As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links marked “Affiliate link” may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more.

Oak tables for a small kitchen are the ones with oak listed as the frame or top, and three are compared below. Two are the same 31.5 in by 25 in rectangular table in two finishes, and each seats four. The third is a gate-leg drop-leaf that seats two when closed and four when opened, with an oak frame and a white finish. Choose the fixed rectangle for four seats and a small footprint, or the gate-leg if you usually eat for two.

Specs on this page come from each seller’s listing data. We have not tested any of these tables, and we have not measured them.

Quick compare: the products in this guide

ProductListed size (in)Seats as listedFrame and topWeight data in listingLink
Soulitem 31.5 in solid oak rectangular table, natural31.5 deep x 25 wide x 29 high4Oak wood frame and oak wood topItem weight not stated; 500 lb load capacity in a bulletSee details on Amazon Affiliate link
Soulitem 31.5 in solid oak rectangular table, walnut31.5 deep x 25 wide x 29 high4Oak wood frame and oak wood top, walnut finishItem weight not statedSee details on Amazon Affiliate link
Livinia Wings gate-leg drop-leaf table, Malaysian oak frameExtended: 58.3 long x 31.4 deep x 28.9 high2 unextended, 4 extendedMalaysian oak frame; top listed as both oak wood and MDFItem weight 88 lb; 200 lb maximum recommendationSee details on Amazon Affiliate link

What “oak” means in these listings

Oak appears in the listing data in two ways. For the two Soulitem tables, the frame and the top are both listed as oak wood. For the Livinia, the frame is listed as Malaysian oak, but the top is listed as oak wood in one field and as MDF in a bullet point. The listing does not say which is correct, and the finish is white rather than wood-colored.

If you want an oak top you can see and feel, check the top material on the product page before you order. If the top is MDF with an oak frame, the table will look different from one with a solid oak top, even when the sizes match.

How big should it be

Start with the room, not the seat count. The two Soulitem tables are 31.5 in deep and 25 in wide. The Livinia is 31.4 in deep, so the depth is about the same, but its extended length is 58.3 in. Measure the wall space you have before comparing the seat counts, because the Livinia is 58.3 in long when open.

Worked example: footprint in square feet

Multiplying the listed length by the listed width gives a simple footprint. The Soulitem table is 31.5 in by 25 in, which is 787.5 square inches, or about 5.5 square feet. The Livinia, opened to its full 58.3 in length by 31.4 in, is about 1,831 square inches, or about 12.7 square feet. Its closed footprint is not stated in the listing, so the closed figure is not available. If you plan to keep the Livinia open every day, the 12.7 square feet is the figure to use.

The three tables compared

Soulitem 31.5 in solid oak rectangular table, natural

  • Dimensions: Product Dimensions 31.5 in deep, 25 in wide, 29 in high.
  • Weight: the listing does not say the item weight. The bullet points give a 500 lb load-bearing capacity.
  • Material and notes from listing: oak wood frame and oak wood top, natural color, rounded corners, wipe-clean surface with a smooth coating.
  • Assembly: the listing gives an estimated installation time of about 10 minutes and lists an Allen key, hammer, screwdriver and wrench.

Soulitem 31.5 in solid oak rectangular table, natural Affiliate link

Soulitem 31.5 in solid oak rectangular table, walnut

  • Dimensions: Product Dimensions 31.5 in deep, 25 in wide, 29 in high. These match the natural-finish listing.
  • Material and notes from listing: oak wood frame and oak wood top, walnut color. The bullet points match the natural-finish listing.
  • Gaps: the listing does not say the item weight, the top thickness or the chair clearance. The listing does not say whether the walnut finish is applied over the same oak.

Soulitem 31.5 in solid oak rectangular table, walnut Affiliate link

Livinia Wings gate-leg drop-leaf table, Malaysian oak frame

  • Dimensions: extended 58.3 in long, 31.4 in deep, 28.9 in high, as given in the listing. The closed size is not stated.
  • Seats: 2 unextended, 4 extended.
  • Weight: item weight 88 lb; maximum weight recommendation 200 lb.
  • Material and notes from listing: Malaysian oak frame, a top listed as both oak wood and MDF, six drawers, pre-assembled, white color.
  • Gaps: the listing does not say the closed size, the leaf weight or whether the drawers are solid wood.

Livinia Wings gate-leg drop-leaf table, Malaysian oak frame Affiliate link

Choosing chairs and a layout

None of the three listings includes chairs. The Soulitem tables list four seats. The Livinia lists two seats closed and four open, so you will need chairs for four only on the days you open it.

Measure the chair you plan to use, including the armrests, and check the space you need behind each chair. The listings do not give a clearance figure, so use your own floor plan rather than a number from a product page.

Care and keeping it looking good

The Soulitem listing says the surface can be wiped with a damp rag to remove oil and food residue. The Livinia listing does not give cleaning instructions, and neither listing says how its finish handles heat or wet glasses. Mats and coasters are a sensible choice for any table in this guide.

Who should buy an oak kitchen table

  • You want four fixed seats in a compact footprint, and a natural or walnut finish suits the room. The Soulitem table is the closer match.
  • You eat for two most days, but you need room for four a few times a month. The Livinia’s drop leaves fit that pattern.
  • You plan to move the table around. Check the weight before buying, since the Livinia weighs 88 lb.

Who should skip one

  • You need a true oak top that you can see as oak. The Livinia listing says the top is MDF in one place, and its finish is white.
  • You need a weight limit you can rely on for a heavy setting. The Soulitem listing gives a 500 lb figure in a bullet point and no spec field, so confirm it on the product page.
  • You need more than four seats. None of these three tables lists more than four seats in its normal setup.

Common mistakes to avoid

  • Choosing by the word “oak” in the title alone. Check the frame and the top separately.
  • Comparing the extended length of an extending table with the size of a fixed table. The Livinia’s 58.3 in figure is its open length.
  • Ignoring the color. The Soulitem walnut and natural listings share the same size and bullet points, so choose by the finish you want to see in your room.

Frequently asked questions

Is a solid oak table worth it for a small kitchen?

It can be, if the listing confirms a solid oak top and you have measured the space. The Soulitem tables list oak wood for both the frame and the top. The Livinia lists a solid Malaysian oak frame with a top listed as both oak wood and MDF, so it is less clear.

Can an oak table seat four?

Both Soulitem tables list four seats. The Livinia lists four seats only when extended to its full length of 58.3 in.

How do I tell solid oak from an oak-look table?

Read the top material field on the product page. A listing that says oak wood for the top is describing solid wood, while a listing that says MDF or engineered wood is describing a board with a veneer or a printed finish. If the listing does not state it, ask the seller before ordering.

Is the Livinia table ready to use out of the box?

The listing says it is pre-assembled, so no assembly is listed for it. The listing does not say whether the drop leaves need any fitting, so check the instructions or ask the seller if that matters to you.

Products worth checking

The three products are the ones in the product cards above.

Keep reading

For chair pairings, see our small kitchen table and chairs guide. For taller options, see our tall kitchen table guide.

Sources checked

All dimensions, seat counts, materials and weight figures come from the seller’s listing data for each product on this page. Where a listing gives two different values, this post says so. We have not tested these tables.

How we research our guides