As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links marked “Affiliate link” may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more.
Quick answer
The three beds are 78.74 by 41.73 by 63 inches (SOFTSEA twin over twin, 600 pounds), 77.17 by 55.91 by 66.54 inches (Hoyapefui twin over full with trundle, 131.1 pounds) and 81.5 by 42.5 by 65 inches (Max and Lily twin over twin with trundle, 400 pounds per sleeping surface). The SOFTSEA title says a metal frame but its material row says wood. In an 8 foot (96 inch) room the top of the frame is 33, 29.5 and 31 inches below the ceiling, before the mattress is added. None of the listings is a safety approval; ask each seller for its compliance statement.
Quick compare: the products in this guide
Sizes come from the Amazon listings as we read them; check the product page for the current details before you buy.
| Product | Listed details | Link |
|---|---|---|
| SOFTSEA Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed with Guardrails, Metal Frame Bunk Bed with… | 78.74 x 41.73 x 63 in; 600 lb | See details on Amazon Affiliate link |
| Hoyapefui Metal Twin Over Full Bunk Bed with Trundle | 77.17 x 55.91 x 66.54 in; 131.1 lb | See details on Amazon Affiliate link |
| Max and Lily Classic Twin Over Twin Bunk Bed with Trundle, White | 81.5 x 42.5 x 65 in; 400 lb per surface | See details on Amazon Affiliate link |
Related: Twin Over Full Bunk Bed: Rails, Storage and Fit.
What to check on a bunk bed
Guardrails and ladder. Full-length guardrails on the top bunk, as the Hoyapefui listing says, and a sturdy ladder.
Weight rating. Per bunk or for the whole bed; ask.
Ceiling. Subtract the bed’s height from the ceiling and add the mattress.
Material. A “white metal” title can sit on a wood table row, as here.
Compliance. Bunk beds are children’s furniture with their own safety rules; the seller should state which standards the bed meets, and you can search the CPSC site for the brand.
Worked example: ceiling and footprint
This is our own arithmetic. The heights are the frame heights from the listings; the mattress on the top bunk adds its thickness, which we assume is 6 inches for a child’s mattress.
| Bed | Height | Ceiling gap above the frame in a 96 in room | Gap above a 6 in mattress | Footprint |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SOFTSEA twin over twin | 63 in | 33 in | 27 in | 78.74 × 41.73 = 22.8 sq ft |
| Hoyapefui twin over full | 66.54 in | 29.46 in | 23.5 in | 77.17 × 55.91 = 30.0 sq ft |
| Max and Lily twin over twin | 65 in | 31 in | 25 in | 81.5 × 42.5 = 24.1 sq ft |
A child sitting up on the top bunk needs more head space than 23.5 to 27 inches; we have no source for the number, but a ceiling gap that small is tight, so measure the person and the room. A twin over twin takes 22.8 to 24.1 square feet for two beds; two separate twin frames at 74.5 by 38 inches take 19.7 square feet each, 39.3 together, so a bunk saves about 15 to 16.5 square feet.
What the listings say
SOFTSEA Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed with Guardrails, Metal Frame Bunk Bed with Ladder, Low Bunk Bed for Kids (ASIN B0CR5MV3ZX). The table gives 78.74 by 41.73 by 63 inches, white and a maximum weight recommendation of 600 pounds, with a material row of wood. The bullets say a metal frame with steel slats, no quaking and no noise, 20 percent stronger, flat-packed in one box and storage space under the bed. Best for: a lower twin over twin. Watch out: the title says metal and the table says wood; ask which.
Hoyapefui Metal Twin Over Full Bunk Bed with Trundle, Heavy-Duty, Noise Reduced, Wooden Decoration (ASIN B0F5W9NBHD). The table gives 77.17 by 55.91 by 66.54 inches, a weight of 131.1 pounds, metal and wood, white, five items and an age range of adult. The bullets say strong metal with metal slats that keep the mattresses from sliding, full-length guard rails on the top bunk, passing “several Children” tests (the sentence is cut off in the text we read), EVA center support beams and slat lockers to reduce squeaks and built-in ladders. Best for: three sleeping places in one footprint. Watch out: the age range says adult while the text speaks of children, and the safety wording is cut off; ask for the standard it names.
Max and Lily Classic Twin Over Twin Bunk Bed with Trundle, White (ASIN B0GH8V9CV6). The table gives 81.5 by 42.5 by 65 inches, white and three items. The bullets say the bunks separate into two free-standing beds, solid knot-free New Zealand pine, a non-toxic low VOC finish, a capacity of 400 pounds per sleeping surface with plywood slats and a metal support bar and a slatted headboard. Best for: a wood bunk that can split into two beds. Watch out: it is wood, not metal.
How the three compare
| Listing | Frame | Sleepers | Rating | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SOFTSEA | Metal (title), wood (table) | 2 | 600 lb | Not stated |
| Hoyapefui | Metal and wood | 3 with trundle | Not stated | 131.1 lb |
| Max and Lily | Pine | 3 with trundle | 400 lb per surface | Not stated |
How to choose
Measure the ceiling. The top bunk needs head space; use the table.
Ask about the standard. Which safety standard the bed meets, in writing.
Check the rating per bunk. Max and Lily states 400 pounds per sleeping surface; the others do not say per bunk.
Check the material. If you want metal, make sure the table says metal.
Plan the floor. A bunk with a trundle needs room to pull the trundle out.
Assembly and noise
The SOFTSEA listing says the bed comes flat-packed in one box and describes steel slats and a frame that does not quake or scratch; the Hoyapefui lists five items and 131.1 pounds, which may mean several cartons; the Max and Lily lists three items. A bunk bed is a heavy build and a two-person job. The Hoyapefui listing describes EVA center support beams and slat lockers to reduce squeaks, which are the kind of details to look for in a metal bed that will carry a moving child.
Questions to send the seller
Ask which safety standard the bed meets and for the test report; whether the weight rating is per bunk and what the mattress thickness limit is for the top bunk, since a thick mattress reduces the guardrail height; what the guardrail height is above the mattress; and how many people and how long assembly takes. A seller that states the standard in the listing, as the Hoyapefui begins to do with its “passed several Children” line, is more useful than one that does not, but the line is cut off in the text we read, so ask for the full statement.
Mistakes to avoid
Putting a young child on a top bunk. Ask a pediatrician or follow the maker’s age guidance; the Hoyapefui “adult” age row is odd.
Assuming the title is right. SOFTSEA’s title and table disagree.
Ignoring the ceiling. Subtract the bed from the room.
Skipping assembly time. A bunk is a heavy build; the SOFTSEA is flat-packed in one box.
Mattress sizes for a bunk
A twin over twin needs two twin mattresses, 38 by 74 inches each, and a twin over full needs a twin on top and a full, 54 by 75 inches, below, per Amerisleep. The mattress thickness matters on the top bunk, where a thick mattress reduces the guardrail’s height above the sleeper. The listings we read do not state a maximum thickness, so ask. A thin mattress of about 6 inches is common for top bunks, which is our example, not a rule.
When a different bed is better
For a loft with a desk, see loft beds for kids. For a bunk without ladders, see triple bunk bed and bunk beds. For a trundle, see trundle bed that pops up.
If the bed is for children, keep the top bunk for the older child and follow the maker’s age and mattress guidance. A bunk is a good use of space when it is chosen and assembled with care, and a poor one when a detail is skipped.
Frequently asked questions
Is the SOFTSEA bunk bed metal or wood?
The title says metal frame and the table says wood. Ask the seller.
How tall is a twin over twin bunk?
63 to 65 inches in the listings above.
What weight can a bunk bed hold?
600 pounds for the SOFTSEA and 400 pounds per sleeping surface for the Max and Lily; the Hoyapefui states none in the text we read.
Do bunk beds have guardrails?
The Hoyapefui listing says full-length guard rails on the top bunk; the SOFTSEA title says guardrails.
How much floor does a bunk bed save?
About 15 square feet compared with two twin frames.
Can a bunk split into two beds?
The Max and Lily listing says it separates into two free-standing beds.
Products worth checking
We have not tested these products. Sizes and features come from the Amazon listings as we read them; where a listing does not say, we say so.
SOFTSEA Twin-Over-Twin Bunk Bed with Guardrails, Metal Frame Bunk Bed with Ladder
- Keep in mind: we have not tested it, and the listing may show more than one size or finish, so pick the variant that matches your numbers.
Hoyapefui Metal Twin Over Full Bunk Bed with Trundle
- Keep in mind: we have not tested it, and the listing may show more than one size or finish, so pick the variant that matches your numbers.
Max and Lily Classic Twin Over Twin Bunk Bed with Trundle, White
- Keep in mind: we have not tested it, and the listing may show more than one size or finish, so pick the variant that matches your numbers.
Sources checked
Specifications come from the Amazon listings as we read them for this guide. Product details and availability can change, so confirm on the product page before you buy.