Table of Contents

12 sections 15 min read

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

A good reading lamp puts light on the page without lighting the whole room, and in a small apartment it also has to fit the floor or the table you have. This guide compares seven plug-in reading lamps in four shapes: slim floor lamps, a two-in-one torchiere, a clip-on for the bed and desk lamps. Every spec comes from the Amazon listing we opened on October 17, 2026, and we have not tested any of them. Where a listing contradicts itself, we show both numbers. Battery book lights are a different product, so they are not covered here.

Quick answer

For a reading chair or sofa in a small room, start with the O’Bright Ray floor lamp: its listed base is 9 x 9 inches, it has an adjustable beam, and it dims from 10% to 100%. If you need more reach over a sofa, the O’Bright Brook swing-arm lamp stretches from 47 to 55 inches but has a 16.5 inch base. For a bed with no floor space, the Glocusent clip-on lamp grips a headboard and plugs in. For a desk or nightstand, the BOHON is the smaller of the two desk lamps here.

How to choose a reading lamp

Match the lamp to where you read

A reading chair or sofa corner suits a floor lamp that can aim light down over your shoulder. A bed with no nightstand room suits a clip-on lamp. A desk or a nightstand suits a desk lamp. A torchiere (an upward-facing floor lamp) lights the ceiling and room softly, and only the models with a separate reading arm help with a book.

Check the footprint

Floor lamps differ more in base size than in height. The listed bases here run from 9 x 9 inches (Ray) to a 16.5 inch diameter (Brook). Measure the corner and the walking path before you choose. The worked example below does the arithmetic.

Bulb included or not

The Ray, the Brook, the BOHON and the Glocusent clip have built-in LEDs. The Brightech lists two LED bulbs included. The Globe 67135 and the Novogratz desk lamp need bulbs that are sold separately, so budget for them and check the wattage limit printed on the lamp.

Color temperature and dimming

Lower Kelvin numbers look more yellow and higher numbers look more white. Listed values here run from 1800K (the Glocusent clip, amber mode) to 6000K. Choosing is a matter of comfort and we make no medical claim. What is easier to compare is control: the Ray, Brook, Brightech and BOHON list dimming, the Glocusent clip lists five levels, and the Novogratz listing states no dimming.

How the seven lamps compare

Lamp Type Light source Color temperature Dimming Listed size Listed weight
O'Bright Ray Floor, gooseneck Built-in LED 4000K 10% to 100% 9 x 9 x 52 in 7.98 lb
O'Bright Brook Floor, pharmacy swing arm Built-in LED, 12 W, up to 1050 lumens 3000K Full range, with memory 16.5 x 10 x 55 in (height adjusts 47 to 55 in) 9 lb
Globe Electric 67135 Floor, torchiere plus reading arm 2 bulbs, sold separately Depends on your bulbs Torchiere: 3-way and dimmer 10 x 10 x 72.88 in 7.04 lb
Brightech Sky Dome Plus Floor, torchiere plus side arm 2 LED bulbs included 3000K 3-way dimmer 72 in tall (width and depth in the listing are unreliable) 10.06 lb
Glocusent 5W clip-on Clip-on, plug-in 36 LEDs 1800K, 3200K, 6000K 5 levels, 30-minute timer Clip opens 2.36 in; cord 78.7 in 12.2 oz
Globe Electric x Novogratz 52887 Desk, balance arm 1 bulb, sold separately (up to 50 W) Depends on your bulb Not stated 6.5 x 20.12 x 19.82 in 4.4 lb
BOHON LED desk lamp Desk, flexible neck 56 LEDs, 10 W, up to 900 lumens 3000K to 5500K, 3 modes Rotary knob, plus auto-dimming mode 5.91 x 5.91 x 18.9 in 2.18 lb

The seven picks in detail

1. O'Bright Ray Adjustable LED Beam Floor Lamp, Brushed Nickel (Best overall for a small reading corner)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-17):

  • Type: Floor lamp with a metal gooseneck (listing also lists tabletop mounting)
  • Light source: Built-in LED, corded with adapter
  • Color temperature: 4000K
  • Dimming: 10% to 100% by holding the power button
  • Beam: Wide, medium or focused by pulling the lamp head open or closed
  • Size: 9 x 9 x 52 inches
  • Weight: 7.98 pounds (the bullet describes a 5-pound weighted base)

Pros

  • Smallest floor base with a usable listing figure, 9 x 9 inches
  • Focused beam setting aimed at reading over a chair
  • Dimmable
  • Listing says ETL Listed

Cons

  • Listing gives 3.5 watts in a bullet and 4.5 watts in the spec table
  • One color temperature only (4000K)
  • The gooseneck lamp is a task light; it does not light the room

Best for: A reading chair or a sofa corner where floor space is tight
Skip if: You want a lamp that also lights the whole room, or you want warmer than 4000K

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. O'Bright Brook Adjustable Dimmable LED Pharmacy Floor Lamp, Antique Brass (Best reach over a sofa or chair)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-17):

  • Type: Floor lamp, pharmacy style, 360 degree swing arm
  • Light source: Built-in 12 W LED, up to 1050 lumens, 3000K (bullet)
  • Height: Adjusts from 47 to 55 inches
  • Shade: 270 degree swivel metal shade
  • Dimming: Full range, remembers the last brightness
  • Size: 16.5 x 10 x 55 inches; base diameter 16.5 inches
  • Weight: 9 pounds

Pros

  • Swing arm lets you place the light over a sofa or chair without moving the base
  • Aim the shade down for reading or up for indirect light
  • The only lamp here that lists lumens for a floor model (1050)
  • Dimming with memory

Cons

  • Largest base here at 16.5 inches
  • Listing gives a base diameter of 16.5 inches and dimensions of 16.5 x 10 inches; we use the larger figure in the example
  • Heavier than the Ray and the Globe 67135 at 9 pounds

Best for: A sofa or armchair with enough floor space for a bigger base
Skip if: Your corner is tight, since the base is the widest in this group

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. Globe Electric 67135 72 inch Floor Lamp with Adjustable Reading Light (Best two-in-one for a living room corner)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-17):

  • Type: Torchiere floor lamp plus an adjustable gooseneck reading light
  • Bulbs: Torchiere: one E26 bulb up to 150 W. Reading light: one E26 bulb up to 40 W. Both sold separately (bullet)
  • Switches: Separate on/off switches; torchiere has a 3-way switch and dimmer
  • Light source in spec table: Halogen (the bullet recommends LED or incandescent bulbs)
  • Cord: 5 feet
  • Size: 10 x 10 x 72.88 inches; base diameter 10 inches
  • Weight: 7.04 pounds

Pros

  • Ambient light and a reading light on one pole
  • Separate switches for each light
  • Slim 10 inch base for a 72 inch lamp

Cons

  • Bulbs are not included
  • The spec table lists the light source as halogen and the control method as touch, while the bullets describe LED-friendly bulbs and a rotary or 3-way switch
  • The reading light has no dimmer described

Best for: A living room corner where you want soft room light and a reading arm
Skip if: You do not want to buy bulbs separately

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. Brightech Sky Dome Plus LED Floor Lamp with Reading Lamp, Gold Brass (Best two-in-one with bulbs included)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-17):

  • Type: Torchiere floor lamp with one adjustable side arm for reading
  • Bulbs: 2 LED A19 bulbs included, 3000K
  • Dimming: 3-way dimmer, touch control
  • Height: 72 inches
  • Weight: 10.06 pounds
  • Warranty: 3 years when bought through the brand (listing)

Pros

  • Bulbs included, LED
  • Weighted base, which the listing says helps prevent tipping
  • Slim profile for corners per the listing

Cons

  • The spec table gives 1.18 x 1.97 x 72 inches and a 1.5 inch base diameter, which cannot be right for a floor lamp; measure before you buy
  • Heaviest lamp in the group
  • Only one side arm for reading

Best for: A corner that needs room light and a reading arm, with bulbs ready to go
Skip if: You need a confirmed footprint before ordering

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

5. Glocusent 5W Clip on Light, 3 Colors and 5 Brightness Reading Light for Bed (Best clip-on for a bed with no nightstand room)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-17):

  • Type: Clip-on lamp on a gooseneck, plug-in AC adapter included
  • Clip: Opening of 2.36 inches with anti-slip pads
  • Light source: 36 LEDs
  • Color temperatures: Amber 1800K, mild 3200K, natural 6000K
  • Brightness: 5 levels, 30-minute auto timer, handheld controller
  • Cord: 78.7 inches
  • Weight: 12.2 ounces
  • Warranty: 24 months, 30-day return (listing)

Pros

  • Uses no floor or table space
  • Clip grips a headboard or desk edge
  • Timer and controller
  • Warm amber option at 1800K

Cons

  • Needs an outlet within the 78.7 inch cord
  • The bullets say it is plug-in with no batteries, but the spec table lists rechargeable and USB-C; we follow the bullets
  • Title says 5W while the spec table says 4.2 watts
  • The listed 2.36 inch clip opening limits what it can grip

Best for: A bed with no nightstand room, a bunk bed or a dorm desk
Skip if: The headboard is thicker than 2.36 inches or there is no outlet nearby

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

6. Globe Electric x Novogratz 52887 18 inch Desk Lamp, Matte Brass (Desk lamp with a balance arm)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-17):

  • Type: Desk lamp, balance arm, rotary switch on the shade
  • Bulb: One E26 A-type bulb up to 50 W, sold separately
  • Size: 6.5 x 20.12 x 19.82 inches
  • Weight: 4.4 pounds
  • Dimming: Not stated in the listing

Pros

  • Balance arm adjusts the height of the shade
  • Switch on the shade
  • Works with a smart bulb, sold separately

Cons

  • Bulb not included
  • Dimming not stated
  • Listed width of 20.12 inches takes up a lot of a small desk or nightstand

Best for: A desk where the lamp's style matters and you will choose your own bulb
Skip if: You have a narrow surface or you want built-in dimming

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

7. BOHON LED Desk Lamp with USB Charging Port, 3 Color Modes, Dimmable, Black (Best compact desk lamp with USB)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-17):

  • Type: Desk or table lamp with a flexible neck
  • Light source: 56 LEDs, 10 W, up to 900 lumens
  • Color: 3 modes in a 3000K to 5500K range
  • Control: Rotary knob for brightness, button for color mode, auto-dimming mode that senses ambient light, memory
  • USB: One charging port in the base, works with the lamp off; 5V 2A adapter included
  • Size: 5.91 x 5.91 x 18.9 inches
  • Weight: 2.18 pounds

Pros

  • Smallest footprint of the seven at 5.91 x 5.91 inches
  • Lists lumens (900)
  • USB port for a phone or e-reader
  • Dimmable in each color mode

Cons

  • The model number field in the listing shows a long code instead of a short model number
  • Listing says the lamp is made with an aluminum shade and metal base, but gives no safety certification
  • The auto-dimming mode is the maker's claim

Best for: A small desk or a nightstand where you also charge a phone
Skip if: You want a lamp that lights a whole reading corner

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

Worked example: how much floor does each lamp take?

Take a 24 x 24 inch corner, which is 576 square inches. This uses the listed base sizes only and ignores the shade, which overhangs. It is our own arithmetic on the listing figures.

Lamp Listed base Base area Share of the 24 x 24 inch corner
O'Bright Ray 9 x 9 in 81 sq in (0.56 sq ft) about 14%
Globe Electric 67135 10 x 10 in 100 sq in (0.69 sq ft) about 17%
O'Bright Brook 16.5 in diameter about 214 sq in (1.48 sq ft) about 37%

The Brook’s area uses the full 16.5 inch diameter (pi x 8.25 x 8.25 is about 214), which is the safe, larger reading of its listing. Its dimensions row says 16.5 x 10 inches, so the real base may be smaller. For the desk lamps, a nightstand top 20 inches wide would be exceeded by the Novogratz’s listed 20.12 inch width by 0.12 inch, while the BOHON’s 5.91 inch base uses under a third of that width.

Safety notes for torchiere lamps

Two of these lamps are torchieres. In a 1997 recall announcement, the US Consumer Product Safety Commission said tubular halogen bulbs in torchiere lamps run much hotter than regular bulbs and can ignite curtains, clothing or other flammable material, and that a guard only works with bulbs of 300 watts or less (see the source below, which is an archived page and dated). That announcement was about older halogen torchieres. Still, the Globe 67135 listing allows a bulb up to 150 W in the torchiere and its spec table says halogen. If you buy it, follow the wattage marked on the lamp, prefer an LED bulb as the listing itself recommends, and keep the lamp clear of curtains and bedding.

Common mistakes

  • Choosing a torchiere for reading without a separate reading arm. It lights the ceiling, not the page.
  • Forgetting that some lamps need bulbs bought separately.
  • Trusting the dimension row of a listing without checking the rest. The Brightech and Brook listings give base sizes that do not agree with themselves.
  • Putting a wide desk lamp on a narrow nightstand.
  • Placing a clip-on lamp where the cord cannot reach an outlet.

Who should skip buying a new reading lamp

If your bedside lamp already has a shade that aims light at your book, you may only need a better bulb. If you read in bed and do not want a lamp at all, a battery book light is a smaller option. Also look at your bedside layout first: our guides to the bedside table, the nightstands and the bedside book holder show how to fit a lamp, a book and a charger in a tight space.

Related buying guides

FAQ

Floor lamp or desk lamp for a reading chair?

A floor lamp is usually the better fit, because a desk lamp needs a table beside the chair. Of the lamps here, the O’Bright Ray and Brook are floor lamps built to aim light down over a seat. A desk lamp works if you already have a side table.

Do these lamps come with bulbs?

Four have built-in LEDs: the Ray, the Brook, the Glocusent clip and the BOHON. The Brightech ships with two LED bulbs. The Globe 67135 and the Novogratz need bulbs bought separately.

Is a torchiere floor lamp a fire risk?

Older halogen torchieres were the subject of a 1997 CPSC recall announcement because the bulbs run very hot. Check the bulb type and the wattage printed on the lamp, use the bulb the listing recommends, and keep the lamp away from curtains and bedding.

Which lamp is best for a small bedroom?

If you have a nightstand, the BOHON desk lamp is the smallest at a listed 5.91 x 5.91 inch base. If you do not, the Glocusent clip-on takes no floor or table space but needs an outlet within 78.7 inches. For a corner chair, the Ray has the smallest floor base at 9 x 9 inches.

Is warm or cool light better for reading?

That is a comfort preference, and we make no medical claim. The listings here range from 1800K (the Glocusent clip’s amber mode) to 6000K. The Ray lists 4000K, and the Brook and Brightech list 3000K.

What if I have no outlet near my reading spot?

Every lamp here is plug-in. A battery or rechargeable book light is a different product, and we cover it separately. Check the cord length before you buy: the Glocusent clip lists 78.7 inches and the Globe 67135 lists 5 feet.

Bottom line

Decide where you read first. For a small corner chair, choose the O’Bright Ray. For a sofa where you need reach and have floor space, choose the O’Bright Brook. For a bed with no nightstand room, choose the Glocusent clip-on. For a desk or nightstand, choose the BOHON if the surface is narrow. Before you order, check the listing conflicts noted above, and measure the corner.

Sources

How we research our guides