As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links marked “Affiliate link” may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more.
- Quick answer
- Quick compare: the products in this guide
- Three listings, side by side
- How many seats do these tables really give?
- A sizing example: a 12 by 14 foot dining room
- Table strength: the 100 pound problem
- Extension mechanisms
- Chairs: the other half of a set
- Materials and care
- Which one for which family
- How to choose
- Frequently asked questions
- Products worth checking
- Sources checked
- Related guides
Quick answer
For eight people at a rectangular table you need about 72 inches of length on the long sides plus a place at each end, if you allow 24 inches per diner, a good rule of thumb. A table under about 72 inches seats six comfortably and eight tightly. The three farmhouse options we read on Amazon on 2026-10-02 show how different “for 8″ can be: a 79 inch table with six chairs, an extendable table that opens from 62.99 to 94.5 inches with eight velvet chairs, and an Ashley farmhouse extension table that “fits up to 8″ and is sold with two chairs. We have not tested any of them. Every figure comes from the listings, and where a listing contradicts itself or is silent we say so.
Quick compare: the products in this guide
Sizes come from the Amazon listings as we read them; check the product page for the current details before you buy.
| Product | Listed details | Link |
|---|---|---|
| 79 Inch 7-Piece Dining Room Set With 6 Gray Boucle Chairs And Natural Table | 79 in table; table load 100 lb | See details on Amazon Affiliate link |
| Extendable Dining Table Set of 8, Rustic Farmhouse Kitchen Dining Table & 8… | 62.99 to 94.5 in; 8 chairs | See details on Amazon Affiliate link |
| Signature Design by Ashley Valebeck Farmhouse Rectangular Extension Dining… | fits up to 8; chairs in a 2-count | See details on Amazon Affiliate link |
Two problems recur in set listings: the number of chairs in the box is not the number of seats on the title, and the table’s own load limit may be low.
Three listings, side by side
| Listing | Table | Chairs included | Table load stated | Weight | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 79 Inch 7-Piece Dining Room Set With 6 Gray Boucle Chairs And Natural Table | 79 in wide top | 6; seat 20 in wide, back 18 in high; each chair 220 lb | 100 lb | 225 lb (set) | View on Amazon |
| Extendable Dining Table Set of 8, Rustic Farmhouse, 63″-94.5″ | 62.99 in to 94.5 in, butterfly extension | 8 blue velvet chairs | not stated | not stated | View on Amazon |
| Signature Design by Ashley Valebeck Farmhouse Extension Table, Fits up to 8, with 2 chairs | extension table; open size not stated | 2 (Dining Chair, 2 Count) | not stated | not stated | View on Amazon |
Contradictions and gaps to know about. The first listing was returned in search as an “86 Inch 9-Piece Sand Wash Dining Table Set with 8 Cane Back Chairs,” but its page title and bullets describe a 79 inch 7-piece set with six boucle chairs; we use the page. Its bullets say the table supports a weight limit of 100 pounds, which is very low for a table of that size; its size row of 36.6 by 21.3 by 27.6 inches looks like a chair or a package, and an “Item Depth 60 inch(es)” row does not match a table 79 inches wide with any depth we can infer. The second listing says the table is particle board and MDF with a built-in butterfly leaf, accommodates 4 to 10 or more, assembly takes 15 to 25 minutes and multiple packages may arrive at different times; it gives no table depth, height or load in the text we read. The Ashley listing says the table is pine, veneer and engineered wood with a brown top and a white base, a thick edge with book-matched inlay veneer, and an extension design to fit up to 8; the chairs are solid wood with a distressed white finish and a linen-colored polyester seat with nailhead trim. It does not give the open or closed length in the text we read, and it says two people are recommended for assembly.
How many seats do these tables really give?
A good rule of thumb is 24 inches of table edge per person, with a person at each end.
- 79 inch table: 79 ÷ 24 = 3.3, so 3 per long side is 6, plus 2 at the ends, which is 8 in all. The listing sells six chairs, so you would need two more matching chairs for eight.
- Extendable, 62.99 inches closed: 62.99 ÷ 24 = 2.6, so 2 per side gives 4, plus 2 ends, for 6. Extended to 94.5 inches: 94.5 ÷ 24 = 3.9, so 3 per side comfortably (4 per side tightly), for 8 to 10 with ends. The listing says 4 to 10 or more, which agrees.
- Ashley extension table: the open length is not stated; ask. “Fits up to 8″ with a two-chair pack means you buy four packs of chairs for eight seats.
A sizing example: a 12 by 14 foot dining room
The room is 144 by 168 inches, which is 168 square feet. The U.S. Access Board’s accessible-route guidance, written for public buildings, gives a 36 inch minimum continuous clear width for a route; we use it only as a rough yardstick at home. A chair pulled out and sat on takes about 24 inches from the table edge, our assumption, so the dining zone is the table plus 24 inches on every side. The table depths are not stated, so we assume 36 inches for all three, which is our assumption, not a listing figure.
- 79 inch table: zone (79 + 48) × (36 + 48) = 127 × 84 = 10,668 square inches, 74 square feet. That is 74 ÷ 168 = 44 percent of the room. Along the 168 inch length the ends have (168 − 79) ÷ 2 = 44.5 inches; across the 144 inch width the sides have (144 − 36) ÷ 2 = 54 inches. Both clear 36.
- Extendable closed (62.99): zone (62.99 + 48) × 84 = 9,323 square inches, 64.7 square feet, 39 percent of the room. Open (94.5): (94.5 + 48) × 84 = 11,970 square inches, 83.1 square feet, 49 percent. The ends then have (168 − 94.5) ÷ 2 = 36.8 inches, barely clearing 36.
- In a 10 by 12 foot room (120 square feet): the open extendable’s 83.1 square feet is 69 percent of the room and its ends have (144 − 94.5) ÷ 2 = 24.8 inches, which is not enough to walk past a chair at the end. For a smaller room the table can stay closed and open for guests.
Chair width needs a check too. If each chair is 20 inches wide, as in the first listing, eight chairs need 8 × 20 = 160 inches of seat width around a table whose edge is about 79 × 2 + 36 × 2 = 230 inches, so there is room to spare on paper; the 24 inches per person is about elbow room, not seat width.
Table strength: the 100 pound problem
The first listing’s table is rated at 100 pounds. A dinner for eight puts food, plates and glasses on the table: dishes and food for eight can weigh 40 to 60 pounds, our estimate, which is already half the rating before anyone leans on the table. A person leaning on an edge adds more. The chairs are rated 220 pounds each. The seller may mean a conservative number, but for a table used for family dinners a rating of 100 pounds is thin. The other two listings give no table load in the text we read, so ask the seller for one before you buy.
Extension mechanisms
The extendable table uses a built-in butterfly extension; the leaf is stored inside the table. Butterfly leaves slide and fold, and can be stiff or misaligned if the table is not level. The Ashley listing describes an extension design without naming the mechanism. If you plan to extend the table often, ask what the warranty covers, and test the mechanism with the table level. Always lift the leaf rather than dragging it, and never lean on a half-open leaf.
Chairs: the other half of a set
Chair details matter. The first listing gives a seat 20 inches wide and a back 18 inches high on boucle fabric; the second lists velvet chairs with a wood leg and an ergonomic backrest, and does not give seat sizes in the text we read; the Ashley chairs have a ladderback and a linen-colored polyester seat. Boucle and velvet show spills, so choose a performance fabric or use seat covers if children eat at the table. Count the chairs in the box against the seat count you need.
Materials and care
The first table is composite wood, the second is particle board and MDF, and the Ashley table is pine, veneer and engineered wood. Composite wood products, including particle board and MDF, are covered by the EPA’s formaldehyde emission standards, and a compliance label may be present; the listings do not state one in the text we read. Wipe tables with a damp cloth and dry them, use trivets for hot dishes and felt pads under the chairs.
Which one for which family
- 79 inch table with 6 chairs: a fixed table that seats eight tightly, with a very low table rating.
- Extendable with 8 chairs: the most flexible, from 6 seats closed to 8 to 10 open, with the least listed detail.
- Ashley Valebeck: a name-brand table designed to extend; confirm the sizes and buy chairs separately.
See also dining benches and dining room table with 6 chairs.
How to choose
- Decide whether eight seats are daily or occasional.
- Compute the table length: about 72 inches plus end seats.
- Count the chairs included and buy the rest.
- Ask for the table’s load rating and depth.
- Compute the dining zone against your room.
Frequently asked questions
How long is a dining table for eight?
About 72 to 96 inches, by our 24 inch rule, with a person at each end.
How much does a dining set for eight hold?
The first listing’s table is rated 100 pounds and its chairs 220 pounds each; the others give no table load.
Do dining sets for eight include eight chairs?
Not always. The 79 inch set includes six, and the Ashley chairs come in packs of two.
Will an extendable table fit a small room?
Closed it can; extended it needs at least 36 inches at each end, so measure first.
Is a farmhouse dining table durable?
Check the material and the load: the three here are composite wood, particle board with MDF, or pine with veneer.
Products worth checking
We have not tested these products. Sizes and features come from the Amazon listings as we read them; where a listing does not say, we say so.
79 Inch 7-Piece Dining Room Set With 6 Gray Boucle Chairs And Natural Table
- Keep in mind: we have not tested it, and the listing may show more than one size or finish, so pick the variant that matches your numbers.
Extendable Dining Table Set of 8, Rustic Farmhouse Kitchen Dining Table & 8 Blue Velvet Dining Chairs, 63″-94.5″
- Keep in mind: we have not tested it, and the listing may show more than one size or finish, so pick the variant that matches your numbers.
Signature Design by Ashley Valebeck Farmhouse Rectangular Extension Dining Table, Fits up to 8, with Dining Chair, 2 Count, Whitewash
- Keep in mind: we have not tested it, and the listing may show more than one size or finish, so pick the variant that matches your numbers.
Sources checked
Specifications come from the Amazon listings as we read them for this guide. Product details and availability can change, so confirm on the product page before you buy.