As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links marked “Affiliate link” may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more.

31.5″ Square Wood Coffee Table has the smallest listed floor footprint, and LUMTOK 35″ inch Wooden Square Coffee Table has the largest. Square Coffee Table falls between them. Listed dimensions: 31.5″ Square Wood Coffee Table 31.5″ D × 31.5″ W × 15.7″ H; Square Coffee Table 35.4″ D × 35.4″ W × 16.2″ H; LUMTOK 35″ inch Wooden Square Coffee Table 35.43″ D × 35.43″ W × 17.72″ H. We have not tested these products, and sizes come from the Amazon listings as we read them.

Quick compare: the products in this guide

Sizes come from the Amazon listings as we read them; check the product page for the current details before you buy.

ProductListed detailsLink
Square Coffee Table,Wooden Living Room Table,Center Table with a Large…35.4″D x 35.4″W x 16.2″HSee details on Amazon Affiliate link
LUMTOK 35″ inch Wooden Square Coffee Table for Living Room,Modern Farmhouse35.43″D x 35.43″W x 17.72″HSee details on Amazon Affiliate link
31.5″ Square Wood Coffee Table with Storage for Living Room, Gray31.5″D x 31.5″W x 15.7″HSee details on Amazon Affiliate link

Three options at a glance

PickListed dimensionsFloor footprintFootprint rank
Square Coffee Table35.4″ D × 35.4″ W × 16.2″ H1253.16 sq in (8.7 sq ft)Middle
LUMTOK 35″ inch Wooden Square Coffee35.43″ D × 35.43″ W × 17.72″ H1255.28 sq in (8.72 sq ft)Largest
31.5″ Square Wood Coffee Table31.5″ D × 31.5″ W × 15.7″ H992.25 sq in (6.89 sq ft)Smallest

1. Square Coffee Table,Wooden Living Room Table,Center Table with a Large Tabletop,35.4″ x 35.4″,for Small Spaces, Apartments, Living Rooms, Black — Middle listed footprint

Listed details: dimensions 35.4″ D × 35.4″ W × 16.2″ H; listed maximum weight 200 pounds; material Engineered Wood, Solid Wood Frame; frame Engineered Wood With Solid Wood Frame; color Black.

This square coffee table measures 35.4 inches on each side and 16.2 inches high, with a listed footprint of 8.7 square feet. Its engineered-wood tabletop and solid-wood frame are specified to support up to 200 pounds. The listing describes an industrial style and black color, but its bullet text instead calls the finish vintage brown, so verify the color before ordering. It also says the tabletop suits drinks, snacks, and board games, and that assembly instructions and labeled components are included. The listing does not state the table’s weight or describe any storage shelf.

Pros

  • The listed maximum weight recommendation is 200 pounds.
  • A 35.4-inch square tabletop offers space for drinks, snacks, and games.
  • The listing says assembly instructions and labeled components are included.

Cons

  • The listed color is black, but the description calls the finish vintage brown; verify the actual color.
  • At 8.7 square feet, it is larger than the 31.5-inch table.
  • The listing does not state the table’s weight or mention storage.

Who it is for / who should skip it: Pick it if you want a large square tabletop and value a stated weight recommendation. Skip it if the color needs to be certain or you want an under-table shelf.

2. LUMTOK 35″ inch Wooden Square Coffee Table for Living Room,Modern Farmhouse — Largest listed footprint

Listed details: dimensions 35.43″ D × 35.43″ W × 17.72″ H; item weight 38.1 pounds; material Engineered Wood; color Rustic Brown.

The LUMTOK table measures 35.43 inches deep by 35.43 inches wide and stands 17.72 inches high, making it the largest listed footprint at 8.72 square feet. The listing describes an engineered-wood table and frame in rustic brown, with a farmhouse and rustic style. It calls the desktop oversized and says the surface can hold drinks and décor. Assembly instructions are included, though the listing does not state a maximum weight recommendation or describe storage. Its stated item weight is 38.1 pounds. The dimensions are close to those of product 1, so the footprint difference is small.

Pros

  • The 35.43-inch square surface is the largest listed, at 8.72 square feet.
  • The listing gives an item weight of 38.1 pounds.
  • Rustic brown finish and farmhouse styling are specified.

Cons

  • Its footprint is only slightly larger than product 1’s 8.7 square feet.
  • No storage shelf or other storage feature is described.

Who it is for / who should skip it: Choose it if you want a rustic-brown square table and prefer the largest listed surface. Skip it if you need a stated load limit or storage.

3. 31.5″ Square Wood Coffee Table with Storage for Living Room, Gray — Smallest listed footprint

Listed details: dimensions 31.5″ D × 31.5″ W × 15.7″ H; item weight 48 pounds; material Wood; color Grey.

This gray, mid-century-style table measures 31.5 inches on each side and 15.7 inches high, with the smallest listed footprint at 6.89 square feet. Its tabletop is smaller than the two 35-inch options, which can help when floor space is tight. The listing describes a weathered gray wood-grain finish and an open lower shelf for storage, as well as a wood frame and material. It also gives an item weight of 48 pounds. The listing does not state a maximum weight recommendation, and its storage description does not provide a shelf capacity or usable interior dimensions.

Pros

  • The 31.5-inch square footprint is the smallest listed, at 6.89 square feet.
  • An open lower shelf is described for additional storage.
  • The listing states an item weight of 48 pounds.

Cons

  • Its tabletop is smaller than the 35.4-inch and 35.43-inch options.
  • The listing does not state a maximum weight recommendation.
  • Shelf capacity and usable storage dimensions are not stated.

Who it is for / who should skip it: Pick it if saving floor space and having an open lower shelf matter more than a larger tabletop. Skip it if you need a stated load limit or precise storage measurements.

What to check before buying big square coffee table

Start with the footprint. A square coffee table uses floor area in both directions, so compare side length as well as listed square footage. The 31.5-inch model covers 6.89 square feet; the two larger tables cover 8.7 and 8.72 square feet. Choose the smaller option when preserving walking room is the priority. Choose a 35-inch model when tabletop area matters more, but the difference between the two larger footprints is only 0.02 square feet (8.72 − 8.7), so do not treat that as a meaningful size distinction.

Next, compare height with your seating and intended use. The listed heights are 15.7, 16.2, and 17.72 inches. Measure against your sofa and consider whether you want the table lower or closer to seat height; the listing data alone cannot determine which will feel right in your room.

Then check what each listing actually says about construction and load. Product 1 lists engineered wood with a solid wood frame and a maximum weight recommendation of 200 pounds. Product 2 lists engineered wood for both material and frame but gives no weight limit. Product 3 lists wood and likewise gives no maximum weight recommendation. Do not assume that a claim such as “sturdy” supplies a measurable capacity.

Finally, decide whether storage and finish are priorities. Product 3 is the only one described with an open lower shelf, but the shelf’s capacity and usable dimensions are not stated. Product 1 has conflicting color information: its specs say black, while its bullets describe vintage brown. Confirm that detail before buying. Product 2 specifies rustic brown; product 3 specifies gray. Assembly is described as easy for products 1 and 2, but check the listing for any setup details you need before ordering.

Worked example: fit math for these three options

This worked example is our own planning arithmetic from the listed dimensions, not test results. The wall length and walkway width are assumed example values; replace them with your measurements.

Wall example. Assume 48 inches of clear wall.

  • Square Coffee Table: 48 − 35.4 = 12.6 inches spare; centred, 6.3 inches on each side before trim, plugs or curtains.
  • LUMTOK 35″ inch Wooden Square Coffee: 48 − 35.43 = 12.57 inches spare; centred, 6.29 inches on each side before trim, plugs or curtains.
  • 31.5″ Square Wood Coffee Table: 48 − 31.5 = 16.5 inches spare; centred, 8.25 inches on each side before trim, plugs or curtains.

Walkway example. The US Access Board gives 36 inches as the minimum clear width for an accessible route. That figure is a yardstick, not a rule for private homes. To keep 36 inches clear beside each product, the walkway between it and the opposite obstacle must be at least 36 inches plus its depth:

  • Square Coffee Table: 36 + 35.4 = 71.4 inches of total path width.
  • LUMTOK 35″ inch Wooden Square Coffee: 36 + 35.43 = 71.43 inches of total path width.
  • 31.5″ Square Wood Coffee Table: 36 + 31.5 = 67.5 inches of total path width.

Footprint. Depth × width, converted at 144 square inches per square foot:

  • Square Coffee Table: 35.4 × 35.4 = 1253.16 sq in, or 8.7 sq ft.
  • LUMTOK 35″ inch Wooden Square Coffee: 35.43 × 35.43 = 1255.28 sq in, or 8.72 sq ft.
  • 31.5″ Square Wood Coffee Table: 31.5 × 31.5 = 992.25 sq in, or 6.89 sq ft.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Choosing by the word “large” alone. The 31.5-inch table covers 6.89 square feet, while the two larger options cover 8.7 and 8.72 square feet; measure your available floor area before choosing.
  • Treating the two larger tables as meaningfully different in footprint. Their listed areas differ by just 0.02 square feet (8.72 − 8.7), so compare other details rather than relying on that small difference.
  • Assuming a sturdy description means a known load limit. Only product 1 states a maximum weight recommendation, at 200 pounds; the other two listings do not give one.
  • Overlooking finish or storage details. Product 1’s black color conflicts with its vintage-brown description, while product 3’s open shelf has no stated capacity or usable dimensions.

Frequently asked questions

Which of these big square coffee tables takes up the least floor space?

The 31.5-inch table is the smallest listed, with a footprint of 6.89 square feet. The other two are about 35.4 inches on each side and list footprints of 8.7 and 8.72 square feet. Measure your intended spot and leave room to move around the table before deciding.

Which table has a stated weight recommendation?

Product 1 lists a maximum weight recommendation of 200 pounds. The LUMTOK table and the 31.5-inch gray table do not state a maximum weight recommendation in the supplied listing details. If a specific load limit is important, confirm the current product listing before ordering.

Do any of these square coffee tables include storage?

The 31.5-inch gray table is the only one described with an open lower shelf. The listing does not give the shelf’s capacity or usable dimensions. The other two listings describe large tabletops but do not mention a storage shelf, so check their current listings if storage is essential.

Are the finishes consistent in the listings?

Not for product 1: its specs list black, while its description calls the finish vintage brown. The LUMTOK listing specifies rustic brown, and the 31.5-inch table is listed in gray. Because product 1’s details conflict, verify its actual finish with the seller before buying.

Products worth checking

We have not tested these products. Sizes and features come from the Amazon listings as we read them; where a listing does not say, we say so.

Square Coffee Table,Wooden Living Room Table,Center Table with a Large Tabletop,35.4″ x 35.4″,for Small Spaces, Apartments, Living Rooms, Black

listed dimensions 35.4″D x 35.4″W x 16.2″H

The listing gives listed dimensions 35.4″D x 35.4″W x 16.2″H.

See details on Amazon Affiliate link

LUMTOK 35″ inch Wooden Square Coffee Table for Living Room,Modern Farmhouse

listed dimensions 35.43″D x 35.43″W x 17.72″H

The listing gives listed dimensions 35.43″D x 35.43″W x 17.72″H.

See details on Amazon Affiliate link

31.5″ Square Wood Coffee Table with Storage for Living Room, Gray

listed dimensions 31.5″D x 31.5″W x 15.7″H

The listing gives listed dimensions 31.5″D x 31.5″W x 15.7″H.

See details on Amazon Affiliate link

Sources checked

Specifications come from the Amazon listings as we read them for this guide. Product details and availability can change, so confirm on the product page before you buy.

How we research our guides