As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links marked “Affiliate link” may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more.

For a serving cart, match the weight limit and wheels to your load. Most of the research set is metal utility carts with load ratings in the hundreds of pounds, while the one bar cart lists a per-tier rating, which is a different measure. A serving cart moves food and drinks from one room to another. In listings, the phrase covers everything from wire utility carts to wood bar carts. We checked five listings from our research set on 8 October 2026 and report the size, tier count, weight limit and wheels for each. We have not loaded or moved any of these carts, so check the weight limit and footprint against your own use before you buy.

Quick compare: the products in this guide

Sizes come from the Amazon listings as we read them; check the product page for the current details before you buy.

ProductListed detailsLink
ThreeHio 3-tier cartTiers: 3; 15.5 x 25.5 x 31.1 inSee details on Amazon Affiliate link
WDT 3-tier cartTiers: 3; 35.63 x 18.1 x 33.93 inSee details on Amazon Affiliate link
NTE 3-tier cartTiers: 3; 30.3 x 18.1 x 32.6 inSee details on Amazon Affiliate link

Quick answer. For a heavy load, such as a stack of plates or a crate, the WDT and NTE 3-tier metal carts both list a 990 lb total capacity. For a lighter cart with a glass holder, the YATINEY bar cart lists 33 lb per tier and a holder for 6 goblets. For a clean metal look, the VEVOR stainless cart lists 220.5 lb. The ThreeHio wire cart has the lowest total capacity of the metal carts here, at 198 lb.

Comparison table

ListingTiersListed size (D x W x H)Listed weightListed capacityFrame and surface
ThreeHio 3-tier cart315.5 x 25.5 x 31.1 in13.8 lb66 lb per tier, 198 lb totalBlack iron and wire mesh
WDT 3-tier cart335.63 x 18.1 x 33.93 in26 lb990 lb listedGray metal, adjustable shelves
NTE 3-tier cart330.3 x 18.1 x 32.6 in25.1 lb990 lb totalSilver electroplated metal
VEVOR stainless 3-tier cart316.14 x 24.2 x 34.25 in15 lb220.5 lbStainless steel
YATINEY bar cart311.4 x 15.3 x 32.7 inNot stated33 lb per tierParticleboard and metal, gold frame

Arithmetic check: the ThreeHio bullets say each tier holds 66 lb and the total is 198 lb. Three tiers at 66 lb is 198 lb, so the two figures agree. The YATINEY 33 lb figure is per tier, so its total is not stated.

1. ThreeHio 3-tier wire cart

Pros

  • Each tier holds 66 lb, and the listed total is 198 lb. Our check agrees.
  • Four 360-degree casters, two with locks.
  • An open wire design that the listing says gives air circulation and easy visibility.

Cons

  • The 198 lb total is the lowest of the metal carts in this set.
  • The listing does not give a mesh size, so small items may fall through the gaps.
  • The listing names kitchen, laundry, office and garage uses. It does not describe a dining-room finish.

Who should skip it: anyone who needs a cart for a dining room or who wants a smooth, closed surface.

2. WDT 3-tier heavy-duty cart

Pros

  • A listed capacity of 990 lb, with 1-inch diameter poles.
  • Shelves adjust in 1-inch steps, per the listing. A ventilated basket and six hooks are included.
  • Two fixed-lock casters for stability. The listing says it assembles in about 15 minutes with no tools.

Cons

  • The footprint is long at 35.63 inches deep. Check the path before you move it.
  • The specs say “Number of Items: 3″, which looks like a data error. Confirm what is in the box.
  • At 26 lb, the cart is light for a 990 lb rating. Check the frame before you load it heavily.

Who should skip it: anyone with a narrow hallway or a tight dining room.

3. NTE 3-tier heavy-duty cart

Pros

  • A listed 990 lb total capacity, with 1-inch diameter poles.
  • An electroplated silver finish that the listing says resists rust.
  • Three shelf liners and six S-hooks. The shelves adjust in 1-inch steps or can be removed.

Cons

  • The specs spell the color “Sliver”. This is a listing typo; the finish is silver.
  • The depth is 30.3 inches without the handle and 35.3 inches with it. Measure the path with the handle in mind.
  • The listing describes restaurant and tool use as well as kitchen use. The frame reads as industrial.

Who should skip it: anyone who wants a quiet, decorative cart for a living room.

4. VEVOR stainless steel 3-tier cart

Pros

  • A stainless steel frame and shelves, which the listing says are easy to clean.
  • A listed capacity of 220.5 lb, with reinforced joints.
  • Four PU swivel casters, two locking. The listing says the wheels are silent on any surface.

Cons

  • The title says “Medical Serving Trolley Clinic Tray”, and the bullets mention clinics and labs. The listing is positioned for clinical use.
  • The shelves are spaced for medical and lab equipment. Check the shelf height against your items.
  • The listing does not state a per-shelf limit.

Who should skip it: anyone who wants a cart for drinks or decor, since the listing is clinical in style.

5. YATINEY 3-tier bar cart

Pros

  • A glass holder for 6 goblets, per the listing, and shelves for bar items. The bullets name wine coolers, bottle openers and wine glasses.
  • Four swivel casters, two with brakes, and a fence on each tier.
  • The listing gives 33 lb per tier, which is a per-tier figure.

Cons

  • The shelves are particleboard with a metal frame. In our view, the surface may not hold up to heavy items or wet spills.
  • The listing does not state a total weight limit or the weight of the cart.
  • At 15.3 inches wide and 11.4 inches deep, it suits a tight space but gives less surface than the wider metal carts.

Who should skip it: anyone who needs a heavy-duty cart for kitchen prep, or a cart that handles wet spills.

How to choose a serving cart

A 198 lb total and a 33 lb per-tier rating are not the same kind of number.

Check the total and the tier. Some listings give a per-tier figure and some give a total. Check which one the listing states before you compare.

Match the finish to the room. In our view, wire and stainless carts suit kitchens and utility rooms, and the particleboard bar cart suits a dining or living room better.

Measure the path. The WDT and NTE carts are about 35 inches deep with the handle. Check doorways and hallways.

You may not need a dedicated cart. If you only carry light loads between two rooms, a tray or a bar cart you already own may do the job.

Worked example: a 40 lb tier

Say one tier will carry a 40 lb load, such as a stand mixer and some dishes (our assumption).

  • ThreeHio (66 lb per tier, 198 lb total): 66 − 40 = 26 lb of margin, and 66 × 3 = 198 lb matches its total.
  • VEVOR stainless (220.5 lb total): 220.5 ÷ 3 = 73.5 lb per tier if the load is shared evenly, so 73.5 − 40 = 33.5 lb of margin. The listing does not say the load is per tier.
  • YATINEY (33 lb per tier): 40 − 33 = 7 lb over, and 33 × 3 = 99 lb in total.
  • WDT and NTE (990 lb listed): the figure is far above the others, so treat it as unconfirmed.

Why 990 lb needs a question

The WDT weighs 26 lb and the NTE 25.1 lb, yet both list 990 lb. A load rating about 38 times the weight of the cart itself (990 ÷ 26 = 38.1) is possible for a frame designed for it, but the listing does not say whether the figure is static, per shelf or for the cart as a whole. Ask the seller for the rating per shelf in writing. Until then, plan around the ThreeHio’s 66 lb per tier, which is the clearest figure in the group.

Frequently asked questions

Which serving cart is the strongest?

The WDT and NTE listings state 990 lb total. The VEVOR stainless cart states 220.5 lb. The ThreeHio cart states 198 lb total. The YATINEY rating is per tier, so it cannot be compared directly.

Can a bar cart be a serving cart?

Yes. The YATINEY listing is a bar cart with a glass holder and a fence on each tier. Its weight rating is per tier, so check it against your load.

Do these carts have locking wheels?

Yes. All five listings state at least two locking casters or brakes.

Where to go next

For a walnut-finish option, see walnut wine cabinet. For a corner station, see l shaped bar cart.

Products worth checking

We have not tested these products. Sizes and features come from the Amazon listings as we read them; where a listing does not say, we say so.

ThreeHio 3-tier cart

Tiers: 3; Listed size (D x W x H): 15.5 x 25.5 x 31.1 in

The listing gives Tiers: 3; Listed size (D x W x H): 15.5 x 25.5 x 31.1 in.

See details on Amazon Affiliate link

WDT 3-tier cart

Tiers: 3; Listed size (D x W x H): 35.63 x 18.1 x 33.93 in

The listing gives Tiers: 3; Listed size (D x W x H): 35.63 x 18.1 x 33.93 in.

See details on Amazon Affiliate link

NTE 3-tier cart

Tiers: 3; Listed size (D x W x H): 30.3 x 18.1 x 32.6 in

The listing gives Tiers: 3; Listed size (D x W x H): 30.3 x 18.1 x 32.6 in.

See details on Amazon Affiliate link

Sources checked

Specifications come from the Amazon listings as we read them for this guide. Product details and availability can change, so confirm on the product page before you buy.

How we research our guides