As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

A keyboard wrist rest is a padded strip that sits in front of your keyboard so your palms or wrists have somewhere to land when you pause. On a small desk the choice comes down to three things the listings can answer: how long the strip is compared with your keyboard, how thick it is, and whether you need a matching mouse rest. This guide compares six keyboard wrist rests using only what their Amazon listings state, read on 2026-10-17. We have not tested them. Where a listing disagrees with itself, both figures are shown.

Quick answer

For a full-size keyboard with a number pad, look at the 17-inch foam strips: Gorilla Grip (Pick 3, 17 x 3.5 inches, with a matching mouse rest) or the TECKNET set (Pick 6, 17.32 inches). For a tenkeyless (TKL) or 75 percent keyboard, the walnut rest (Pick 5) is the one built for that size, but its listing gives 14.2 inches in the title and 11.8 inches in a bullet, so confirm before ordering. The ELZO (Pick 2) is the plain single strip, and the Yolanda (Pick 4) is the thinnest foam one. One caution: OSHA warns that wrist rests with sharp, hard leading edges can stress the forearms and wrists, so edge softness matters as much as size.

How we chose

We kept products that the title and listing describe as a keyboard wrist rest, and compared the facts a buyer can check:

  • Length: a rest much shorter than the keyboard leaves part of the keyboard uncovered.
  • Thickness: stated for some, not all.
  • Material: memory foam with a fabric cover, or solid wood.
  • Set or single: some listings include a mouse rest.
  • Listing gaps: we write “not stated” instead of guessing.

The listings make pain-relief claims. We repeat them as the seller’s wording only. We did not find a way to check them here, and none of these listings cites a study.

Comparison table

Pick Keyboard rest size (inches) Thickness stated Material Set contents Weight listed
1. Gimars GM-116 17 x 3 x 1 1 inch Memory foam fill, cover listed as rubber Keyboard rest + mouse pad with rest 10.4 oz (set)
2. ELZO 56KP-MF-4BE 16.9 x 3.15 Not stated Memory foam (65D per title) Single keyboard rest 4.6 oz
3. Gorilla Grip 2 piece 17 x 3.5 Inner foam nearly 1.2 inches Memory foam, spandex cover Keyboard rest + mouse rest 6.4 oz (set)
4. Yolanda SKK-333 17 x 3.34 (size field: 17.7 x 3.54 x 0.83) 0.83 inch in the size field Memory foam, Lycra and rubber Title says set; bullets describe a keyboard rest 4.6 oz
5. SARUFO walnut, medium 14.2 x 3.15 (bullet says 11.8 inches long) 20 mm Solid walnut wood Single keyboard rest 13.7 oz
6. TECKNET G107 17.32 x 3.15 x 0.98 0.98 inch Memory foam, Lycra cover Keyboard rest + mouse pad with rest 13.4 oz (set)

The order follows the picks below, not a ranking.

Our six picks

1. Gimars Keyboard Wrist Rest and Mouse Pad Set (GM-116) (Best matching keyboard and mouse set)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-17):

  • Keyboard rest: 17 x 3 x 1 inches in a bullet
  • Mouse pad with rest: 10 x 8.6 x 1 inches
  • Weight: 10.4 ounces for the set
  • Fill: memory foam with a non-skid rubber base
  • Cover: the specs table says rubber, the title says superfine fibre

Pros

  • Gives you a keyboard rest and a mouse pad with a wrist groove in one order
  • States the thickness, 1 inch
  • Non-skid base, per the listing

Cons

  • The cover material is contradictory, so you cannot tell what the top feels like
  • The specs table lists dimensions as 3 x 17 inches only, so rely on the bullet for the thickness

Best for: A full-size keyboard where you also want a wrist groove at the mouse
Skip if: You only need the keyboard strip or you want a stated fabric cover

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. ELZO Keyboard Wrist Rest Pad, 65D Memory Foam (56KP-MF-4BE) (Best simple single strip)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-17):

  • Size: 16.9 x 3.15 inches
  • Weight: 4.6 ounces
  • Fill: memory foam, 65D high-density per the title
  • Cover: listed as rubber
  • Warranty: the listing mentions a 12-month warranty

Pros

  • One strip and nothing else, so it is easy to place on a crowded desk
  • Wave-shaped design, per the listing
  • Non-slip rubber base

Cons

  • Thickness is not stated in the parts we read
  • At 16.9 inches it is the shortest of the full-width foam strips

Best for: A keyboard you want a single plain pad for
Skip if: You need the thickness before buying, or you want a mouse rest too

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. GORILLA GRIP Memory Foam Wrist Rest for Computer Keyboard, 2 Piece (Best thickest foam)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-17):

  • Size: 17 x 3.5 inches
  • Weight: 6.4 ounces for the set
  • Set: keyboard rest + mouse rest
  • Foam: the inner foam measures nearly 1.2 inches thick, per a bullet
  • Cover: spandex, described as water and stain resistant; wipe with a damp cloth

Pros

  • Thickest stated foam of the six
  • Wipe-clean spandex cover
  • Slip-resistant rubber backing and a 3-layer design, per the listing

Cons

  • The thickest rest may sit too high for a low-profile keyboard (see the worked example)
  • The listing says nothing about the edge softness OSHA flags

Best for: A full-size keyboard on a desk where the keys sit tall
Skip if: Your keyboard is thin and flat, or you want solid wood

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. Yolanda Keyboard Wrist Rest Memory Foam (SKK-333) (Best thin foam)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-17):

  • Size: 17 x 3.34 inches in the dimensions row and a bullet; the size field says 17.7 x 3.54 x 0.83 inches
  • Weight: 4.6 ounces
  • Material: Lycra, memory foam, rubber
  • Compatible with: keyboard

Pros

  • The thinnest stated rest, 0.83 inch
  • Anti-slip rubber base, per the listing

Cons

  • Two different sizes in the same listing
  • The title says “keyboard mouse pad set” but the bullets describe only a keyboard wrist rest, so confirm what is in the box

Best for: A slim keyboard where a thick pad would sit too high
Skip if: You need a firm answer on size or on whether a mouse pad is included

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

5. SARUFO Walnut Wood Keyboard Wrist Rest, 14.2 inch, for TKL and 75% Keyboards (Best for compact keyboards)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-17):

  • Size: 14.2 x 3.15 inches in the title and the specs table; a bullet says it measures 11.8 inches (30 cm) long
  • Thickness: 20 mm with a gentle slope, per a bullet
  • Weight: 13.7 ounces
  • Material: solid walnut with non-slip rubber pads underneath

Pros

  • Sized for TKL and 75 percent keyboards, so it will not stick out past a compact board
  • Wood does not sag the way foam can, according to the listing
  • The heaviest of the single strips, which helps it stay put

Cons

  • The 14.2 versus 11.8 inch conflict means the true length is unclear
  • Hard wood is exactly the kind of firm surface OSHA tells you to choose carefully
  • Too short for a full-size keyboard with a number pad

Best for: A TKL or 75 percent keyboard and a taste for wood
Skip if: You want a soft surface or you use a full-size keyboard

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

6. TECKNET Keyboard Wrist Rest and Mouse Pad Set (G107) (Best longest strip)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-17):

  • Keyboard rest: 17.32 x 3.15 x 0.98 inches
  • Mouse pad with rest: 9.84 x 7.87 x 0.98 inches
  • Weight: 13.4 ounces for the set
  • Materials: memory foam, Lycra cover, rubber base

Pros

  • Longest keyboard strip with a consistent size in its listing, 17.32 inches (the Yolanda size field says 17.7 but the same listing also says 17)
  • Thickness is stated for both pieces, 0.98 inch
  • Reinforced edges, per the listing

Cons

  • The specs table lists only the mouse pad’s size, so use the bullet for the keyboard strip
  • You pay for a mouse piece whether you want it or not

Best for: A full-size keyboard where you want the longest cover
Skip if: You only want a keyboard strip

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

Worked example: length and height

These are example numbers, not a standard. Replace them with your own measurements.

Length

Measure your keyboard’s width from the left edge to the right edge. Say a full-size keyboard with a number pad measures 17.5 inches, and a TKL measures 14.0 inches.

  • Full-size, 17.5 inches: the ELZO at 16.9 is 0.6 inch short. Gimars and Gorilla Grip at 17 are 0.5 inch short. TECKNET at 17.32 is 0.18 inch short. The Yolanda size field of 17.7 would cover it by 0.2 inch, but the same listing also says 17.
  • TKL, 14.0 inches: the walnut rest at 14.2 inches would cover it by 0.2 inch. If the true length is 11.8 inches, as one bullet says, it is 2.2 inches short.

A rest slightly shorter than the keyboard is not wrong. It just supports the main typing area and leaves the edges bare.

Height

Our own planning rule, not an OSHA figure: aim for a rest close to the height of your keyboard’s front edge. Measure that edge from the desk. If it is 0.8 inch, the 0.83-inch Yolanda and the 0.79-inch (20 mm) walnut sit close to it, while the 1.2-inch Gorilla Grip foam would sit about 0.4 inch above. Foam may compress under your wrists, and no listing gives a compression figure, so treat these gaps as rough.

Using a wrist rest well

OSHA’s computer workstation guide says to adjust the workstation to maintain neutral wrist postures and to take frequent rest and stretch breaks. It also warns that wrist rests with sharp, hard leading edges can affect the forearms and wrists, and tells you to choose them carefully. The page does not say whether to rest your wrists while typing or only between bursts. That question is left open, so we do not state a rule. For the wider setup, see our desk ergonomic set-up guide and the carpal tunnel ergonomics post. If you have pain, numbness or tingling, see a clinician; a pad is not a treatment.

Mistakes to avoid

  1. Buying by length without measuring the keyboard. A TKL rest on a full-size board leaves the number pad bare.
  2. Trusting a single size figure. Pick 4 and Pick 5 each list two sizes in one listing.
  3. Choosing a rest that is much taller than the keys. It can push the wrist upward. This is our rule of thumb, as above.
  4. Treating a mouse pad in the set as free value. If you already have a mouse rest, a single strip like the ELZO is simpler. For mouse support see armrest for mouse and comfortable mouse pad.
  5. Skipping the edge check. OSHA singles out hard leading edges. Picks 1, 2, 3, 4 and 6 are described as memory foam pads, though none of the listings says how soft the front edge is. The walnut rest is solid wood, so it is the one to look at most carefully.

Who should skip buying one

If your desk is the right height and your keyboard is thin, you may not need a rest at all, and pausing with your hands off the desk avoids the question. If your keyboard sits on a pull-out surface, a keyboard tray may solve the height problem more directly; see the keyboard tray for chair post.

Read more: Desk ergonomic set-up.

Read more: Comfortable computer mouse.

FAQ

Which keyboard wrist rest is thickest?

The Gorilla Grip lists inner foam of nearly 1.2 inches. The Gimars states 1 inch and the TECKNET 0.98 inch. The Yolanda size field says 0.83 inch, and the walnut rest is 20 mm. The ELZO listing does not state a thickness.

Which one fits a tenkeyless keyboard?

The SARUFO walnut rest is the one sized for TKL and 75 percent keyboards, at 14.2 inches by the title. A bullet says 11.8 inches, so confirm before you order.

Do I get a mouse rest too?

The Gimars, Gorilla Grip and TECKNET listings include a mouse piece. The ELZO and the walnut rest are single keyboard rests. The Yolanda title says set but its bullets describe a keyboard rest, so check the listing.

Is memory foam better than wood?

The listings argue both ways. The walnut listing says wood does not sag like foam, and the foam listings stress softness. We have no test data, so the choice is about feel and edge softness.

Do wrist rests prevent carpal tunnel syndrome?

We do not make that claim. Several listings use pain-relief wording, and we did not find a source to support it. OSHA’s guidance on the page we read points to neutral wrist postures and frequent breaks, and warns about hard edges.

How do I clean one?

Only the Gorilla Grip listing gives instructions: wipe the spandex with a damp cloth and let it air dry. The other listings we read do not say.

Bottom line

For a full-size keyboard choose the Gorilla Grip or TECKNET set, depending on whether you want the thicker foam or the longer strip. For a thin keyboard choose the Yolanda after you confirm its size. For a compact keyboard choose the walnut rest after you confirm its length, and check the edge. For one plain strip, the ELZO does the job. Measure your keyboard first, and check the current price on Amazon.

Sources

How we research our guides