As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links marked “Affiliate link” may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more.

Quick answer

A full-size loft bed puts a 54 by 75 inch mattress on a frame 68 to 73 inches tall and uses the space under it for a desk, shelves or stairs. The decision comes down to ceiling height, because the sleeper sits close to the ceiling in a standard room.

We read three on Amazon on 2026-10-01: a black metal loft with a built-in workstation, a storage staircase and LED strips; the Z-Bedroom full loft from Powell with a computer desk underneath; and a black metal loft with stairs, desk and shelves whose listing text is partly garbled. We have not tested any of them. Every figure comes from the listings, and where a listing contradicts itself we say so.

Three listings, side by side

ListingSize (L x W x H)WeightLoad statedDesk or storageBuy
Full Size Metal Loft Bed with Built-in Work Station, Storage Staircase and LED94 x 55.98 x 67.9 in210 lbnot statedbuilt-in desk, 2 shelves, computer shelf, staircase storageView on Amazon
Z-Bedroom Metal Loft Study Bunk Bed with Computer Desk (Powell)79.88 x 56.63 x 72.75 in256 lb600 lb (table); 400 lb (feature row)desk 80 x 25.67 in, 28.13 in high space, keyboard trayView on Amazon
Premium Full Size Metal Loft Bed with Stair, Desk, Shelves93.7 x 56.3 x 70.3 in211 lbnot statedbuilt-in desk and shelvesView on Amazon

Contradictions to know about. The Powell listing’s table says a maximum weight of 600 pounds and a bullet says the bunk holds up to 600 pounds, but its “special feature” row says a 400 pound top bunk weight limit. Plan for the lower figure until the seller confirms. It also says its guardrails exceed and meet all ASTM and CPSC national bunk bed safety standards, which is a seller claim, not something we could check. The third listing’s bullet points have letters missing (for example “spe-saving” and “workspe”), so we use only its table: full size, metal, built-in desk, 211 pounds and 93.7 by 56.3 by 70.3 inches; the load is not stated. The first listing says “Full-length guardrails on the upper bed” and does not state a load.

A worked example: an 8 foot ceiling

The room is 96 inches high. We need two assumptions: a guardrail that stands 5 inches above the mattress top, which is the margin in the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission’s bunk bed guidance for upper bunks, and a sleeper who needs 30 inches above the mattress to sit up, which is our planning estimate. The CPSC page is about bunk beds, not lofts, so we use the 5 inches only as a rough guide to where the mattress sits.

The mattress top is then about the frame height minus 5 inches, and the gap above it is the ceiling gap above the frame plus 5.

  • First loft: 96 − 67.9 = 28.1 inches above the frame, plus 5 gives 33.1 inches above the mattress. It clears 30.
  • Third loft: 96 − 70.3 = 25.7, plus 5 gives 30.7 inches. It just clears.
  • Powell: 96 − 72.75 = 23.25, plus 5 gives 28.25 inches. It is 1.75 inches short of 30.

So in an 8 foot room, the Powell is the tightest. The listings give no rail height, so ask. A drop ceiling, a light fixture or a ceiling fan lowers the room further.

Floor space and what is underneath

Footprint is length times width. First loft: 94 × 55.98 = 5,262 square inches, 36.5 square feet. Powell: 79.88 × 56.63 = 4,524 square inches, 31.4 square feet. Third loft: 93.7 × 56.3 = 5,275 square inches, 36.6 square feet. A full mattress is about 54 by 75 inches, or 28.1 square feet, our assumption, so the loft frames add 3 to 8 square feet because of the stairs. The Powell has no stairs; it is a ladder-style bunk with the desk beneath, which is why it is the most compact.

The desk is the point. The Powell lists an 80 inch wide by 25.67 inch deep desk with a height space of 28.13 inches, and says it fits two standard computer or gaming monitors. OSHA’s workstation guidance says to put the monitor directly in front of you and at least 20 inches away, and 25.67 inches deep leaves room for that. The Powell lists a pull-out keyboard tray and a suspended shelf. The first loft lists a built-in desk, 2 storage shelves, 1 computer host shelf and 2 grid boards, with LED strips on the table legs and shelf edges; it does not give the desk size in the text we read. The third lists a desk and shelves but no size.

Seat room under the bed: the Powell says office chairs with seat heights of 16 to 21 inches fit the space. That is a useful detail you rarely see.

Mattress choice and bedding

A full loft takes a full mattress, and thickness matters twice: for comfort and for the rail margin. The Powell lists a recommended mattress of 80 by 55 by 8 inches, and the first listing says the bed is compatible with a full mattress without stating a thickness. A thicker mattress puts the sleeper closer to the ceiling and lowers the rail’s effective height. If you like a thick mattress, subtract its extra thickness from the ceiling gap above. For example, a 12 inch mattress instead of 8 inches loses 4 inches, which takes the first loft’s 33.1 inch gap to 29.1 and the Powell’s 28.25 inch gap to 24.25. Bedding is awkward on a high bed, so choose a fitted sheet with deep pockets and a lightweight quilt, and plan how you will make the bed from a ladder or stairs.

Lighting, power and heat

Warm air rises, and the top bunk of a loft in a small room can feel warmer than the rest. A fan may help, but keep it away from the bed and its cord out of reach. The first listing includes LED light strips on the table legs and edges, which add light under the bed; the listing does not say how they are powered, so check where the plug goes and whether a socket is within reach. For a desk at the bottom of a loft, a clamp lamp or a lamp on the shelf will do; make sure cords are tied away from the stairs. In the dark, a night light at the bottom of the stairs avoids missteps.

Weight

Ask whether the figure includes two people. A full loft may be used by an adult. If the Powell is 400 pounds, and the sleeper is 220 pounds with 60 pounds of mattress and bedding, that is 280 pounds, 70 percent of 400. At 600 pounds it would be 47 percent. The first and third listings give no limit, so we cannot compute it.

Assembly and stability

These are heavy: 210, 211 and 256 pounds. The first says all parts are clearly marked with a manual and pre-drilled holes and that it can be assembled by one person; we would still plan for two. Tighten all bolts after the first month and every few months, as a loose loft bed wobbles. Place the bed against a wall if the listing allows it, and keep the stairs or ladder clear. Wipe metal with a damp cloth and dry it; the Powell is powder coated.

Safety habits

Use the stairs or ladder, not the rail. Keep the area under the bed free of sharp objects. Do not let children use the top bunk unless you are sure of the rail height and ladder design. The CPSC bunk bed guidance says upper bunk guardrail tops must be at least 5 inches above the mattress, so a thick mattress on a low rail is a hazard. The Powell lists a recommended mattress of 80 by 55 by 8 inches.

Which one for which room

  • Powell: a real desk with a stated size and a stated chair-seat range, but tall, and the load figures disagree.
  • Built-in workstation with staircase: storage in the stairs and a lower height of 67.9 inches, the best fit for a standard ceiling, but no stated load.
  • Third loft: a middle height and a desk, with a poor listing text.

See also twin loft beds, loft bed with a desk and bunk beds for kids.

How to choose

  1. Measure the ceiling and compute the gap above the mattress.
  2. Get the rail height and the stated load, and resolve contradictions.
  3. Check the desk size and the chair space.
  4. Plan for two people to assemble.
  5. Check bolts monthly at first.

Frequently asked questions

How tall is a full-size loft bed?

The three here are 67.9, 70.3 and 72.75 inches tall.

Does a full-size loft bed fit an 8 foot ceiling?

By our estimate the first two clear a 30 inch sitting gap and the Powell is about 1.75 inches short.

How big is the desk under a loft bed?

The Powell lists 80 by 25.67 inches. The others do not say.

How much weight can it hold?

The Powell lists 600 pounds in one row and 400 in another. The other two do not state a limit.

Is a loft bed safe for adults?

Check the stated load and the rail height. The CPSC bunk bed guidance gives a 5 inch margin for upper bunk rails.

Products worth checking

We have not tested these products. Sizes and features come from the Amazon listings, checked on September 30, 2026; where a listing does not say, we say so.

Full Size Metal Loft Bed with Built-in Work Station, Storage Staircase and Led, Black

94 x 55.98 x 67.9 in; 210 lb

The listing gives 94 x 55.98 x 67.9 in; 210 lb. We re-opened the page on September 30, 2026 and found these figures; other details are on the product page.

  • Good for: comparing against the measurements in the guide above.
  • Keep in mind: we have not tested it, and the listing may show more than one size or finish, so pick the variant that matches your numbers.
See details on Amazon Affiliate link

Z-Bedroom Metal Black Powder Coated Full Size Loft Study Bunk Bed with Computer Desk by Powell

desk 80 x 25.67 in; 600 lb (table)

The listing gives desk 80 x 25.67 in; 600 lb (table). We re-opened the page on September 30, 2026 and found these figures; other details are on the product page.

  • Good for: comparing against the measurements in the guide above.
  • Keep in mind: we have not tested it, and the listing may show more than one size or finish, so pick the variant that matches your numbers.
See details on Amazon Affiliate link

Premium Full Size Metal Loft Bed with Stair, Desk, Shelves – Blk Finish

93.7 x 56.3 x 70.3 in; 211 lb

The listing gives 93.7 x 56.3 x 70.3 in; 211 lb. We re-opened the page on September 30, 2026 and found these figures; other details are on the product page.

  • Good for: comparing against the measurements in the guide above.
  • Keep in mind: we have not tested it, and the listing may show more than one size or finish, so pick the variant that matches your numbers.
See details on Amazon Affiliate link

Sources checked

Specifications checked on September 30, 2026. Product details and availability can change, so confirm on the product page before you buy.