As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links marked “Affiliate link” may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more.
Pick a bookshelf by its height, depth and weight limit, and fix a tall one to the wall when its instructions call for it. The three shelves compared here are 39.4 in, 52 in and 84 in tall, and the tallest, the HOMISSUE, is where anchoring matters most. Its listing gives a 70-pound maximum without saying whether that applies per shelf or to the whole unit. The bullets and specifications for these models do not mention an anti-tip kit, so check the manufacturer’s instructions before you load a tall shelf. This guide does not include build steps, cut lists or lumber, because the products verified for it are finished bookshelves.
Quick compare: the three bookshelves
Sizes are as the Amazon listing gives them. We have not tested any of these shelves.
| Bookshelf | Size as listed (D x W x H) | Listed weight | Listed weight limit | Assembly |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fultyle 4-tier bookcase | 11.8 x 15.7 x 39.4 in | Not stated | Not stated | No tools needed, per the listing; hardware included |
| Furinno LUDER 5-tier bookshelf | 9.4 x 15.8 x 52 in | 22 lb | 30 lb per cube; 150 lb total when evenly distributed | Instructions included |
| HOMISSUE 7-tier tall bookshelf | 11.81 x 23.62 x 84 in | 40 lb | 70 lb maximum; per shelf or total not stated | Tools and numbered parts included; under an hour, per the listing |
Start with height: measure floor to ceiling
Measure from the floor to the ceiling, and note any window, light or ceiling fan the shelf would block. Leave room above the top shelf for the books you own and for your hand. The three heights suit different walls. The 39.4 in Fultyle fits under a window or beside a chair. The 52 in Furinno fits a living room wall with room above. The 84 in HOMISSUE is a full-height shelf.
Worked example: in a room with a 96 in (8 ft) ceiling, the 84 in shelf leaves 12 in above it, and the 52 in shelf leaves 44 in. Check your own ceiling height, because many rooms differ.
Width and depth
Depth decides whether books sit flush. The Fultyle is 11.8 in deep, the HOMISSUE 11.81 in and the Furinno 9.4 in. A shelf much deeper than your books wastes space behind them. A shallow shelf will not hold deep items or boxes. Measure your deepest items before you buy.
Width sets how much of the wall the shelf takes. The HOMISSUE is 23.62 in wide, the Furinno 15.8 in and the Fultyle 15.7 in. Measure the wall first, then subtract any trim or nearby furniture.
Weight limits and what they mean
The three listings do not state their limits the same way. The Furinno lists 30 lb per cube and 150 lb in total when the load is spread evenly. The HOMISSUE lists a 70-pound maximum without saying whether that is per shelf or for the whole unit. The Fultyle lists no weight limit. Ask the seller before you load a shelf that has no stated limit. In any case, put heavy books on the lower shelves and spread them across the width, because a load concentrated at the top and the center is the hardest to control.
Anchoring a tall bookshelf
A tall, light shelf can tip, especially when a child climbs it or the top shelves hold heavy items. The listing bullets for these models do not mention an anti-tip kit. Follow the manufacturer’s instructions first. The HOMISSUE listing describes a back panel that allows freestanding placement, which is a placement claim, not a tip-over rating. The Fultyle listing says its back has edge protection to avoid accidental tipping, which is also a listing claim.
As general guidance, a tall shelf should be fixed to the wall with anchors rated for the wall type when its instructions call for it. Find a stud where you can. Where you cannot, use anchors rated for drywall, plaster or masonry. A qualified installer can confirm the method if you are not sure what is behind the wall.
Assembly
The Fultyle listing describes assembly in minutes with no tools. The HOMISSUE listing includes tools and numbered parts and says under an hour. The Furinno listing includes instructions. Compare every part against the manual before you start, and keep the hardware sorted by step.
Who should buy each shelf
- A short shelf for a corner, beside a chair or under a window, with edge protection on the back: the Fultyle.
- A mid-height unit for a living room wall, with a stated limit per cube: the Furinno.
- A full-height shelf where the 70-pound figure and wall anchoring are both checked before loading: the HOMISSUE.
Who should skip a bookshelf
Skip any tall shelf if the wall type is unknown and you cannot anchor it. Skip a shelf that is deeper than the books you own. Skip the Fultyle if you need a stated weight limit, because its listing gives none.
Common mistakes
- Treating a title as the size. Confirm the listed size before you measure the wall.
- Reading freestanding as stable. Freestanding describes where the shelf can go. It does not say how well it resists tipping.
- Loading the top first. Heavy items at the top raise the risk of tipping.
- Ignoring the wall type. The right anchor depends on what the wall is made of.
Keep reading
For a wider set of options, see our best bookshelves guide.
Frequently asked questions
Is a bookshelf with a 70-pound limit safe to fill completely?
The HOMISSUE listing does not say whether 70 pounds applies per shelf or to the whole unit. Ask the seller before you fill every tier. Keep heavy books low and spread the weight across each shelf.
How do I keep a tall bookshelf from tipping?
Follow the manufacturer’s instructions, fix the shelf to the wall with anchors rated for your wall type when the instructions call for it, and keep heavy items low. None of the three listings here mentions an anti-tip kit.
Can I build a bookshelf from this guide?
No. This page covers finished shelves. It does not include build steps or cut lists.
Does a tall bookshelf need a stud?
Where the instructions call for wall fixing, a stud is the strongest point. If no stud is in the right place, use anchors rated for the wall. A qualified installer can help if the wall is unfamiliar.
The three bookshelves
Each card gives the facts the Amazon listing states. Where a listing does not state a fact, the card says so.
Fultyle Bookshelf, 4-Tier Wooden Bookcase with Open Shelves
- Size as listed: 11.8 in D by 15.7 in W by 39.4 in H.
- Shelves: four open shelves.
- Build: MDF with solid wood legs; rounded edges.
- Tipping: the listing says the back has edge protection to avoid accidental tipping. It gives no tip-over rating.
- Listed weight: not stated. Listed weight limit: not stated.
- Assembly: no tools needed, per the listing; hardware included.
- Finish: Rustic Walnut.
View on Amazon Affiliate link
Furinno LUDER Bookshelf, 5-Tier Bookcase with Open Shelves
- Size as listed: 9.4 in D by 15.8 in W by 52 in H.
- Shelves: five tiers with a closed back panel.
- Listed weight: 22 lb.
- Listed weight limit: 30 lb per cube; 150 lb total when evenly distributed.
- Build: composite wood; the listing says the wood is FSC-certified.
- Mounting type: floor mount, per the listing details.
- Assembly: instructions included.
- Finish: Blackwood.
View on Amazon Affiliate link
HOMISSUE Tall Bookshelf, 7-Tier Rustic Wood and Metal Bookcase
- Size as listed: 11.81 in D by 23.62 in W by 84 in H.
- Shelves: seven tiers, about 12.48 in between shelves, per the listing.
- Build: steel and MDF; sturdy side tube frame; adjustable foot pads.
- Back and placement: a back panel that the listing says allows freestanding placement.
- Listed weight: 40 lb.
- Listed weight limit: 70 lb maximum. The listing does not say whether this is per shelf or for the whole unit.
- Assembly: tools and numbered accessories included; under an hour, per the listing.
- Finish: Vintage Brown.
View on Amazon Affiliate link
Listing details checked 8 October 2026. Prices and availability change, so confirm the current details on the Amazon page before you buy.