As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- Quick answer
- How to choose a wood kitchen table
- Size, seating and design
- Materials and finish
- Assembly and set-up
- Who each option suits
- Roundup: five wood kitchen table listings
- Comparison table
- Review: DONGMUWUJEE Solid Wood Small Dining Table in depth
- Mistakes to avoid
- FAQ
- Bottom line
- Related guides
A wood kitchen table is a dining or prep table with a solid wood or wood-topped surface, and it suits a small kitchen, breakfast nook or apartment. This guide compares five wood kitchen table listings from our product pack. It uses only the facts those listings state: size, seating, wood type, weight limit, expandable or folding design and assembly. Where a listing does not state a value, the table shows “not stated.” One listing is a wood-topped kitchen cart and one is a wall-mounted folding table, and both are included as close alternatives.
Quick answer
- For a table that grows for guests, the DONGMUWUJEE listing describes a 23.6 by 31.5 inch rubberwood table that extends to 47.2 inches and seats up to six.
- For a round table for two to four people, the OGMILL listing gives a 28.3 inch round top and a 200-pound weight limit.
- For a larger solid oak rectangle, the Soulitem listing states a 500-pound load capacity and rounded corners.
- For a space-saving option on a wall, the MM MELISEN listing describes a solid wood folding table that folds to 3.1 inches thick.
How to choose a wood kitchen table
Start with how many people you need to seat and how much floor space the table can take. A table for two in a small kitchen needs a footprint that leaves room to pull out a chair. A table for four or six needs a longer surface, or a design that extends. The listings in this guide range from a folding wall table to a six-seat expandable table, so the seating and footprint differ a lot.
Next, look at the wood. Some listings say solid wood, some say rubberwood, and some describe oak. A listing that says solid wood is not the same as one that says wood top on a metal frame, so read the material line before you buy. The table below shows what each listing states about its wood.
Finally, check the weight limit and the assembly. The listed weight limits run from 200 pounds on the round OGMILL to 500 pounds on the Soulitem, and the DONGMUWUJEE lists 350 pounds. Assembly ranges from about 10 minutes to about 15 minutes in the listings, and some need two people.
Size, seating and design
The DONGMUWUJEE listing is the most flexible in this set. Its tabletop measures 23.6 inches by 31.5 inches when closed and extends to 47.2 inches by 31.5 inches, which the listing says makes the usable area double. It seats up to six when extended and two when closed. The listing says the dining chairs are not included, so you will need to buy seating separately. It also has a concealed storage compartment under the top.
The OGMILL listing is a round table with a 28.3 inch diameter. It states seating for two to four people, and the spec sheet lists seating capacity as four. Its base is four legs, and the listing says it supports up to 200 pounds of evenly distributed weight. Round tables suit a narrow kitchen because they have no corners to catch a hip or a chair.
The Soulitem listing is a rectangular oak table that measures 31.5 inches by 25 inches and stands 29 inches high. Its listing describes rounded corners and a 500-pound load capacity, and it states seating for four. The corners are a safety feature for a busy kitchen with children.
The MM MELISEN wall-mounted folding table is a different kind of table. It measures 23.6 inches deep by 15.7 inches wide when open, and folds flat to 3.1 inches thick. Its listing states a 300-pound maximum weight and names kitchens, laundry rooms and home offices as uses. It is not a full dining table, so it suits a kitchen prep or breakfast shelf rather than a full family meal.
Materials and finish
The DONGMUWUJEE listing describes FAS-grade rubberwood, a walnut colour and a reinforced base with legs about 1.57 inches thick. The OGMILL listing describes a rubber wood top with a natural finish and says the wood retains its natural grain. The Soulitem listing describes oak with a smooth coating that the listing says wipes clean. The MM MELISEN wall table lists cherry wood in the frame and a light wood top in the specs. The FIOCNOLE cart pairs a rustic wood top with a black metal frame and a metal mesh basket.
For cleaning, the Soulitem listing says a damp rag removes oil and food residue, and the listing describes a smooth coating. The OGMILL listing says the surface is smooth and easy to clean. The DONGMUWUJEE and MM MELISEN listings do not state a cleaning method in the pack.
Assembly and set-up
Assembly differs a lot across the set. The DONGMUWUJEE listing says assembly takes about 15 minutes and can be done by one person, with the four legs attached to the top. The OGMILL listing says it installs in less than 10 minutes by following the manual, although its spec sheet recommends two people. The Soulitem listing says about 10 minutes with graphic instructions, and it includes the tools. The MM MELISEN wall table includes its mounting hardware and a screwdriver is the recommended tool, and the FIOCNOLE cart needs its frame and top connected.
For a wall-mounted table, check the listing for mounting details before you buy. The MM MELISEN listing is described in the pack as folding and space-saving, and the other listings do not describe wall mounting. Keep the wall table in mind if your kitchen has a narrow wall and no room for a free-standing table.
Who each option suits
A household that hosts guests or needs a bigger table on some days will suit the DONGMUWUJEE. It is a small table most of the time and seats six when extended. Its storage compartment under the top is useful for tableware or office supplies, according to the listing.
A couple or a single person with a small kitchen will suit the OGMILL. Its round shape and 28.3-inch top give a compact footprint, and its listing describes it as usable as a coffee table or a dining table.
A family that wants a sturdy oak table with rounded corners will suit the Soulitem. Its 500-pound load capacity is the highest stated in the set, and it seats four.
A small kitchen that needs a fold-away prep surface or a breakfast counter will suit the MM MELISEN wall table. It folds flat, which saves floor space. The FIOCNOLE cart suits a kitchen that needs movable counter space and a basket for storage. Its listing states a 50-pound weight limit and four smooth-rolling casters with lockable wheels.
Roundup: five wood kitchen table listings
Solid Wood Small Dining Table for 2-6, Expandable Kitchen Table
This listing describes a rubberwood table that is 23.6 inches long and 31.5 inches wide closed, and expands to 47.2 inches. It states seating for two when closed and up to six when extended, a 350-pound weight limit and a walnut finish. The listing includes a concealed storage compartment under the top and describes assembly as about 15 minutes for one person. The dining chairs are not included.
28.3 Inch Small Round Dining Table for 2, Wooden Kitchen Dinner Table
This listing describes a round rubber wood table with a 28.3 inch top and a mid-century modern style. It states a 200-pound weight limit and seating for two to four people. The base is four straight legs with non-slip pads. The listing says installation takes less than 10 minutes by following the manual, while the spec sheet recommends two people for assembly. The top is described as natural in colour.
31.5 Inch Solid Wood Dining Room Table, Rectangular Kitchen Real Wooden Table
This listing describes a rectangular oak table that measures 31.5 inches by 25 inches and stands 29 inches high. It states seating for four and a 500-pound load capacity. The corners are rounded, and the listing says the oak top has a smooth coating that wipes clean. Assembly is listed as about 10 minutes with graphic instructions, and the tools are included.
MM MELISEN Solid Wood Wall-Mounted Folding Table
This listing describes a solid wood table that mounts on a wall and folds flat to 3.1 inches. It measures 23.6 inches deep by 15.7 inches wide when open, and states a 300-pound maximum weight. The listing names kitchens, laundry rooms and home offices as uses, and describes a natural wood finish. It is a prep or breakfast surface, not a full dining table, so choose it only if floor space is the main limit.
FIOCNOLE Industrial Kitchen Cart with Rustic Wood Top (close alternative)
This listing describes a rolling kitchen cart with a rustic wood top, a black metal frame and a metal mesh basket on the lower shelf. It measures 23.6 inches wide, 12.2 inches deep and 33.1 inches high, and the listing states a 50-pound weight limit. It has four casters, and the wheels can be locked. The cart is a prep and serving surface rather than a dining table, so include it only if you need movable counter space.
Comparison table
| Listing | Wood | Size (listing) | Seats | Weight limit | Assembly |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DONGMUWUJEE Expandable Table | Rubberwood | 31.5 D x 47.2 W x 29.5 H in (extended) | 2 closed, up to 6 extended | 350 lb | About 15 min, one person |
| OGMILL Round Dining Table | Rubber wood | 27.5 x 27.5 x 28.7 in | 2 to 4 | 200 lb | Under 10 min per listing |
| Soulitem Oak Dining Table | Oak | 31.5 L x 25 W x 29 H in | 4 | 500 lb load | About 10 min |
| MM MELISEN Wall Folding Table | Solid wood | 23.6 D x 15.7 W in (open) | Not stated | 300 lb | Hardware included |
| FIOCNOLE Kitchen Cart | Wood top, metal frame | 23.6 W x 12.2 D x 33.1 H in | Not applicable | 50 lb | Simple assembly |
Review: DONGMUWUJEE Solid Wood Small Dining Table in depth
The DONGMUWUJEE listing is the most detailed wood table in this set, so it is the one to check against a kitchen plan. The closed top is 31.5 inches deep and 23.6 inches wide, and the listing says it expands to 47.2 inches long, which doubles the usable surface. The spec sheet gives a product size of 31.5 inches deep, 47.2 inches wide and 29.5 inches high when extended, and an item weight of 52 pounds.
The listing describes FAS-grade rubberwood with a walnut colour and a base of four legs. The legs are described as about 1.57 inches thick and angled outward for stability. The table has a 350-pound maximum weight recommendation. The listing says it works as a dinner table for a kitchen, a coffee table for a living room, or a desk for a home office or study.
A concealed storage compartment sits beneath the tabletop. The listing says it holds tableware, books and office supplies, which helps in a compact home. The listing says assembly takes about 15 minutes for one person and requires a hammer and screwdriver. The dining chairs are not included, and the listing says the chairs in the pictures are for display only.
Two close alternatives are worth comparing. The OGMILL round table is a better choice for a narrow kitchen because it has no corners and a 28.3-inch top, but it seats fewer people. The Soulitem oak table has a 500-pound load capacity and rounded corners, which suits a family with children. Choose the DONGMUWUJEE when you need to seat six on some days and a smaller table on others.
Mistakes to avoid
Do not assume a table seats the number of people you want without checking. The DONGMUWUJEE listing gives two seats closed and six extended, and the OGMILL lists two to four. Check the seating line before you buy.
Do not expect a wall-mounted table to seat a family. The MM MELISEN listing describes a prep and folding surface, and it folds to a 3.1-inch profile. It is not the table for a full meal.
Do not buy chairs in the wrong size. The DONGMUWUJEE listing says dining chairs are not included, so measure the table height and chair height before you buy seating.
Check the assembly note on the round table. The OGMILL listing says installation takes less than 10 minutes, while its spec sheet recommends two people. Plan for a second person if you can.
FAQ
What counts as a wood kitchen table in these listings?
The listings describe rubberwood, solid wood, oak and a wood top on a metal frame. The DONGMUWUJEE, OGMILL and Soulitem are solid wood tables. The FIOCNOLE is a wood top on a metal cart.
How many people can these tables seat?
The DONGMUWUJEE seats two closed and up to six extended. The OGMILL seats two to four, and the Soulitem seats four. The MM MELISEN wall table does not state a seating capacity in the pack.
Does a wood kitchen table need assembly?
Yes for most listings. The DONGMUWUJEE takes about 15 minutes for one person. The Soulitem takes about 10 minutes with the tools included. The OGMILL states less than 10 minutes, with two people recommended on the spec sheet. The MM MELISEN includes its hardware.
What is the weight limit?
The OGMILL states 200 pounds, the DONGMUWUJEE states 350 pounds, the MM MELISEN states 300 pounds, and the FIOCNOLE cart states 50 pounds. The Soulitem states a 500-pound load capacity.
Can I use one of these in a small apartment?
The OGMILL round table and the DONGMUWUJEE closed table have small footprints. The MM MELISEN wall table folds flat for storage. Measure your room, including chair clearance, before you choose.
How do I clean a wood kitchen table?
The Soulitem listing says a damp rag removes oil stains and food residue from its coated oak top. The OGMILL listing says its surface is easy to clean. The other listings do not state a cleaning method in the pack.
Bottom line
If you need seating for more than four on some days, choose the DONGMUWUJEE. If you need a compact round table for two to four, the OGMILL is the match. If you want a sturdy oak rectangle with rounded corners, choose the Soulitem. Use the MM MELISEN wall table only as a prep or breakfast surface when floor space is the main limit.
Related guides
If you are short on wall space, read Wall-Side Fold-Out Kitchen Table: Leaf Size, Seating and Wall Position. For a narrow room, the Oval Dining Table for a Narrow Kitchen guide covers clearance. For an oak option, see Oak Kitchen Table for Small Kitchens: Sizes and Picks.