As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

A small fold away desk is a compact writing or computer table that folds, drops or retracts when it is not in use, so the floor or wall space it takes up can go back to other uses. Shoppers often search for that phrase, but most product listings use other words, such as foldable, folding, fold-out, drop-leaf, retractable or collapsible. The seven desks below come from listings that use those terms, and each entry states only the figures its listing gives.

Quick answer

  • Check the folded depth and the open width against the wall or corner you have. Listings give these as separate numbers.
  • Choose a wall-mounted or drop-leaf design to save the most floor space. Choose a freestanding fold-out or a desk on casters if you need to move it.
  • Compare the weight limit with what you plan to set on the desk. The stated limits in this set run from 36 to 120 pounds, and three listings give no figure.
  • Read the mounting notes first. The Armocity listing says it must be anchored to the wall, and the Semjar listing requires a drill and expansion screws.

How to choose a small folding desk

Start with the space the desk will occupy in both states. A folding desk has two footprints: the open working surface and the folded profile. The listings give different measurements for each. The UDD listing gives a folded size of 27.5 W x 2.6 D x 29.7 H inches, which means a thin profile against a wall or behind a door. The GarveeHome listing says it folds down to a 2.2-inch profile. The HDDFER listing says it folds flat to 5.9 inches thick. In a narrow hallway or a room you share, the folded depth often matters more than the open size.

Next, measure the working surface you need. The HDDFER bullets describe an unfolded desktop of 27.6 by 19.7 inches and say it holds a 17-inch laptop, a monitor and a notebook with room for a lamp. The GarveeHome listing gives a 31.5-inch width and a 15.75-inch depth. The Semjar listing is a different kind of product: an 11.8-inch round top that extends from 3.5 to 17 inches from the wall. Its bullets describe it for drinks, snacks, a phone, keys and similar small items, not for a full keyboard setup.

Then check the mounting. This set includes three designs: wall-mounted tables that fold against the wall, freestanding fold-out tables with legs, and mobile desks on casters. Wall-mounted designs depend on a solid wall and on the hardware the listing supplies. The Armocity listing lists its mounting type as freestanding and also says it must be anchored to the wall, so confirm the setup before you order. If you plan to add a monitor or a printer, also read the section on fold-out desks for small spaces, which covers the same kinds of trade-offs in more detail.

How to measure before you order

Measure the wall or corner where the desk will sit, then compare that space with the folded figure in the listing. Add the depth of your chair, and check whether you need to pull the chair out while the desk is open. Measure the height of the place where the desk will fold, because a wall-mounted desk that folds down may need clearance under a window sill or a light switch. Write down the open width and depth you want, then compare them with the numbers in the table below. If a listing does not give a figure you need, such as the weight limit of the METALBEE or UDD desk, treat that as unknown rather than assuming a value.

Sizes, weights and materials at a glance

The table gives the figures each listing states. “Not stated” means the title, bullets and specs do not give that number.

Listing Dimensions as listed Item weight Weight limit stated Main material as listed
COSTWAY wall-mounted drop-leaf table 31.5 D x 23.5 W x 18 H in 17.6 lb 88 lb MDF and solid pine (bullet); metal and wood (specs)
METALBEE bamboo fold-out desk 19.69 D x 39.37 W x 33.46 H in 27.8 lb Not stated Solid bamboo (bullet); wood (specs)
Armocity fold-out craft table 7.9 D x 20 W x 61 H in 40 lb Not stated Engineered wood with a metal frame
HDDFER bamboo folding desk 39.37 D x 20.87 W x 33.46 H in 26.5 lb 55 lb Bamboo, 0.86-inch thick top
Semjar wall-mounted round table 14.8 D x 11.6 W x 3.8 H in 3.8 lb 36 lb Bamboo top, aluminum bracket
UDD mobile folding desk 15.8 D x 27.5 W x 29.7 H in Not stated Not stated Engineered wood top, metal frame
GarveeHome folding desk 31.5 D x 15.75 W x 29.53 H in 18.1 lb 120 lb Particleboard top, metal frame (bullets)

Read the table as a starting point. The dimensions are overall product figures from each listing, and the bullets sometimes give a separate desktop size. The listings do not always explain how those two sets of numbers relate.

Roundup: seven folding desks from the listings

Each entry below uses only the title, bullets and specs of its listing. The order has no ranking meaning.

COSTWAY Wall Mounted Folding Table, Drop-Leaf Floating Writing Desk

This wall-mounted drop-leaf table is listed at 31.5 by 23.5 inches with an 18-inch height, and it weighs 17.6 pounds. Its bullets describe two folding points: the whole top can fold completely against the wall, or half of the countertop can fold down when you have fewer items to set out. The listing states a maximum weight recommendation of 88 pounds and says it is built from MDF and solid pine. The surface has waterproof paint and, according to the listing, can be cleaned with a damp cloth. The listing suits a kitchen, laundry room or bedroom wall that needs a writing surface only some of the time. The specs list a limited warranty type but do not give its length.

View on Amazon

METALBEE Fold Out Desk, Foldable Desk with Storage for Small Spaces

This bamboo fold-out desk is listed at 19.69 by 39.37 inches, stands 33.46 inches high and weighs 27.8 pounds. Its bullets describe a folding design that folds flat for storage and a discreet shelf for notebooks and devices. The specs list one shelf, a 1.25-inch tabletop and a working-surface diagonal of 44.35 inches. The listing says the bamboo build has a strong weight capacity but does not give a figure, so check with the seller before you load it with heavy items. Assembly is required, and the listing says instructions are included. The listing’s recommended uses are office and working. It is a sensible option when a shelf within reach matters more than a large open surface.

View on Amazon

Armocity Small Folding Desk with Outlets, Fold-Out Murphy Desk Craft Table

This fold-out cabinet-style table is listed at 7.9 by 20 by 61 inches and weighs 40 pounds. Its bullets describe built-in sockets and USB charging ports, a height-adjustable shelf under the desktop, and a blackboard panel for notes. The listing says it can serve as a kids’ writing desk, drawing table, craft table or sewing machine stand. The bullets say it must be anchored to the wall and includes anchors for that purpose. The specs list the mounting type as freestanding, so follow the anchoring instruction in the bullets rather than the spec. The listing does not state a weight limit.

View on Amazon

HDDFER Bamboo Folding Desk for Small Spaces, Hidden Desk with Storage Shelf

This bamboo desk is listed at 39.37 by 20.87 by 33.46 inches and weighs 26.5 pounds. Its bullets say it folds flat to 5.9 inches thick and unfolds to a 27.6-inch by 19.7-inch desktop. The listing gives a 55-pound maximum weight recommendation and a 9-inch deep under-desk shelf. It is one of the few listings in this set that describes a no-tools assembly, which the bullets put at under 15 minutes. It is covered in the in-depth review below.

View on Amazon

Semjar Wall Mounted Folding Table, Retractable Small Bamboo Drop Down Floating Wall Desk

This small wall desk has an 11.8-inch round bamboo top on an aluminum alloy bracket. The listing weighs 3.8 pounds and gives a 36-pound maximum weight recommendation. Its bullets say the arm has four adjustable joint positions, extends from 3.5 to 17 inches and rotates 720 degrees. The bracket attaches to the wall with four expansion screws, and the listing says drilling tools are required. Because of its size, it suits the small items named in the bullets rather than a laptop with a full keyboard. Its title uses the words Retractable and Drop Down, which is a close match to the search phrase but not the same wording.

View on Amazon

UDD No Tools Assembly Folding Desk, 27.5 Inch Mobile Computer Desk with Wheels

This mobile desk is listed at 27.5 inches wide, 15.8 inches deep and 29.7 inches high. Its folded size is listed as 27.5 by 2.6 by 29.7 inches. The bullets describe three height positions, four swivel casters with locks, and four leveling feet for uneven floors. The listing says it needs no tools, uses six included fasteners, and is ready to use within about five minutes. The item weight and the weight limit are not stated. The bullets also mention use as a collapsible camping picnic table, which may suit some households more than others.

View on Amazon

GarveeHome 31.5 Inch Folding Gaming Writing Computer Work Desk

This folding desk is listed at 31.5 inches deep, 15.75 inches wide and 29.53 inches high, and it weighs 18.1 pounds. Its bullets say it opens and folds in about 8 seconds and folds down to a 2.2-inch profile. It has a removable side pouch and a multi-purpose hook, and the title lists a storage bag and hook. The bullets describe a scratch-resistant particleboard top on a metal frame that holds up to 120 pounds. The specs list the material type as cardboard, which the bullets do not support, so check the listing on that point before you buy.

View on Amazon

In-depth review: HDDFER bamboo folding desk

The HDDFER listing covers more of the points in this set than any other, so it is the most useful one for a close read. The title uses Folding Desk and Hidden Desk, with a Storage Shelf and a Natural color. The bullets say the desk folds flat to 5.9 inches thick, has a footprint of 0.15 square metres, and fits behind doors, under beds or in closets when folded. The listing says it unfolds to a full-size 27.6 by 19.7-inch desktop, which it describes as larger than most compact desks. It also says the top can hold a 17-inch laptop, a monitor and a notebook, with space for a lamp.

The storage is a 9-inch deep shelf under the desktop, which the listing says fits file folders, a printer or bins. The desktop is 0.86 inches thick and the listing gives a 55-pound maximum weight recommendation. The bullets say the surface is water-resistant and scratch-proof and wipes clean. They also describe rounded corners, pre-drilled holes and anti-tip hardware. The specs list the recommended uses as dining, office, working and writing, and the storage option as a storage shelf. The bullets describe a range of uses, from a work desk to a vanity table, a dining table and a craft station, and they name the bamboo finish as suited to farmhouse, minimalist or rustic decor.

The listing does not say how the 39.37-inch depth in the specs relates to the 27.6-inch by 19.7-inch desktop in the bullets. The specs give overall product dimensions of 39.37 by 20.87 by 33.46 inches and an item weight of 26.5 pounds. A buyer who needs a particular open footprint should compare the bullet figure with the room, not only the spec figure. The specs list its mounting type as freestanding, and the bullets say anti-tip hardware is included.

Two close alternatives in this set show different trade-offs. The Semjar wall desk is much smaller and fixed to the wall, which suits a bedside or sofa corner rather than a full desk. The UDD mobile desk has casters and height positions, which suit a bed or sofa workstation, but its weight limit is not stated. Neither is a substitute for a full desk with a large top.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Measuring only the open size. The folded depth is often the number that decides whether a desk fits.
  • Skipping the anchoring and drilling notes. The Armocity listing says it must be anchored to the wall, and the Semjar listing requires drilling tools and expansion screws.
  • Assuming a weight limit where none is stated. The METALBEE, Armocity and UDD listings do not give one in their title, bullets or specs.
  • Treating one spec as fact when the bullets say otherwise. The GarveeHome specs list cardboard as the material, while the bullets describe a particleboard top.
  • Loading a fold-out or wall desk beyond its stated limit. Check the figure before you add a monitor, a printer or a stack of books.

If you are also setting up a small desk, the guide to monitor riser for a small desk covers height and cable routing, and the guide to document holder for a small desk covers page size and tilt. Both help when a folding desk is the only surface you have.

FAQ

Do these listings use the phrase fold away?

No. None of the seven product titles uses the words fold away. The listings use foldable, folding, fold-out, drop-leaf, retractable and collapsible instead. The phrase is a useful search term, but match the product by its size, folded depth and mounting details rather than by that wording.

What folded depth do the listings give?

The UDD listing gives a folded size of 2.6 inches deep. The GarveeHome bullets say the desk folds down to a 2.2-inch profile. The HDDFER bullets say it folds flat to 5.9 inches thick. The Semjar wall desk is listed at 3.8 inches high and 14.8 inches deep overall. Use the numbers as a guide, then measure the space you have before you order.

Which listings state a weight limit?

The COSTWAY listing states 88 pounds, the HDDFER listing states 55 pounds, the Semjar listing states 36 pounds, and the GarveeHome bullets state up to 120 pounds. The METALBEE, Armocity and UDD listings do not state a figure. If the limit matters for your use, treat those three as unknown until the seller confirms the number.

Do any of these desks need to be fixed to a wall?

The COSTWAY and Semjar listings describe wall mounting. The Semjar bullets say four expansion screws and a drill are needed. The Armocity bullets say it must be anchored to the wall and include anchors, although its specs list a freestanding mounting type. The HDDFER, METALBEE, UDD and GarveeHome listings describe freestanding desks in the specs and bullets.

How long does assembly take?

The HDDFER bullets say no-tools assembly takes under 15 minutes, and the UDD bullets say it is ready for use within about five minutes after six fasteners are tightened. The COSTWAY and METALBEE listings say detailed instructions and hardware are included, but they do not give a time. The Armocity listing says anchors are included, but it does not give an assembly time.

Which one should I choose for a mobile setup?

The UDD listing is the only one in this set that describes casters, with four swivel wheels that lock and four leveling feet for uneven floors. Its weight is not stated, so check that before you move it with equipment on top. The METALBEE bullets describe a lightweight desk that is easy to move, but they do not give a weight figure.

Bottom line

Pick by the space first. If you can fix a desk to a wall and have a drill, the COSTWAY or Semjar designs fold out of the way when not needed. If you need a freestanding desk that you can move, check the UDD and GarveeHome listings, and confirm the weight limit against what you plan to place on the surface. For a bamboo desk with a shelf and a larger open top, the HDDFER listing gives the most figures to compare.

How we research our guides