

  • Good for: comparing against the measurements in the guide above.
  • Keep in mind: we have not tested it, and the listing may show more than one size or finish, so pick the variant that matches your numbers.
See details on Amazon Affiliate link

WLIVE Dresser for Bedroom with 6 Drawers, White

11.8 x 31.5 x 31 in (D x W x H); 21.1 lb

The listing gives 11.8 x 31.5 x 31 in (D x W x H); 21.1 lb. We re-opened the page on September 30, 2026 and found these figures; other details are on the product page.

  • Good for: comparing against the measurements in the guide above.
  • Keep in mind: we have not tested it, and the listing may show more than one size or finish, so pick the variant that matches your numbers.
See details on Amazon Affiliate link

3 Drawer Dresser for Bedroom, 27.6″ Modern Storage Dresser, Green

15.8 x 23.6 x 27.6 in (bullets); 66 lb maximum weight capacity

The listing gives 15.8 x 23.6 x 27.6 in (bullets); 66 lb maximum weight capacity. We re-opened the page on September 30, 2026 and found these figures; other details are on the product page.

  • Good for: comparing against the measurements in the guide above.
  • Keep in mind: we have not tested it, and the listing may show more than one size or finish, so pick the variant that matches your numbers.
See details on Amazon Affiliate link

Sources checked

Specifications checked on September 30, 2026. Product details and availability can change, so confirm on the product page before you buy.