As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

A book light lets you read a paper book in bed without switching on the room light. It also leaves a sleeping partner or a dorm roommate alone. The six lights here come in three shapes: a clip-on that grips the book or the headboard, a neck light you wear, and a flat panel that sits next to the page. Specs below come from the Amazon listings we opened on October 17, 2026. We have not tested any of them. Where a listing contradicts itself, we say so and do not pick a number for you.

Quick answer

For most readers, start with the Gritin 19 LED clip-on. Its listing gives a horizontal head for a wider light spread, a dimming range of 10% to 100%, and an amber setting at 1800K. Choose the Glocusent bookmark-style clip if you want the slimmest and lightest option, at a listed 1.45 ounces. Choose the Glocusent neck light if you read in positions where a clip has nothing to grip, such as on a couch or in a tent. If you already read on an e-reader with its own front light, you may not need a book light at all.

What to check before you choose a book light

Clip, neck or flat panel

A clip-on needs something to grip: the book cover, a headboard, a shelf or an e-reader. A neck light needs nothing, so it works anywhere you can sit, but it weighs more: the two neck lights here list 4.8 and 3.9 ounces, against 1.45 to 2.5 ounces for the clip-ons. A flat panel needs a surface or your lap and lights the whole page evenly, but it cannot hang from the book.

Color temperature and brightness steps

Kelvin (K) describes how warm or cool the light looks. Lower numbers look more yellow, and higher numbers look more white. The listings here range from 1800K amber up to 6000K white. Which one is comfortable is a personal choice, and the eye-protection claims in the listings are the makers’ own, not something we verified. Look instead for the steps you can actually set. The Gritin lists stepless dimming from 10% to 100%, the 86lux lists presets at 10%, 50% and 100%, and the Glocusent bookmark clip lists five levels.

Battery and charging

All six are rechargeable by USB. Listed battery sizes run from 500 mAh to 1200 mAh, and listed runtimes run from 5 hours to 90 hours, depending on brightness. Treat the long numbers as best-case figures at the lowest brightness. The worked example below turns each range into nights of reading.

Head movement and the cord inside

Two listings warn against turning the head past 90 degrees because a cord runs inside it. If you like to twist a light around, that is a durability limit to respect.

How the six lights compare

Light Type Listed weight Color temperatures Brightness Listed runtime
Gritin 19 LED Clip-on 2.5 oz 1800K, 3400K, 6000K Stepless, 10% to 100% 12 to 90 hours
86lux Clip-On Clip-on 1.62 oz 2700K, 4000K, 5000K Presets at 10%, 50%, 100% or smooth Up to 80 hours
Glocusent bookmark clip Clip-on 1.45 oz 1800K, 3400K, 6000K 5 levels 10 to 80 hours
Glocusent neck light Neck 4.8 oz 3000K, 4000K, 6000K 3 levels per head, 2 heads 8 to 10 hours (both heads, high) up to 80 hours (one head, low)
Vekkia neck light Neck 3.9 oz Not stated in the listing Not stated in the listing 7 hours (high) to 40 hours (low)
VEEKI flat panel Flat, freestanding 1.6 oz White, warm, neutral (no Kelvin values) Stepless dimming 5 to 35 hours

The six picks in detail

1. Gritin 19 LED Rechargeable Book Light for Reading in Bed (Best overall clip-on)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-17):

  • Mounting: Clip-on with a bendable gooseneck
  • Light source: 19 LEDs in a straight line, ABS shade
  • Color temperatures: Amber 1800K, mixed 3400K, white 6000K
  • Brightness: Stepless dimming, 10% to 100%, with memory function
  • Battery: 1200 mAh, USB, about 2 hours to charge, 12 to 90 hours listed
  • Item weight: 2.5 ounces

Pros

  • Horizontal head, which the listing describes as a wider light spread
  • Warmest amber setting in this group at 1800K (tied with the Glocusent bookmark clip)
  • Four LED indicators show the battery level
  • Clip has non-slip pads

Cons

  • The spec table says clip-on, but its installation row says table or countertop mounting; the bullets describe a clip with a gooseneck, so we treat it as a clip
  • The listed dimensions (4.37 x 3.94 x 1.5 inches) do not say whether they are the lamp or the box
  • The 90-hour figure is the top of a wide 12 to 90 hour range

Best for: Readers who want one clip-on that covers a whole page and dims smoothly
Skip if: You want the lightest clip (at 2.5 ounces it is the heaviest of the three clips) or you need a neck light

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. 86lux Book Light, Rechargeable Clip-On LED Reading Light for Bed (Best clip-on with tilt, swivel and presets)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-17):

  • Mounting: Clip-on
  • Color temperatures: 2700K, 4000K, 5000K
  • Brightness: Presets 10%, 50%, 100% or smooth adjustment, memory function
  • Battery: USB-C, up to 80 hours listed
  • Head movement: Tilts 60 degrees, swivels 90 degrees
  • Item weight: 1.62 ounces (46 g)
  • Item dimensions: 2.2 x 0.63 x 4.72 inches

Pros

  • USB-C charging
  • Presets make it quick to pick a level in the dark
  • Frosted lens; the listing claims 70% less glare
  • Two-year care coverage stated in the listing

Cons

  • The spec table says the included component is a battery, while a bullet says a USB-C cable is included
  • Listing gives only the top runtime, not a low-end figure
  • Do not rotate the head past 90 degrees (cord inside)

Best for: Readers who like fixed brightness presets and a light clip
Skip if: You want an amber setting below 2700K

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. Glocusent USB Rechargeable Book Light, Portable Clip-on LED Reading Light (Best slim bookmark-style clip)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-17):

  • Mounting: Clip-on, clamp opens up to 150 degrees
  • Light source: 5 LEDs
  • Color temperatures: Amber 1800K, breeze 3400K, precise 6000K
  • Brightness: 5 levels; you can set a favorite default
  • Battery: 500 mAh, USB-A, 10 to 80 hours listed, 4 power indicators
  • Item weight: 1.45 ounces (the bullet says 1.41 ounces)
  • Item dimensions: 4.09 x 1.34 x 0.59 inches

Pros

  • Lightest and thinnest of the clip-ons
  • Clamp opens wide, which suits thick books
  • Warm 1800K amber setting
  • Head turns 90 degrees left, 90 right and 45 down

Cons

  • Smallest battery in the group at 500 mAh
  • The listing's own "20 days to 3 months" estimate is shorter than its hours imply (see the example below)
  • Do not turn the head hard past 90 degrees (cord inside)

Best for: Readers who want a slim light that lives on the book
Skip if: You read for long sessions at high brightness

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. Glocusent Reading Light, Bendable Neck Light, 80-hr Rechargeable Book Light (Best hands-free neck light)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-17):

  • Mounting: Worn around the neck, two flexible arms
  • Light source: 2 heads, each with its own switch
  • Color temperatures: 3000K, 4000K, 6000K
  • Brightness: 3 levels per head
  • Battery: 1000 mAh, USB Type-C; up to 80 hours (one head, low), 8 to 10 hours (both heads, high)
  • Beam angle: 90 degrees
  • Item weight: 4.8 ounces
  • Item dimensions: 7.48 x 1.3 x 5.3 inches

Pros

  • No clip or surface needed
  • Narrow 90 degree beam, which the listing says is meant not to disturb a sleeping partner
  • USB-C is reversible
  • 24-month warranty and 60-day return stated

Cons

  • Heaviest light in the group at 4.8 ounces
  • The listing says to charge no more than 6 hours at a time and not overnight, and no wall adapter is included
  • Not suited to someone who dislikes anything around the neck

Best for: Readers who read on a couch, in a tent or in any seat with nothing to clip to
Skip if: You want the lightest option, or a clip for a headboard

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

5. Vekkia Rechargeable LED Neck Book Light for Reading in Bed (Alternative neck light)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-17):

  • Mounting: Worn around the neck, silicone band
  • Light source: 4 LEDs (model 4LED-NL)
  • Battery: USB Type-C cable included; 7 hours at high, 40 hours at low
  • Item weight: 3.9 ounces
  • Color temperatures: Not stated in the listing
  • Brightness levels: Not stated in the listing

Pros

  • Lighter than the other neck light
  • Soft silicone band
  • Type-C cable included

Cons

  • The spec table shows 7.5 watts and Bluetooth, which do not fit the rest of the listing, so we ignore both
  • The listing does not state color temperatures or the number of brightness steps
  • Spec table lists the color as pink; check the color you order

Best for: Readers who want a lighter neck light and do not care about color temperature numbers
Skip if: You want to know the exact color temperature or brightness steps before buying

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

6. Flat Book Light, Rechargeable LED Reading Light (VEEKI) (Best with a timer)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-17):

  • Form: Flat transparent panel, freestanding; not a clip
  • Colors: White, warm and neutral light (no Kelvin values given)
  • Brightness: Stepless dimming
  • Timer: 1 to 99 minutes, auto turns off
  • Battery: 1200 mAh, USB cable included, about 3 hours to charge; 7.5 hours high, 16 hours medium, 35 hours low
  • Item weight: 1.6 ounces

Pros

  • The whole panel lights up for even coverage across the page
  • Auto shut-off timer if you tend to fall asleep reading
  • Works as a night light too

Cons

  • It sits next to the page or on your lap; it does not clip on
  • Spec table lists dimensions of 1 x 1 x 1 inch, which looks like a default value
  • Spec table calls it a night light, not a book light

Best for: Readers who fall asleep with the light on
Skip if: You read in positions with nowhere flat to set it

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

Worked example: how many nights does a charge last?

Say you read 30 minutes a night. One charge lasts (listed hours) x 2 nights, because each hour covers two half-hour sessions. This is our own arithmetic on the listings’ hour figures, not a measured result.

Light Listed hours Nights at 30 minutes a night
Gritin 19 LED 12 to 90 24 to 180
86lux Clip-On Up to 80 Up to 160
Glocusent bookmark clip 10 to 80 20 to 160
Glocusent neck light 8 to 10 (both heads, high), up to 80 (one head, low) 16 to 20 on high, up to 160 on low
Vekkia neck light 7 to 40 14 to 80
VEEKI flat panel 5 to 35 (7.5 high, 16 medium, 35 low) 10 to 70 (15 on high, 32 on medium, 70 on low)

The Glocusent bookmark clip’s own listing says 20 days to 3 months at 30 minutes a day. Its listed 80 hours would give 160 nights, which is more than 5 months, so the listing’s sentence is more conservative than its own hours. Either way, the useful point is that the low end matters: at the highest brightness you may recharge every couple of weeks, and at the lowest you may recharge only a few times a year.

Common mistakes

  • Buying a clip-on for a reading position with nothing to clip to. If you read on a couch with a thin paperback, a neck light or a flat panel may suit you better.
  • Comparing only the top runtime. Compare the high-brightness figure, because that is what you may use on a dark night.
  • Twisting the head past 90 degrees on the clips that carry a cord inside it, which two listings warn against.
  • Charging a neck light overnight when its listing says not to.
  • Trusting a spec table over the bullets. Several listings above disagree with themselves, so read the bullets too.

Who should skip a book light

If you read on an e-reader or a tablet, its own screen already gives light. If you read mostly at a nightstand that already has a lamp, a book light adds little. Look at your bedside first: our guides to the bedside table, the bedside bookshelf and the bedside organizer show how to keep a light and a book within reach in a tight space.

Related buying guides

FAQ

Can a book light wake my partner?

A book light is a small directional light, which is the point of the product. The Glocusent neck light’s listing says it uses a narrow 90 degree beam so it does not disturb a sleeping partner. The other listings call their light soft or glare-free but do not give a beam angle.

Which book light is best for a thick hardcover?

A clip needs room to grip. The Glocusent bookmark clip lists a clamp that opens up to 150 degrees, the only opening size stated. The other clip listings do not give an opening size, so check the thickness of your book against the clip before you rely on one.

Do I need a warm light?

That is a comfort preference. Lower Kelvin numbers look more yellow. The Gritin and the Glocusent bookmark clip both list 1800K, the warmest settings here. The 86lux starts at 2700K. We make no medical claim about any of them.

How often will I need to recharge?

It depends on brightness. At 30 minutes of reading a night, the listed hours work out to about two weeks of nights on the shortest high-brightness ranges and several months at the lowest brightness. The table above shows the figures per light.

Is a neck light better than a clip-on?

It depends where you read. A neck light needs nothing to grip, but it weighs more (3.9 and 4.8 ounces). A clip-on is lighter but needs a book, shelf or headboard to hold it.

Do these come with a charger?

Most list a charging cable but not a wall adapter. The Glocusent neck light’s listing says no adapter is included. Any USB charger you already own will normally work, but check the plug type your light uses: the 86lux and the Glocusent neck light list USB-C, and the Glocusent bookmark clip lists USB-A.

Bottom line

Pick by where you read, not by the longest runtime. For a clip-on on a book or headboard, choose the Gritin 19 LED, or the Glocusent bookmark clip if you want the lightest. For a couch, a tent or any seat with nothing to grip, choose the Glocusent neck light. For a reader who dozes off, the VEEKI flat panel adds a timer, but it does not clip. Read each listing’s conflicts above before you order, and charge the neck light the way its listing says.

How we research our guides