As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
Someone searching for a desk chair with a footrest wants to rest their legs without leaving the chair. The footrest can be built into the chair, pulled out from it, or attached as a separate ring. This guide compares the four chairs our product scan returned for this search, and explains what each listing states about its footrest, weight limit and size.
Every figure below comes from the listing’s title, bullets or spec table, checked on 2026-10-18. Where a listing gives two different numbers for the same thing, this guide says so instead of picking one. Check the current listing before you buy, since sellers change specifications without notice.
Quick answer
Two listings in this set describe a footrest that pulls out from the chair: the GTPLAYER gaming chair and the Gaining office chair. The Primy adds a separate footrest ring under the seat, and the TUKAKA’s title says footrest, but its bullets do not say how the footrest works. For the highest stated weight limit, the TUKAKA lists 330 pounds and the Gaining lists 300 pounds. If you only want to rest your feet now and then, a separate footrest may be enough, but a built-in one suits a chair you use for many hours.
What this research set contains
The scan returned four chairs with a footrest feature. All four are office or gaming chairs with a backrest and wheels. The set is a short list from one search, so it covers the options on that search, not the whole market. Two of the four listings contain numbers that disagree with each other, and those gaps are noted in the cards below.
How to choose a desk chair with a footrest
Four checks decide most of the outcome for this search. Work through them in order, and skip any check that the listing does not answer.
Footrest type
The type of footrest changes how you use it. A retractable footrest, as the Gaining bullets describe, stays out of the way until you pull it out. A separate footrest ring, as the Primy title describes, is a freestanding part you move under the seat. For example, if you switch between typing and leaning back all day, a footrest that pulls out and locks in place will suit you better than a ring you must set down and pick up.
Recline range
A chair that reclines lets you stretch your legs out, and the angle matters. The Gaining listing gives a 90 to 135 degree recline range with a lock, and the TUKAKA highlights give a 150 degree recline. The TUKAKA bullets say 90 to 150 degrees, so the listing is consistent on the upper limit. Choose the range that matches how far back you lean in practice.
Weight limit
Compare the stated limit with your own weight. The TUKAKA spec table gives a maximum recommendation of 330 pounds, the Gaining spec table gives 300 pounds, and the GTPLAYER spec table gives 250 pounds. The Primy listing does not state a weight limit in its spec table. If you cannot find a limit on a listing, ask the seller before you order.
Size and seat height
Measure your desk height and the space under it before you compare chair heights. The Gaining lift covers a 4-inch pneumatic range. The TUKAKA seat cushion is 4.8 inches thick, which raises the seat height compared with a thinner cushion. The GTPLAYER listing states two different sets of dimensions, so use the figures from your own measurements.
The four chairs
1. GTPLAYER Gaming Chair with Footrest and Lumbar Support, Model GT800A (Faux Leather, Black): best for a built-in footrest with a headrest
Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-18): faux leather seat on a metal frame with plastic parts; 250 pounds maximum recommendation; headrest and lumbar pillow; height adjustable; 360-degree swivel per the title; footrest listed as an additional feature. The spec table gives 16 inches deep, 18 inches wide and 40 inches tall, while the size field gives 19.68 inches deep, 20.86 inches wide and 53.15 inches tall. These figures disagree, so confirm them with the seller.
Pros: The bullets describe a footrest you can take out and use when you lean back, plus a headrest and lumbar pillow. Cons: The two sets of dimensions do not match, and the 250 pounds limit is the lowest in this set.
Best for: readers who want the footrest, headrest and lumbar pillow in one purchase. Skip if: you weigh close to the 250 pounds limit or need confirmed dimensions before you order.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
2. Primy Drafting Chair with Flip-up Armrests and Adjustable Footrest Ring (Black): best for a standing desk setup
Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-18): 25.2 inches deep, 25.2 inches wide and 48 inches tall; metal frame; mesh back; 3-inch thick seat cushion per the bullets; five-claw base; 360-degree rotation. The title describes an adjustable footrest ring, and the bullets describe a foot stool with adjustable height.
Pros: The bullets say the 90-degree flip-up armrests save space at standing and sitting desks, and describe a five-claw base for stability. Cons: The footrest is a separate ring rather than a built-in part, and the spec table gives no weight limit. The spec table lists a 5-year warranty, while a bullet says the warranty is one year, so ask the seller which term applies.
Best for: people who sit at a tall desk or switch between sitting and standing, and who want the footrest to move with them. Skip if: you need a built-in footrest or a stated weight limit.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
3. TUKAKA Ergonomic Office Chair with Footrest (Cream): best stated weight limit and recline
Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-18): 27.5 inches deep, 27.5 inches wide and 50 inches tall; 330 pounds maximum recommendation; mesh back; 4.8-inch spring cushion per the highlights; reclining backrest with a 150-degree maximum; adjustable lumbar with 2-inch height and 1.57-inch depth settings per the bullets; basic assembly required.
Pros: The stated limit is 330 pounds, the highest in this set, and the listing describes a 150-degree recline and an adjustable headrest. Cons: The title says footrest, but the listing does not describe how the footrest works or where it sits, so check the photos and the seller’s answer before you buy.
Best for: heavier users who want a stated limit and a deep recline. Skip if: you need a clear description of the footrest mechanism before you buy.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
4. Gaining Ergonomic Office Desk Chair with Retractable Footrest (Black): best for a pull-out footrest and a lift range
Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-18): 20 inches deep, 28 inches wide and 46.6 inches tall; item weight 38.1 pounds; 300 pounds maximum recommendation; 90 to 135-degree recline with a lock; 4-inch pneumatic lift; mesh back; 360-degree rolling base; arm pads included.
Pros: The bullets describe a retractable footrest that you pull out to raise your legs, with a 3D headrest and an adjustable lumbar pad. Cons: At 38.1 pounds, the chair is heavy to move, and the listing does not describe the footrest’s locking position in detail.
Best for: readers who want a footrest that disappears into the chair and a recline lock. Skip if: you need to move the chair often or you need a lower weight limit than 300 pounds.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
Mistakes to avoid
Three mistakes come up with this search. The first is buying a footrest feature without checking where your feet land. Set the seat height first, then test the footrest position against your desk and your leg length, because a footrest that is out of reach does not help. The second is trusting a number that appears once. The GTPLAYER dimensions disagree with each other, and the Primy warranty term differs between its spec table and its bullets. The third is assuming a built-in footrest suits every leg length. If your feet do not reach the floor from the seat, compare how far each footrest sits from the seat before you decide.
Frequently asked questions
Is a built-in footrest better than a separate footrest ring?
It depends on use. A built-in footrest stays with the chair and does not need to be moved. A separate ring can be placed where your feet are comfortable, but it can slide and it takes up floor space.
Which chair in this set has the highest weight limit?
The TUKAKA lists 330 pounds as its maximum recommendation. The Gaining lists 300 pounds, and the GTPLAYER lists 250 pounds. The Primy does not state a weight limit in its spec table.
Why do some dimensions not match?
A listing can show more than one size field, and the figures may not describe the same thing. The GTPLAYER spec table gives a different depth, width and height from its size field. Use your own measurements, and ask the seller if the figures differ.
Can I add a footrest to any desk chair?
The listings in this set do not say whether their footrests fit other chairs. Check the compatibility details on each listing before you buy a footrest for a chair it does not name.
Related guides
Decision rule
Choose a chair with a built-in footrest if you use one chair for many hours and want the footrest to stay in place. Choose a separate footrest ring if you change desk heights or want to move the footrest around. Before you buy any of these, confirm the weight limit and the dimensions with the listing, because the spec tables in this set do not always agree with the bullets.