As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links marked “Affiliate link” may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more.
- Quick compare: the products in this guide
- Why an end table with electrical outlet matters in a small space
- Key measurements and how to measure an end table with electrical outlet
- Types and materials to consider
- Worked example with real arithmetic
- Who should buy an end table with electrical outlet
- Who should skip an end table with electrical outlet
- Common mistakes when choosing an end table with electrical outlet
- Keep reading
- Frequently asked questions
- Products worth checking
- Sources checked
Which end table with an outlet suits a tight space? Start with the depth, because the three options measure 7.1 to 11.8 inches deep, 15 to 17 inches wide, and 21.7 to 22.4 inches high. Each lists an AC outlet, while the USB ports, storage, materials and load recommendations differ. The shallowest table is 7.1 inches deep but 17 inches wide. A 15-inch-wide option has two shelves and a stated 60-pound maximum weight recommendation, and the oval option offers three tiers. Measure the available width, depth, height, cord route and walking space before choosing.
Quick compare: the products in this guide
Sizes come from the Amazon listings as we read them; check the product page for the current details before you buy.
| Product | Listed details | Link |
|---|---|---|
| HOOBRO Side Table with Charging Station, Small End Table with USB Port and… | 11″D x 15″W x 21.7″H; 2.8 kg | See details on Amazon Affiliate link |
| MaxSmeo Side Table with Charging Station, 3-Tier Small End Table with USB… | 11.8″D x 15.7″W x 22.4″H | See details on Amazon Affiliate link |
| Small Narrow Side Table with Charging Station, Skinny End Table for Small… | 7.1″D x 17″W x 22.2″H; 3 pounds | See details on Amazon Affiliate link |
Why an end table with electrical outlet matters in a small space
A powered end table can combine a lamp surface, charging point, and storage in one footprint. That helps when a room has little space for separate furniture. It still needs a useful position beside seating and a safe route for its cord.
The three footprints differ:
- One table is 15 inches wide, 11 inches deep, and 21.7 inches high.
- Another is 15.7 inches wide, 11.8 inches deep, and 22.4 inches high.
- The third is 17 inches wide, 7.1 inches deep, and 22.2 inches high.
Depth measures how far the table projects into the room. Width measures the space it takes along a sofa or wall. Height affects how easily you can reach a lamp, drink, or charging port. Compare each measurement with the furniture beside it rather than relying on a product photo.
Storage varies. One table lists two shelves, and another is described as having three tiers. The supplied information does not state the narrow table’s shelf count, so check the listing if storage is important.
The electrical layouts are not identical. One table lists one 3-prong AC outlet, one USB port, and one Type-C port. The narrow option lists one AC outlet, one USB port, and one Type-C port. The oval table lists one AC outlet and two USB ports. Match those details with the devices you plan to charge.
A table with an outlet still needs to reach a wall outlet safely. Keep cords out of door swings and walkways. The US Access Board gives 36 inches as a minimum clear width for an accessible route, with 32 inches allowed for short stretches such as doorways. Use those figures as a planning yardstick, not as a requirement for every home.
Key measurements and how to measure an end table with electrical outlet
Measure the location before comparing tables. Record the available width along the wall or furniture, then the depth from that wall into the room. Measure height separately. Keeping these axes distinct prevents a narrow depth from being mistaken for a narrow width.
For each option, check:
- Width: the span along the wall or next to the sofa.
- Depth: the projection into the room.
- Height: the floor-to-top measurement.
- Cord route: whether the cord can reach an outlet without crossing a doorway or main path.
- Shelf access: whether you can reach stored items without moving the table.
- Clear route: the floor space left for walking.
The first product lists 11 inches deep by 15 inches wide by 21.7 inches high. Its size field also says 15 inches long by 11 inches wide by 21.7 inches high. Those labels reorder the footprint dimensions; the product dimensions and separate width and depth fields identify 15 inches as width and 11 inches as depth.
The oval table lists 11.8 inches deep by 15.7 inches wide by 22.4 inches high. Its rounded top does not provide the same usable surface at every point, even though the listed dimensions describe its maximum span and depth.
The narrow table lists 7.1 inches deep by 17 inches wide by 22.2 inches high. Its smaller depth may help beside a tight passage, but it needs more width along the wall than the other two.
Measure the sofa arm, chair arm, or bed surface too. The tables range from 21.7 to 22.4 inches high, but those figures alone do not establish which one will align with nearby furniture. Check the outlet position and cord direction in the current listing. One description gives a 4.9-foot cord, and another gives a 4.5-foot cord. A listed cord length does not guarantee a suitable route.
Types and materials to consider
The first option is rectangular, with a metal frame, engineered-wood top, and two shelves. Its item weight is 2.8 kg, and its maximum weight recommendation is 60 pounds. Converting the item weight gives:
- 2.8 kg multiplied by 2.2 pounds per kilogram equals 6.16 pounds.
That conversion describes the item weight, not the maximum load. Keep the two figures separate.
The oval option has an engineered-wood top and a frame listed as engineered wood and wood. Its furniture leg material is wood, and its description calls it a three-tier table with open storage. The supplied product data does not give an item weight or maximum weight recommendation. Check the listing before placing heavy objects on it.
The narrow option is rectangular, with an engineered-wood top and frame material described as high-quality board and metal shelf. Its item weight is 3 pounds, and its maximum weight recommendation is 88 pounds. It lists one AC outlet, one USB port, one Type-C port, and a 4.5-foot extension cord.
A stated weight recommendation is not a substitute for following the maker’s instructions. Keep liquids away from electrical outlets and ports. If a cord, plug, or outlet is damaged, stop using it and follow the manufacturer’s safety directions.
For a tall or narrow piece, or a location where children might climb, consider whether anchoring is appropriate. The Consumer Product Safety Commission recommends anchoring furniture to the wall. Its 2023 federal tip-over standard covers clothing storage units, not every bookcase or cabinet. Follow the product instructions and use suitable hardware.
Worked example with real arithmetic
The room is 10 feet wide and 12 feet deep. The table sits along the 10-foot wall, so its width runs along that wall and its depth projects into the 12-foot room.
Convert the wall length:
- 10 feet multiplied by 12 inches per foot equals 120 inches.
Assume a sofa uses 60 inches of the 120-inch wall. Allow a total shared gap of 36 inches between the sofa, table, and access side. This is one total gap, not two separate 36-inch gaps.
Step 1: Find the wall segment after the sofa.
- 120 inches minus 60 inches equals 60 inches.
Step 2: Subtract the total shared gap.
- 60 inches minus 36 inches equals 24 inches.
Step 3: Compare that wall space with the 15-inch table width.
- 24 inches minus 15 inches equals 9 inches.
The table fits along the wall segment, with 9 inches left on that segment. Its 11-inch depth projects into the room; it is not subtracted from the 10-foot wall length.
Using the same wall, sofa, and total gap:
- 24 inches minus 15.7 inches equals 8.3 inches for the oval table.
- 24 inches minus 17 inches equals 7 inches for the narrow table.
All three fit the available 24-inch wall segment. Their depths still need to fit along the room’s depth axis. The narrow table projects 7.1 inches into the room, while the first projects 11 inches. The difference is:
- 11 inches minus 7.1 inches equals 3.9 inches.
That 3.9-inch difference applies only to projection into the room. It does not add wall width. If you need a clear route in front of the table, measure that route along the room’s depth axis. Do not count a shared gap twice or subtract a walkway from the wall length.
Who should buy an end table with electrical outlet
This style may suit you if you need a small surface and charging point beside a sofa, chair, or bed and can position it near a wall outlet. It can also work when you want open shelves for everyday items instead of another storage unit.
The 15-inch-wide option is worth considering if two shelves, a metal frame, and a stated 60-pound maximum weight recommendation suit your needs. Its 11-inch depth is smaller than the oval table’s 11.8-inch depth.
The oval table may appeal if you want a rounded top and three tiers of open storage. Its width is 15.7 inches, and its depth is 11.8 inches. Since the supplied data does not state its maximum weight recommendation, check the listing before placing heavy items on it.
The 17-inch-wide table may fit where depth is the main constraint. Its 7.1-inch depth is the smallest listed, but its width is the largest. It also has a stated 88-pound maximum weight recommendation. Compare its 22.2-inch height with your seating or bed.
Who should skip an end table with electrical outlet
Skip a powered table if it cannot sit close enough to a wall outlet for its cord to reach safely. A cord stretched across a doorway or walking route can create a trip hazard, so a longer listed cord is not automatically a solution.
Skip the deeper choices if your measured passage is too tight. The oval table is 4.7 inches deeper than the narrow option:
- 11.8 inches minus 7.1 inches equals 4.7 inches.
Skip the 17-inch-wide option if the available wall segment is shorter than 17 inches after accounting for neighboring furniture and access. A shallow depth does not reduce the width it takes along the wall.
These tables may not suit you if you need a specific electrical feature that is not stated, such as a particular outlet orientation or protection feature. Confirm the current listing and manufacturer’s instructions rather than assuming a feature from the word “charging.”
Consider another location if a child or pet could pull the cord. Plan the cord route, follow the product instructions, and consider anchoring where appropriate. For specialized or high-load use, rely only on a clearly stated rating.
Common mistakes when choosing an end table with electrical outlet
Measuring only one direction. Width runs along the wall; depth projects into the room. Both affect fit, and neither tells you the table’s height.
Double-counting a shared gap. The worked example uses 36 inches as one total allowance. Subtracting it twice makes the available wall segment seem smaller than it is.
Ignoring the cord route. A listed cord length does not show whether the route is clear. Trace the path to the outlet before deciding where the table belongs.
Assuming the charging layouts match. The products list different USB combinations. Confirm the specific ports against your devices.
Guessing an unstated capacity. Two products list maximum weight recommendations; the oval table’s supplied information does not. Do not infer a limit from its materials or appearance.
Treating a rounded top like a rectangle. The oval table’s listed dimensions describe its maximum span and depth, not identical usable space at every point.
Forgetting height. The listed heights are 21.7, 22.4, and 22.2 inches. Compare them with your sofa arm, chair arm, or bedside surface.
Relying on a title alone. Check the current listing for dimensions, ports, cord details, storage, and load recommendations. Follow the maker’s directions if they provide additional information.
Keep reading
These guides cover related picks and sizing checks for a small space.
- Black Console Table With Shelf for Small Spaces
- Behind Sofa Table: Match Length, Height and Outlets
- Sofa Bar Tables for Small Spaces
Frequently asked questions
What is the shallowest end table with electrical outlet?
The shallowest listed option is 7.1 inches deep. It is 17 inches wide and 22.2 inches high. Its product data lists one AC outlet, one USB port, one Type-C port, and a 4.5-foot extension cord. Measure width as well as depth because it takes 17 inches along the wall.
Do these tables have a regular AC outlet?
Yes. The product data identifies an AC outlet for each option. One specifies a 3-prong AC outlet, one lists one AC outlet with two USB ports, and the narrow table lists one AC outlet plus USB and Type-C ports. Check the current listing and follow its electrical-use instructions.
Which table has the most storage tiers?
The oval table is described as a three-tier end table. The first table lists two shelves. The supplied data does not state a shelf count for the narrow option, so check its listing if that detail matters.
Can an end table with electrical outlet go beside a bed?
Yes, if it fits the available width and depth, its height works for you, and its cord can reach an outlet safely. Compare its height with the bedside surface and keep the cord out of doorways and walking routes.
Which option has the highest stated weight recommendation?
The narrow table lists an 88-pound maximum weight recommendation. The first table lists 60 pounds. The supplied information does not state a maximum weight recommendation for the oval table. Follow the current listing and manufacturer’s instructions.
Products worth checking
We have not tested these products. Sizes and features come from the Amazon listings as we read them; where a listing does not say, we say so.
HOOBRO Side Table with Charging Station, Small End Table with USB Port and Outlet, Nightstand with 2-Layer Storage
See details on Amazon Affiliate linkMaxSmeo Side Table with Charging Station, 3-Tier Small End Table with USB Ports and Outlets, Modern Oval Night
See details on Amazon Affiliate linkSmall Narrow Side Table with Charging Station, Skinny End Table for Small Spaces, Slim Nightstand with Outlets,
See details on Amazon Affiliate linkSources checked
Specifications come from the Amazon listings as we read them for this guide. Product details and availability can change, so confirm on the product page before you buy.