As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links marked “Affiliate link” may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more.

Quick answer

The three pages describe the same idea, a 14 inch steel base with about 13 inches of under-bed space and no box spring. The Rumi pages state a 5-year limited warranty, assembly in under 20 minutes and a maximum rating of 1,100 pounds for twin and 2,200 pounds for other sizes. The Compack page states 13 inches of clearance, nine points of contact for full, queen and king, and a weight limit that the page prints as “750/1500 lbs” without saying what the two numbers mean. If the weight rating matters to you, that last point is the one to ask the seller about.

Quick compare: the products in this guide

Sizes come from the Amazon listings as we read them; check the product page for the current details before you buy.

ProductListed detailsLink
Zinus 14 Inch Rumi Metal Bed Frame, No Box Spring Needed, Black, Twin74.5 x 38 x 14 in; 13 in storageSee details on Amazon Affiliate link
Zinus 14 Inch Rumi Metal Bed Frame, No Box Spring Needed, Black, Full74.5 x 53.5 x 14 in; 2,200 lbSee details on Amazon Affiliate link
ZINUS SmartBase Compack Mattress Foundation, 14 Inch Metal Bed Frame, Full75 x 54 x 14 in; 35.1 lbSee details on Amazon Affiliate link

The three pages side by side

Rumi 14 in TwinRumi 14 in FullCompack Full
Dimensions (L x W x H)74.5 x 38 x 14 in74.5 x 53.5 x 14 in75 x 54 x 14 in
ModelZU-FSSSB6ZC-14TZU-FSSSB6ZC-14FCompack, full
Under-bed space13 in13 in13 in
Weight figure1,100 lb (twin)2,200 lb (other sizes)1,500 lb stated; chart shows 750/1500
Weight of frameNot stated in part readNot stated in part read35.1 lb
AssemblyUnder 20 minUnder 20 minUnder 30 min (chart)
Warranty5-year limited5-year limitedNot stated in part read

Zinus 14 Inch Rumi Metal Bed Frame

The Rumi page’s bullets describe a black steel frame, assembly with “all parts, tools, and instructions” in one eco-friendly box, 13 inches of under-bed storage space and a 5-year limited warranty against manufacturing defects. The weight line is clear: 1,100 pounds for twin and 2,200 pounds for all other sizes. The page calls the base a “Quick Assembly SmartBase Mattress Foundation” under item highlights, which links it to the Compack name that many buyers still use. The twin and the full are separate pages with their own model numbers.

Zinus SmartBase Compack

The Compack page shows 75 by 54 by 14 inches in full. Its bullets say the full, queen and king sizes have 9 points of contact to the floor, the legs have caps to protect floors and the base offers room for under-bed storage. The table lists a maximum weight recommendation of 1,500 pounds and an item weight of 35.1 pounds. A comparison strip on the page shows five Zinus bases, with clearance of 13, 13, 13, 13 and 12.5 inches and weight limits printed as pairs: 750/1500, 2200/4400, 1500/3000, 750/1500, 750/1500. The page does not explain the pairs. One reading is a per-size split (smaller sizes, larger sizes), but that is our guess, not the seller’s statement.

Worked example: do these fit a full mattress?

A full mattress is 54 by 75 inches by the Amerisleep size chart we opened. Our arithmetic:

FrameFrame lengthMattress lengthDifferenceFrame widthMattress widthDifference
Rumi full74.575-0.5 in53.554-0.5 in
Compack full7575054540

The Rumi’s outer size is half an inch under the mattress each way, which on a slat deck with no rails means a quarter-inch overhang per side, small enough to ignore. The Compack’s outer size equals the mattress. With a 10 inch mattress on either one, the top of the bed is 14 + 10 = 24 inches from the floor. That is also our arithmetic.

Rumi or Compack?

Because the pages differ in names but share the design, the useful differences are small. The Rumi pages state a warranty and a clear weight rule; the Compack page states the item weight and the contact points. If you already know the size and plan to buy once, either page will do, provided you confirm which model number you are ordering. If you need the strongest rating, the comparison strip’s 2200/4400 column (labeled “Super Heavy”) is the one to read about, but the pairs need the seller’s explanation.

What the SmartBase does not include

None of the pages we read mention a headboard; the chart shows a cross mark for headboard on every base. If you want one, see headboard for adjustable bed for wall-mounting ideas that work with a plain frame, or full size headboard for options. The Compack legs are capped to protect floors; the Rumi page we read does not say so.

Foundation rules for your mattress

A steel base with slats replaces a box spring only if your mattress maker agrees. Nest Bedding’s warranty page asks for slats no more than 4 inches apart and center support to the floor for queen and larger, so a full frame is a lower-risk case than a queen. We did not find the slat gap on the Zinus pages, so measure it when the frame arrives. See bed foundation for the two published rules we found, and bed frame middle support for the center-leg question.

A worked scenario: two adults on a full

This is our own arithmetic, with assumed weights. Two adults of 170 pounds each weigh 340 pounds together. Add a 10 inch full mattress at about 70 pounds (an assumption, since the pages do not give mattress weights) and bedding at 10 pounds, and the load is 420 pounds. The Rumi page’s 2,200 pound figure is more than five times that, and the Compack’s 1,500 pound figure is more than three times. If a page figure is a real limit, none of the three bases is near it for this couple. The figure that is more likely to matter is the slat spacing, because a mattress warranty can be voided by wide gaps, and the pages do not state it.

If you are comparing the Rumi twin with the full, note what the page says: 1,100 pounds for twin and 2,200 pounds for all other sizes. That means the twin is rated at half the full, even though the steel is the same black finish, which is consistent with a smaller frame having fewer supports. A child’s twin bed will not come near 1,100 pounds, but an adult who wants a twin should read it as a lower figure than the full.

Questions to ask the seller before you order

  1. What is the gap between slats? The pages do not say, and the mattress maker’s rule decides whether the base is allowed.
  2. How many legs touch the floor? The Compack page says nine points of contact on full, queen and king. The Rumi page does not give a count in the parts we read.
  3. Is the weight limit for the whole bed or for the frame? The Compack strip prints pairs such as 750/1500 and does not explain them.
  4. Which model number am I buying? The Rumi twin is ZU-FSSSB6ZC-14T and the full is ZU-FSSSB6ZC-14F; a wrong letter is a wrong size.
  5. Is there a headboard bracket? The chart on the Compack page shows no headboard for any of the bases.

After it arrives

Lay the frame out and count the legs before you assemble it. Measure the slat gap with a ruler at three places and write the numbers on the box. Tighten the bolts once more after a week of use, since steel frames settle. If the frame is for a rental, keep the box flat in a closet: the Rumi page says everything arrives in one eco-friendly box, which is easy to store, and a frame that goes back in its box is easier to move.

Mistakes to avoid

Mixing up the sizes. The Rumi twin and full are different pages with different weight figures.

Reading “750/1500” as one number. The page does not say what it means.

Assuming the old name equals the new page. Compack and Rumi are separate listings.

Skipping the mattress warranty. The slat gap is the mattress maker’s rule.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Zinus SmartBase?

A line of steel platform bases that replace a box spring. On Amazon it appears as the Compack and as the 14 inch Rumi.

How high is the Zinus 14 inch frame?

14 inches overall and 13 inches of under-bed space, per the pages.

How much weight does it hold?

The Rumi page says 1,100 pounds for twin and 2,200 for other sizes. The Compack page states 1,500 pounds and shows pairs we cannot decode.

Do I need a box spring?

The pages say no. Your mattress maker has the final say.

Does the frame come with a headboard?

Not on the pages we read.

Do you recommend it?

We have not tested it. This guide reports what the pages say.

Products worth checking

We have not tested these products. Sizes and features come from the Amazon listings as we read them; where a listing does not say, we say so.

Zinus 14 Inch Rumi Metal Bed Frame, No Box Spring Needed, Black, Twin

74.5 x 38 x 14 in; 13 in storage

  • Keep in mind: we have not tested it, and the listing may show more than one size or finish, so pick the variant that matches your numbers.
See details on Amazon Affiliate link

Zinus 14 Inch Rumi Metal Bed Frame, No Box Spring Needed, Black, Full

74.5 x 53.5 x 14 in; 2,200 lb

  • Keep in mind: we have not tested it, and the listing may show more than one size or finish, so pick the variant that matches your numbers.
See details on Amazon Affiliate link

ZINUS SmartBase Compack Mattress Foundation, 14 Inch Metal Bed Frame, Full

75 x 54 x 14 in; 35.1 lb

  • Keep in mind: we have not tested it, and the listing may show more than one size or finish, so pick the variant that matches your numbers.
See details on Amazon Affiliate link

Sources checked

Specifications come from the Amazon listings as we read them for this guide. Product details and availability can change, so confirm on the product page before you buy.

How we research our guides