As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links marked “Affiliate link” may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more.

A long dining bench earns its place when it seats people along a table without taking more room than the table does. Most people searching this phrase are choosing between a bench and two chairs, and they need three numbers: length, seat height and weight limit. Five listings in the listings we read match the phrase. Four state a single length, from 30 to 47.2 inches, and one lists sizes from 31.5 to 59 inches, but its product dimensions do not match the size it shows. Data was checked on 2026-10-09. The seat-length estimate below is our own planning figure, not a standard. We have not tested any of these benches.

Quick compare: the products in this guide

Sizes come from the Amazon listings as we read them; check the product page for the current details before you buy.

ProductListed detailsLink
HOOBRO padded dining bencha 47.2 x 12.2 x 19.7 in size and a 400 lb stated maximumSee details on Amazon Affiliate link
MAHANCRIS dining bencha 47.2 x 11.8 in size and a 220 lb limit in the bulletsSee details on Amazon Affiliate link
Toolola bamboo bencha 35.4 x 13 x 17 in size and a 500 lb maximum in the specsSee details on Amazon Affiliate link
  • Longest, stated 220 lb limit: MAHANCRIS, ASIN B0GT4PMJ5Z. 47.2 inches long, 14.2 lb, wood seat on a metal frame.
  • Padded, stated 400 lb limit: HOOBRO, ASIN B0DN17HFDD. 47.2 inches long, PU leather with sponge padding, 19.7-inch seat height.
  • Shorter for tight spots: Toolola, ASIN B0FN785T1V. 35.4 inches long, bamboo, 17-inch seat height, 500 lb in specs.
  • Hold for now: YYmmDQ, ASIN B0GFYJ32RJ. Its size line and product dimensions do not agree.

Comparison table (listed numbers only)

Listing (ASIN)LengthDepthHeightSeat height (listed)MaterialWeightWeight limitPadded
MAHANCRIS (B0GT4PMJ5Z)47.2 in11.8 in16.3 in (bullet says 16.9)Not listedEngineered wood, metal14.2 lb220 lb (bullet)No
HOOBRO (B0DN17HFDD)47.2 in12.2 in19.7 in19.7 inParticleboard, PU leather, sponge, metal8.28 kg400 lb (specs)Yes
Toolola (B0FN785T1V)35.4 in13 in17 in17 inBamboo6.8 kg500 lb (specs)No
SwallowLiving (B0H2LCKGT7)30 in13 in per bulletConflictingNot listedWood, black metal joinery9 lbNot statedNo
YYmmDQ (B0GFYJ32RJ)Title lists 31.5 to 59 inConflictingConflictingNot listedAcaciaNot statedNot statedNo

What the search is really asking

Shoppers typing “long dining bench” want a seat that fits a table without an awkward gap. They also want to know whether two people can sit comfortably, whether the bench carries a heavy load, and whether it works in a hallway. Length and seat height matter more than style. Style is the easy part.

Decision criteria for this keyword

1. Seats per length. Our planning estimate, not a standard: allow about 20 inches of bench per adult. On that estimate a 47.2-inch bench suits two adults with some room, and a 35.4-inch bench is tight for two. Toolola’s bullets say it “comfortably seats two” at 35 inches, which our estimate does not support, so test it in the room if you can.

2. Seat height against your table. Compare the bench’s stated seat height with your table’s underside. Only HOOBRO (19.7 in), Toolola (17 in) and SwallowLiving (17 in per specs) give a seat height. MAHANCRIS gives only an overall height.

3. Weight limit. Stated for MAHANCRIS (220 lb, bullet), HOOBRO (400 lb, specs), and Toolola (500 lb, specs). Not stated for SwallowLiving or YYmmDQ.

4. Padding. Only HOOBRO has a cushioned seat. The others are wood or bamboo.

Product notes

MAHANCRIS dining bench (B0GT4PMJ5Z)

  • Listed: 47.2 by 11.8 inches, 16.3 inches tall in dims (the bullets say 16.9), 14.2 lb, rustic brown and black, engineered wood and metal, 220 lb limit in bullets, two adjustable feet.
  • Pros: the longest bench in the set that also states a limit; the lightest of the 47-inch options at 14.2 lb.
  • Cons: the height conflicts. The listing has no seat height and no cushion. The bullets say the seat is “smooth wooden” while the specs say engineered wood, which is a small difference but worth knowing.
  • Skip if you need padding or a confirmed seat height.

HOOBRO padded dining bench (B0DN17HFDD)

  • Listed: 47.2 by 12.2 inches, 19.7 inches tall, 19.7-inch seat height per specs, PU leather over sponge padding on a metal frame, black, 400 lb maximum static load, two seats per specs, six adjustable feet.
  • Pros: the only padded option; the highest stated limit; a stated seat height.
  • Cons: 12.2 inches deep is slightly deeper than the other 47-inch benches. The listing does not describe the padding density or how to clean the PU leather, although the bullets claim comfort. The bullets list napping and footstool uses, which are not what most dining buyers need.
  • Skip if you want a wood look or a bench for three.

Toolola bamboo bench (B0FN785T1V)

  • Listed: 35.4 by 13 inches, 17 inches tall, 17-inch seat height per specs, 6.8 kg, 500 lb maximum per specs, bamboo, black or natural finish, seating 2 per specs.
  • Pros: a 17-inch seat height is stated; the specs give a high limit; short enough for a narrow hallway.
  • Cons: 35.4 inches is short for three people. The bullets call it waterproof and weatherproof for outdoor use, a seller claim the listing does not back with a test.
  • Skip if you need three seats or an outdoor bench you can rely on.

SwallowLiving solid wood bench (B0H2LCKGT7)

  • Listed: 30 inches long per title; specs say 30 by 15.75 by 13 inches, bullets say 29.9 wide by 15.7 high by 13 deep. Wood with black metal joinery, 9 lb, 13-inch under-seat clearance per bullets, assembly with included hardware.
  • Pros: 13 inches of under-seat clearance is stated, useful for shoe bins; the slatted design is clear in the photos; light.
  • Cons: the dimension fields swap width and height between specs and bullets. No weight limit is stated. At 30 inches it is short for a long table.
  • Skip if you need a stated weight limit or exact depth.

YYmmDQ acacia bench (B0GFYJ32RJ)

  • Listed: the title offers 31.5, 39.4, 47.2, 55.1 and 59 inch options. The size line reads 31.5 by 11.8 by 17.7 inches. The product dimensions field reads 12.4 by 4.65 by 6.97 inches, which looks like a package size. Acacia, walnut color.
  • Pros: several lengths; acacia is a hardwood per specs.
  • Cons: the listing does not say which length the page shows, and the dimension fields do not match each other. No weight limit. The shape is listed as “diamond,” which is unclear for a bench.
  • Skip if you have not confirmed the length with the seller.

Worked example: a bench for a 48 in wide table

Our own planning estimates, not published standards: allow about 20 in of bench per adult, keep the bench 2 in shorter than the width between the table legs so it slides in, and leave at least 7 in between the seat and the underside of the table.

  • Adults per bench. The 47.2 in benches give 47.2 / 20 = 2.4, so two adults with room. Toolola at 35.4 in gives 1.8, tight for two. SwallowLiving at 30 in gives 1.5.
  • Tucking in. A 48 in table with 3 in table legs leaves about 42 in between the legs (48 minus 6). A 47.2 in bench would be 5.2 in too long (47.2 minus 42). Toolola at 35.4 in tucks in with 6.6 in to spare (42 minus 35.4).
  • Knee room. With the underside of the table at 25.5 in, HOOBRO’s 19.7 in seat leaves 5.8 in (25.5 minus 19.7), which is 1.2 in under our 7 in line. Toolola’s 17 in seat leaves 8.5 in (25.5 minus 17).

Who should skip a long dining bench

  • Anyone who needs three seats at 47 inches. By our estimate, that is tight.
  • Anyone who wants a backrest. None of the listings describes one.
  • Anyone who needs a confirmed weight limit. SwallowLiving and YYmmDQ give none.

For related benches, see dining benches, small dining bench, curved dining bench and dining room table with bench.

Frequently asked questions

How long should a dining bench be?

Our planning estimate is about 20 inches per adult. That gives roughly 47 inches for two adults with room to spare, and about 35 inches as tight for two.

Do these benches have backs?

None of the listings describes a backrest. They are described as benches.

What weight limit should I look for?

The stated limits in this set are 220 lb (MAHANCRIS, bullet), 400 lb (HOOBRO, specs) and 500 lb (Toolola, specs). If the listing does not state one, ask the seller before you buy.

Will a bench fit my table?

Compare the bench’s stated seat height to the underside of your table. Only HOOBRO, Toolola and SwallowLiving give a seat height, so measure your own table and check the height before buying.

Products worth checking

We have not tested these products. Sizes and features come from the Amazon listings as we read them; where a listing does not say, we say so.

HOOBRO padded dining bench

a 47.2 x 12.2 x 19.7 in size and a 400 lb stated maximum

The listing gives a 47.2 x 12.2 x 19.7 in size and a 400 lb stated maximum.

See details on Amazon Affiliate link

MAHANCRIS dining bench

a 47.2 x 11.8 in size and a 220 lb limit in the bullets

The listing gives a 47.2 x 11.8 in size and a 220 lb limit in the bullets.

See details on Amazon Affiliate link

Toolola bamboo bench

a 35.4 x 13 x 17 in size and a 500 lb maximum in the specs

The listing gives a 35.4 x 13 x 17 in size and a 500 lb maximum in the specs.

See details on Amazon Affiliate link

Sources checked

Specifications come from the Amazon listings as we read them for this guide. Product details and availability can change, so confirm on the product page before you buy.

How we research our guides