As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- Quick answer
- How to measure a narrow spot for a tall dresser
- Sizes at a glance
- Drawers, materials and construction
- Charging stations and extras
- Stability and anti-tip safety
- Assembly and setup
- Mistakes to avoid when buying a tall narrow dresser
- Roundup: four tall narrow dressers
- Review: the black oak Furnulem dresser in depth
- FAQ
- Bottom line
A tall narrow dresser is a chest of drawers with a slim footprint and a height well above a standard nightstand, so it fits beside a bed, in a hallway or in a gap by a wall. In this guide we compare four dresser listings from the product details we hold, covering widths from about 10 to 16 inches, heights from 32 to 43 inches, drawer types, charging ports and the anti-tip parts each listing includes. Check the listed size against your wall before you order, because the listings do not all give their dimensions in the same way.
Quick answer
- For the narrowest footprint, the Tohomeor narrow dresser lists 9.84 inches wide and 18.9 inches deep, with 4 drawers and a height of 34.4 inches.
- For the most drawer height, the two Furnulem 5-drawer dressers list 43.3 inches high and 16.1 inches wide, in black oak or rustic brown.
- For a charging station on top, the Furnulem brown dresser lists 2 USB ports and 2 AC outlets, and the Tohomeor lists 2 AC outlets and 2 USB ports too.
- For an anti-tip safeguard, the Tohomeor includes an anti-tip accessory and the two Furnulem listings describe an anti-toppling device.
How to measure a narrow spot for a tall dresser
Start with the width of the space, but measure the depth and the door opening too. A dresser can be narrow enough to fit a gap and still be too deep to walk past comfortably. The four listings here run from 11.5 to 18.9 inches deep, so compare that figure with the walkway in front of the spot you have in mind.
Next, measure the height of the wall, and leave room for the drawers to open. The two Furnulem dressers are 43.3 inches tall, which is taller than most nightstands and close to the height of a standard chest of drawers. The Tohomeor is 34.4 inches tall, and the ZYBT listing is 32 inches tall in its spec table, so those two are lower and easier to fit under a window or beside a bed with a high headboard.
Finally, measure the doorway if the dresser has to come through a narrow opening. The Furnulem black dresser lists a minimum required door width of 11.7 inches, which is useful if you need to carry the unit through a tight hallway. The other listings do not give that figure, so measure the path yourself before you buy.
Sizes at a glance
The table below puts the comparable values side by side. Where a listing does not state a value, the table says so.
| Listing | Depth | Width | Height | Drawers | Listed item weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tohomeor narrow dresser, white | 18.9 in | 9.84 in | 34.4 in | 4 | 12.1 pounds |
| ZYBT fluted dresser side table, black | 11.8 in | 11.8 in (spec table) or 31.5 in (bullets) | 32 in (spec table) or 31.7 in (bullets) | Not stated | 10.59 kg |
| Furnulem black oak dresser, 5 drawers | 11.5 in | 16.1 in | 43.3 in | 5 | 17 pounds |
| Furnulem rustic brown dresser, 5 drawers | 11.5 in | 16.1 in | 43.3 in | 5 | 17.3 pounds |
The ZYBT row shows a conflict in the listing. Its spec table gives 11.8 by 11.8 by 32 inches, while its bullets give 31.5 inches long, 31.7 inches high and 11.8 inches deep. The bullets describe a console-style piece, so check the live product page before you plan a width around that listing.
Drawers, materials and construction
The four listings use different drawer and frame types, and the difference matters for daily use. The Tohomeor is built on an iron frame with a waterproof particle board top, and its spec table lists the material as engineered wood. It has 2 shelves, and the spec table lists a floor mount. Its drawers are described in the spec table as four drawers, and the bullets describe a non-woven synthetic fabric. Those details suggest a closed-front look with a lighter feel than solid wood.
The two Furnulem 5-drawer dressers use a steel frame with fabric drawers. The bullets describe the drawers as PVC fabric, lightweight and durable, and they say the drawers will not pinch fingers. The black oak listing describes a wood top that is solid and wear-resistant, and the brown listing describes a headboard and a wooden shelf made of FSC-certified wood. Fabric drawers are easy to pull out and push back, but they do not give the same stiff glide as a metal drawer, so pick them for clothes and small items rather than heavy tools.
The ZYBT listing describes an MDF build with a wood-frame base and an engineered wood top. Its bullets describe a clean look with clear assembly steps, and they say the piece has a 30-pound maximum weight recommendation in the spec table. Confirm the load on the live page before you place a heavy item on top.
Charging stations and extras
Two of the four listings include charging ports. The Tohomeor listing describes 2 integrated AC outlets and 2 USB ports, and it says you can charge a lamp, phone, tablet and game console at the same time. The Furnulem brown listing describes 2 USB ports and 2 AC outlets, and it says the charging station can be mounted on the front, the back or not at all. Those ports are a useful feature in a bedroom where the phone and lamp share one corner, but check the cord length and the outlet position on the product page before you commit.
The Furnulem black listing does not describe a charging station. It describes a double-layer shelf that can hold vases, photo frames, lamps and books, and it says the top is wear-resistant. The ZYBT listing describes a top used for a vanity or a console table, with drawers and storage, but it does not describe charging ports.
Stability and anti-tip safety
A tall narrow dresser needs a safety check. Each listing here describes a stability feature in a different way, so read the parts list carefully. The Tohomeor says it includes four metal feet with height-adjustable pads and an anti-tip accessory, which is a useful set for an uneven floor. The Furnulem listings both describe an anti-toppling device, and the brown model also lists four adjustable feet. The ZYBT listing does not state an anti-tip part, so use a wall anchor if you plan to place it in a high-traffic spot or near children.
Anchor any tall dresser to the wall when the listing includes an anti-tip kit, and follow the instructions in the box. Do not stack heavy items on the top shelf, and keep the heaviest items in the lowest drawers. These steps apply to every dresser here, because the listings do not claim a tip-proof design.
Assembly and setup
All four listings describe an assembly job you can do at home. The Tohomeor says the hardware and detailed instructions are included, and the spec table lists a floor mount. The Furnulem listings say the package includes all tools and accessories, and the black listing says you can install it in about 20 minutes. The brown listing says assembly uses tools included in the package. The ZYBT listing says the job takes about 30 minutes, with illustrations for each part.
Plan for two people if the dresser is heavy once assembled. The ZYBT spec table lists one person for assembly, while the other listings do not give a headcount in the lines shown here, so check the live page or ask the seller before you assemble one alone.
Mistakes to avoid when buying a tall narrow dresser
- Measuring only the width. Depth and walkway space decide whether a narrow dresser fits in practice, and the four listings range from about 11.5 to 18.9 inches deep.
- Trusting one number in a listing. The ZYBT listing gives two different sets of size figures, so confirm the size before you order.
- Confusing a listed weight with a weight limit. The Furnulem brown spec table lists 17.3 pounds under maximum weight recommendation, which is the unit weight, so confirm the actual load capacity with the seller.
- Skipping the anti-tip step. The Tohomeor and Furnulem listings include anti-tip parts, but the ZYBT listing does not state one.
- Expecting a charging station on every model. Only the Tohomeor and the Furnulem brown listing describe one.
Roundup: four tall narrow dressers
Each block below uses only the facts from that listing. Pick the model that matches your space and your drawer needs, then open the link to check the live product page.
Tohomeor Narrow Dresser Tall Skinny Storage Tower, White, 4 Drawers
This is the slimmest listing in the roundup, at 9.84 inches wide and 18.9 inches deep, and it stands 34.4 inches tall. The spec table lists 4 drawers, 2 shelves and an item weight of 12.1 pounds. The bullets describe 2 AC outlets and 2 USB ports for charging, four metal feet with adjustable pads, and an anti-tip accessory in the box. Pick it for a gap beside a fridge, a washer or a bed where the width is the main limit.
ZYBT Fluted Dresser Side Table, Black, Narrow Console for Entryway
This black fluted piece is listed as a dresser side table and a console table, and its title also names an entry table and a vanity desk. The spec table gives a depth and width of 11.8 inches and a height of 32 inches, while the bullets give a length of 31.5 inches, a height of 31.7 inches and a depth of 11.8 inches. The bullets describe evenly spaced vertical grooves on the drawer fronts and a MDF build. Pick it for a narrow hallway or entryway where you want a short piece with a texture, after you confirm the size on the page.
Furnulem 5 Drawers Dresser, Black Oak, Tall Nightstand for Bedroom
This black oak dresser is 11.5 inches deep, 16.1 inches wide and 43.3 inches tall, with five fabric drawers and two shelves. The listing gives an item weight of 17 pounds and a minimum required door width of 11.7 inches. The bullets describe a sturdy steel frame, a reinforced X-type back crossbar and an anti-toppling device. Pick it when you want the tallest drawer stack in the roundup for clothes, socks and blankets, and when the doorway is narrow enough to need the door width figure.
Furnulem 5 Drawers Dresser with Charging Station, Rustic Brown
This rustic brown dresser shares the same 11.5 by 16.1 by 43.3 inch frame as the black oak version. Its bullets add 2 USB ports and 2 AC outlets, a 2-tier open shelf and a choice of mounting the charging station on the front, the back or not at all. The spec table lists the frame as FSC-certified wood and the item weight as 17.3 pounds. Pick it for a bedroom or living room where the phone and lamp need a power point in the same corner.
Review: the black oak Furnulem dresser in depth
The black oak Furnulem dresser is the most detailed listing in this roundup, so it works well as a close look at what a tall narrow dresser should show you. The title names a black dresser for the bedroom, a fabric dorm use and a tall nightstand function. The spec table lists 5 drawers, a black oak color, a rustic finish and a model number that ends in black oak.
The design bullet describes a modern, concise style, and it says the piece can serve as a storage dresser in a bedroom, a side table in a living room, or a closet and nursery storage unit. The listing says it suits any room, but that is a use note, not a measured fact. Its dimensions are 11.5 inches deep, 16.1 inches wide and 43.3 inches tall, and those match the spec table exactly.
The top bullet describes a double-layer shelf with a wood top. The listing says the top is solid and wear-resistant, and it says the shelf can hold vases, photo frames, lamps, glasses, alarm clocks, books and chargers. The spec table lists 2 shelves, so the two-level top is the shelf count the listing gives.
The drawer bullet describes foldable fabric drawers made of PVC fabric, which the listing says are lightweight and durable. It says the drawers will not pinch hands and are safe for a child to use. The bullet also lists the sort of items the drawers suit, including clothes, toys, socks, scarves and blankets. Those are the uses the listing names.
The structure bullet describes a sturdy metal frame, a reinforced X-type crossbar at the back and an anti-toppling device. It says the piece weighs 17 pounds, which is light enough to move, and it describes the stability as fully guaranteed. Be careful with that last phrase, because it is the seller’s claim and not a test result. The spec table lists an item weight of 17 pounds, so the weight figure is consistent across the listing.
The assembly bullet says the package includes all tools and accessories, and it says you can install the dresser in about 20 minutes with the instructions. The listing calls it a good gift for a housewarming, which is a use note. The spec table lists a minimum required door width of 11.7 inches, so measure your door before you order.
Two close alternatives from the same pack suit a similar space. The Tohomeor is much narrower, at 9.84 inches wide, and it has 4 drawers and a charging station. The brown Furnulem has the same frame size as the black oak model, but it adds the charging station. Pick the black oak model for drawer count and color, and pick one of the alternatives for width or power.
Review specs at a glance
| Spec from the listing | Value |
|---|---|
| Product dimensions | 11.5 in deep, 16.1 in wide, 43.3 in high |
| Number of drawers | 5 |
| Number of shelves | 2 |
| Color | Black oak |
| Item weight | 17 pounds |
| Minimum required door width | 11.7 inches |
| Material | Desktop made of FSC-certified wood |
| Brand | Furnulem |
FAQ
How narrow is a tall narrow dresser?
The Tohomeor is the narrowest listing at 9.84 inches wide. The Furnulem dressers are 16.1 inches wide, and the ZYBT listing gives 11.8 inches in its spec table. The narrowest models suit a gap, while the Furnulem models give more drawer width.
Can a tall narrow dresser be used as a nightstand?
Some listings describe that use. The Furnulem black oak listing says it can serve as a tall nightstand or a side table, and the brown Furnulem listing says the same. The Tohomeor describes a narrow side table use. Check the height against your bed before you rely on it as a nightstand.
Do these dressers have anti-tip parts?
The Tohomeor includes an anti-tip accessory, and both Furnulem listings describe an anti-toppling device. The ZYBT listing does not state one. For any tall dresser, anchor it to the wall when the listing includes a kit, and keep the heaviest items low.
Which dresser has a charging station?
The Tohomeor and the brown Furnulem listing both describe charging ports. The Tohomeor lists 2 AC outlets and 2 USB ports, and the brown Furnulem lists 2 USB ports and 2 AC outlets. The black oak Furnulem does not describe a charging station.
How much weight can a narrow dresser hold?
The listings do not agree on this point. The ZYBT spec table gives a maximum weight recommendation of 30 pounds, and the brown Furnulem spec table lists 17.3 pounds under the same heading, which matches the unit weight. Ask the seller for the real load capacity before you place heavy items on the top or in the drawers.
Is a fabric drawer as sturdy as a wood drawer?
The Furnulem listings use fabric drawers on a steel frame, and the listings say they are lightweight and durable. Fabric drawers suit clothes and soft items. The Tohomeor listing describes a non-woven fabric as well. If you need a drawer for heavy tools, look for a model with a solid wood drawer front, which none of these listings describes.
Bottom line
Measure the width and depth first. If the gap is under 10 inches, the Tohomeor is the only listing in this roundup that fits. If you need more drawer space and a 43-inch height, choose one of the Furnulem dressers, then pick the black oak finish for a bedroom or the brown finish if you want a charging station in the same spot.
For more on dressers that fit a tight room, see our tall dresser for a small room guide. If your space is a hallway, the narrow dresser for a hallway bedroom guide covers depth and walkway clearance. For a black finish, our tall black dresser comparison lists three narrow towers.