As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links marked “Affiliate link” may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more.

Which end table with USB ports suits a tight space? Measure first, because the listed widths are 15 in, 15.8 in and 15.7 in, and the depths are 11 in, 11.7 in and 11.8 in. The three options range from a two-table set with two storage shelves to a single three-tier table with a stated load rating. Each can hold a lamp, drink, remote or phone beside a sofa or bed. A table that fits beside the sofa may still block a drawer, door or main passage, so protect the walking route and check the outlet location. Confirm the port combination and dimensions on the current listing before ordering.

Quick compare: the products in this guide

Sizes come from the Amazon listings as we read them; check the product page for the current details before you buy.

ProductListed detailsLink
HOOBRO Side Table with Charging Station, Set of 2 End Tables with USB Port…11″D x 15″W x 21.7″H; 13.8 poundsSee details on Amazon Affiliate link
Huuger Nightstand Set of 2 with Charging Station, USB-C Port, End Tables11.7″D x 15.8″W x 23.3″HSee details on Amazon Affiliate link
Hzuaneri End Tables with Charging Station, 3 Tier Side Table with USB Ports11.8″D x 15.7″W x 23.6″H; 7.9 poundsSee details on Amazon Affiliate link

Why end tables with USB ports matter in a small space

A small end table can serve as a charging point, lamp stand, drink surface, remote holder, and storage unit. Combining those jobs can prevent the need for a larger cabinet or a second piece of furniture.

The charging station affects placement. The first listing states a 4.9 ft power cord, and the third states a 4.6 ft power cord. The second listing does not state a cord length, so check the listing. Route the cord along the wall instead of across a walking path. Keep it away from places where feet, chair legs, or a vacuum could catch it.

The three selected tables have compact listed footprints:

  • The first is 15 in wide and 11 in deep.
  • The second is 15.8 in wide and 11.7 in deep.
  • The third is 15.7 in wide and 11.8 in deep.

These differences matter beside a sofa arm or between a bed and a wall. If the available gap is tight, mark the footprint on the floor with painter’s tape before ordering.

Height also changes how the table works. The listed heights are 21.7 in, 23.3 in, and 23.6 in. Measure from the floor to the top of the sofa cushion or arm rather than relying on appearance. For a bed, measure to the top of the mattress and nearby frame. The useful height depends on what you want to reach while seated or lying down.

Key measurements and how to measure

Start with the floor footprint. Measure the open area from the wall or sofa side outward. Record width and depth in inches. Do not measure only the tabletop if the legs, charging panel, or lower shelf extends farther.

Next, measure nearby furniture. For a sofa, record the floor-to-seat and floor-to-arm distances. For a bed, record the floor-to-mattress height. A table can work beside either piece, but its charging panel may be easier to reach at one height than another.

Measure the route from the charging station to the wall outlet, following the planned cord path. Do not stretch the cord diagonally across the room. The first product lists one three-prong AC outlet, one USB port, and one Type-C port. The second lists two AC outlets, one USB port, and one Type-C port. The third lists one AC outlet and two USB ports. USB-A, USB-C, and AC plugs are different connection types.

Leave a clear route beside the furniture. The US Access Board uses 36 in as a minimum clear width for an accessible route and allows 32 in for short stretches such as doorways. This is a yardstick, not a universal home-furnishing rule. Use it to identify a main path that a table could make too narrow.

Measure the doorway and delivery path as well. One listing states a minimum required door width of 20 in. If your chosen listing does not state a door requirement, check the listing and measure the packaged item before purchase. The assembled width does not confirm that the package will pass through every turn.

Types and materials to consider

A two-table set can help when you want matching pieces on both sides of a sofa or bed. The first selected option includes two end tables, two shelves, a metal frame, and engineered wood tops. Its listed dimensions are 11 in deep, 15 in wide, and 21.7 in high. Since it includes two items, one can also serve in another room.

A single three-tier table suits a space where vertical storage matters more than a drawer. The third option measures 11.8 in deep, 15.7 in wide, and 23.6 in high. It has three shelves, a metal frame, and an engineered wood top. Its listing states a maximum weight recommendation of 22 lb. The same listing describes a top load of 70 lb and middle and bottom loads of 45 lb. Those figures contradict the stated maximum weight recommendation, so do not rely on either set of load figures. Check the listing and follow its current instructions.

A drawer can hide small items more effectively than open shelving. The second option measures 11.7 in deep, 15.8 in wide, and 23.3 in high. Its listing describes one drawer, engineered wood construction, and wood legs. It also lists two AC outlets, one USB port, and one Type-C port. The listing does not state an item weight or maximum weight recommendation, so check the listing before placing heavy equipment on it.

Open shelves keep books and remotes visible and easy to reach. A drawer gives a cleaner appearance but needs room in front of the table. Measure that opening space before placing a drawer beside a sofa or bed.

Material changes the visual feel of the table. Metal legs can look more open, while engineered wood can create a fuller block beside seating. These descriptions do not establish a load guarantee. Use only the capacity information provided for the exact listing.

Keep drinks away from outlets, ports, and cords. Follow the manufacturer’s electrical and placement instructions.

Worked example with real arithmetic

The room is 10 ft wide and 12 ft deep. The sofa sits along the 10 ft wall. The table will occupy floor space beside the sofa, and the main route runs along the remaining portion of that same 10 ft wall.

Assume the sofa occupies 78 in of the 10 ft wall. Convert the wall first:

  • 10 ft × 12 in equals 120 in.
  • 120 in minus 78 in equals 42 in of wall remaining.
  • A selected 15 in-wide table fits in that 42 in section.
  • 42 in minus 15 in equals 27 in of wall remaining.

Now check the table’s depth along the room’s 12 ft depth axis:

  • 12 ft × 12 in equals 144 in.
  • 144 in minus 11 in equals 133 in of room depth remaining after the first table’s footprint.

The 11 in figure is the first table’s listed depth. This subtraction concerns the room’s depth axis; it does not reduce the 10 ft wall calculation, so the same clearance is not counted twice.

If the 10 ft wall must also contain a 36 in walking route, reserve that route separately:

  • 42 in minus 36 in equals 6 in.

Only 6 in remains beside the route, which is not enough for a 15 in-wide table if the table and route must share that same section. Move the table to the sofa’s other side, use another wall, or evaluate whether the passage is a secondary route.

For a different arrangement, place the table beside the sofa on the 12 ft depth axis:

  • 144 in minus 11 in equals 133 in.
  • 133 in minus 36 in equals 97 in.

That leaves 97 in along the named depth axis after the table and a 36 in route. The example shows why width, depth, and clearance must stay on their named wall or axis.

Who should skip them?

Skip these tables if you need a broad surface for a large monitor, printer, several books, and a lamp at once. Their listed widths range from 15 in to 15.8 in, so the top area is limited.

Skip open shelving if you need to hide clutter. Skip the drawer model if there is not enough space in front of the table for the drawer to open.

Skip any option if the outlet is too far away for its stated cord or if the cord would cross a route. Check the listing when cord length is not provided.

These are also a poor choice when you need a verified heavy-load surface but cannot resolve the listing details. The third option has conflicting capacity information, so do not select it for substantial equipment without clarification.

If children or pets may pull on the furniture, follow the manufacturer’s instructions for placement and anchoring. The CPSC recommends anchoring furniture to the wall, while its federal tip-over standard covers clothing storage units rather than every table or cabinet. A small-room storage cabinet guide may be more appropriate when enclosed storage is the main goal.

Common mistakes

Measuring only width: A table may fit beside the sofa but project too far into the room. Measure width and depth.

Ignoring the outlet: The charging station is useful only when the cord reaches the outlet without crossing a route.

Treating USB ports as universal: Check whether your device needs USB-A, USB-C, or an AC plug.

Blocking a drawer: Leave room to pull the drawer open and reach lower shelves.

Using conflicting load figures: Do not choose the higher number when a listing gives contradictory capacity information. Check the listing and follow the manufacturer’s instructions.

Counting a set as one table: The first option lists two items. Confirm whether you need one table or two.

Forgetting the door: Measure the doorway and delivery path. The assembled table width does not confirm package clearance.

Putting liquids beside charging equipment: Keep drinks stable and away from outlets, ports, and cords.

Skipping wall safety: Follow included instructions and consider anchoring where appropriate, especially if the table may be pulled or climbed on.

Frequently asked questions

Are end tables with USB ports useful beside a sofa?

Yes. They combine a compact surface with charging access. Measure the sofa arm, outlet distance, and walking route before choosing one.

Which selected table is the shallowest?

The first option is listed at 11 in deep. The second is 11.7 in deep, and the third is 11.8 in deep. Recheck the current listing because dimensions can change.

Do all three selected tables include AC outlets?

The first listing states one three-prong AC outlet, one USB port, and one Type-C port. The second states two AC outlets, one USB port, and one Type-C port. The third states one AC outlet and two USB ports.

Can these tables replace a nightstand?

They can serve as compact nightstands when their height, storage, and charging layout suit the bed. Measure from the floor to the mattress and check whether the ports are easy to reach.

Should a small end table be anchored?

Follow the manufacturer’s instructions. The CPSC recommends anchoring furniture to the wall, although the federal tip-over standard cited by CPSC covers clothing storage units rather than every table.

Products worth checking

We have not tested these products. Sizes and features come from the Amazon listings as we read them; where a listing does not say, we say so.

HOOBRO Side Table with Charging Station, Set of 2 End Tables with USB Port and Outlets, Nightstand with 2-Layer

11″D x 15″W x 21.7″H; 13.8 pounds

See details on Amazon Affiliate link

Huuger Nightstand Set of 2 with Charging Station, USB-C Port, End Tables

11.7″D x 15.8″W x 23.3″H

See details on Amazon Affiliate link

Hzuaneri End Tables with Charging Station, 3 Tier Side Table with USB Ports

11.8″D x 15.7″W x 23.6″H; 7.9 pounds

See details on Amazon Affiliate link

Sources checked

Specifications come from the Amazon listings as we read them for this guide. Product details and availability can change, so confirm on the product page before you buy.

How we research our guides