As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

An accordion hook rack is a wall-mounted peg rack that stretches or folds to fit the space you have. It works well beside a door, in a narrow entryway or on a short stretch of wall where a fixed hook row will not fit. This guide helps you decide which listed model suits your wall, how many pegs you need and what weight the listing says each rack can carry. Every size and limit below comes from the product listings. Measure your wall and the spot beside your door before you buy, because the expanded width matters more than the peg count for most small spaces.

Quick answer

For most walls beside a door, the Homode rack is the best overall pick. Its listing says it expands to 42 inches and states a 50 pound maximum weight capacity. If you want the most pegs on a single rack, choose the AMAPON model, which lists 13 wooden pegs and a 35 pound maximum weight capacity. The RamPro pack is sold as a set of two, but its peg count appears two different ways, so check that listing first. If you prefer a rubberwood rack with 10 hooks, look at SCUNDA, which does not state a weight capacity.

What matters for an accordion hook rack

Five factors change with this keyword. Start with your wall, then move to how much you plan to hang.

Expanded width against your wall. An accordion rack only helps if it fits the space. The Homode listing states it “expands to 42 inches”. The AMAPON listing gives approximate dimensions of 11.0 X 24.8 in. The SCUNDA listing does not state an expanded width at all, so you will need to measure the rack itself.

Peg or hook count. Homode and AMAPON both list 13 pegs or hooks. SCUNDA lists 10 hooks. RamPro’s spec table lists 2 hooks, while its bullets describe 10 wooden pegs.

Stated weight limit. AMAPON lists 35 pounds as its maximum weight capacity. Homode lists 50 pounds. RamPro shows a 50 pound maximum weight recommendation. SCUNDA gives no weight figure, so its load cannot be compared with the other three.

Wood type and finish. Every model in this group is wood. AMAPON starts natural and turns walnut colored after a high-temperature treatment. Homode is dark brown, RamPro is brown and SCUNDA is rubberwood. None of the four listings describes a black or iron finish, so those searches will not find a match in this group.

Mounting method. The AMAPON listing says to hang two metal hooks on a fixed screw and then tighten it. Homode has two metal hangers on the back that can be mounted in different positions. RamPro says its rack works for horizontal and vertical hanging. Check each listing for any anchors or hardware you will need for your wall.

How to choose

Choose by the wall first. Measure the free width beside your door, then compare it with the rack’s expanded width. If the wall is narrower than the expanded size, pick a rack that can be set to a smaller width. The Homode listing says it can be adjusted to a preferred width, and the AMAPON listing says it can be adjusted to fit your wall, door or cabinet.

Choose 13 pegs when you hang a mix of coats, bags, towels and hats. Choose SCUNDA’s 10 hooks when you hang fewer items and want a shorter rack to fill a narrow space.

Choose a model with a stated weight limit when your coats are heavy. Homode (50 pounds) and AMAPON (35 pounds) both state one. Do not assume SCUNDA’s hooks carry the same load, because its listing gives no figure to compare.

Choose RamPro only after you confirm its peg count. The listing gives two different hook counts, so you cannot yet tell what you will receive.

If you need a wider station for coats and bags, compare the wrought iron coat rack as well. For a shoe-side layout, see the wall-mountable shoe rack.

1. Homode Vintage Wood Expandable Peg Rack- Multi-Purpose Accordion Wall Hangers with 13 Hooks (Best overall)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-07):

  • Maximum Weight Capacity: 50 pounds
  • Number of Hooks: 13
  • Item Dimensions: 3.35 x 6.38 x 16.93 inches

Pros

  • Listing says it expands to 42 inches
  • 50 pounds listed as maximum weight capacity
  • 13 hooks on one rack

Cons

  • Two folded measurements in the listing do not match
  • The listing does not say whether 50 pounds applies to all 13 hooks
  • Dark brown finish, not black or iron

Best for: A wide wall beside a door that needs adjusting to a narrower width
Skip if: You need a black or iron finish or a confirmed folded size

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. AMAPON Accordion Wall Hanger Expandable Coat Hat Rack 13 Peg Hook (Walnut) (Most pegs)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-07):

  • Maximum Weight Capacity: 35 pounds
  • Number of Hooks: 13
  • Item Dimensions: 12.6 x 4.3 x 2 inches

Pros

  • 13 wooden pegs on one rack
  • 35 pounds listed as maximum weight capacity
  • Adjustable to fit a wall, door or cabinet

Cons

  • The listing does not say which size is folded and which is expanded
  • Installation uses a fixed screw and two metal hooks
  • Lower listed weight figure than Homode and RamPro

Best for: Someone who wants the most pegs on one rack with a stated load figure
Skip if: You need a rating above 35 pounds or a confirmed folded size

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. SCUNDA Expandable Hat Hanger for Wall,10 Wall Hooks Organizer for Hat, Coat, Cap, Mug – Space (Best rubberwood option)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-07):

  • Number of Hooks: 10
  • Material: Rubberwood
  • Item Dimensions: 10.5 x 2.5 x 2.5 inches

Pros

  • 10 hooks on a rubberwood body
  • Item weight listed as 0.37 kg
  • Bullets list uses such as dog leashes, umbrellas and lanyards

Cons

  • No maximum weight figure in the listing
  • No expanded width stated
  • Fewer hooks than the 13-hook racks

Best for: Fewer items in a narrow entryway
Skip if: You need a stated load rating or a known expanded width

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. RamPro Accordion Style Wood Expandable Rack Hat, Cap, Belt, Umbrella Coffee Mug Wall wooden Pegs (Best as a two-pack)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-07):

  • Number of Hooks: 2
  • Maximum Weight Recommendation: 50 pounds
  • Item Dimensions: 4.1 x 4.1 x 4.1 inches

Pros

  • Sold as a set of two
  • 50 pounds listed as maximum weight recommendation
  • Listing says it works for horizontal and vertical hanging

Cons

  • Spec table lists 2 hooks while bullets describe 10 pegs
  • Item dimensions of 4.1 x 4.1 x 4.1 inches do not show an expanded width
  • Bullets describe a sandy color while the spec table says brown

Best for: Two spots for two racks, once the peg count is confirmed
Skip if: You need a confirmed peg count or only one rack

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

The four picks in detail

Homode Vintage Wood Expandable Peg Rack (best overall for a wide wall)

The Homode rack has 13 hooks and a vintage style. Its bullets say it expands to 42 inches and can be adjusted to the width you need, which makes it the widest expanded figure among the four listings. The listing states a 50 pound maximum weight capacity, and it mounts with two metal hangers on the back that can be set in different positions. The listing also gives two folded measurements that do not match: the item dimensions read 3.35 x 6.38 x 16.93 inches, while the bullets say 4.3 inches wide and 12 inches tall when folded. Rely on neither set, and measure the rack you receive. The listing does not state whether the 50 pound figure applies to all 13 hooks at once. The vintage style and dark brown finish suit a traditional entryway, and the expanded size makes it the most flexible choice for a long wall beside a door. Because the listing gives a 50 pound figure, you can compare it directly with the 35 pound figure for AMAPON. Skip this rack if you need a black or iron finish, because the listing says dark brown.

AMAPON Accordion Wall Hanger Expandable Coat Hat Rack (best for peg count)

The AMAPON rack carries 13 wooden pegs, and its bullets list uses that include coats, purses, towels, keys and umbrellas. The finish starts natural and turns walnut colored after a high-temperature treatment, then receives a light clear lacquer coat. The listing states a 35 pound maximum weight capacity and an item size of 12.6 x 4.3 x 2 inches. It also gives approximate dimensions of 11.0 X 24.8 in. The listing does not say which of those sizes is the folded length and which is the expanded length, so measure the rack when it arrives. Installation uses two metal hooks on a fixed screw, so plan for a screw mount. Its 13 pegs suit a household that hangs a mix of small items, such as keys, bags and towels, on one wall. The listing describes the peg count, the finish and the weight limit in plain terms, which makes it easy to check against your own coats. Skip this rack if you need a rating above 35 pounds.

SCUNDA Expandable Hat Hanger for Wall (best rubberwood option)

SCUNDA lists 10 hooks on a rubberwood body, and its item weight is 0.37 kg. The item measures 10.5 x 2.5 x 2.5 inches. Its bullets describe a slim, low-profile design meant for narrow walls, beside doors and in small apartments. The listing says the hooks can hold winter hats, tote bags and coats without bending, but it gives no maximum weight figure, so that claim cannot be checked against a stated limit. It also does not state an expanded width. The bullets list many uses, including dog leashes, umbrellas, lanyards and kitchen towels. Its 10 hooks and slim body suit a narrow wall where a shorter rack fits better than a wide one. The bullets describe a low-profile design that adds storage without clutter, which fits an entryway with little room. Skip this rack if you need a stated load rating or a known expanded width.

RamPro Accordion Style Wood Expandable Rack (best if you need two)

RamPro sells a set of two, and the listing gives an item weight of 16 ounces. It states a 50 pound maximum weight recommendation and says the rack is ready to hang on a wall or door. The bullets say the pegs measure 41mm, or 4.1 cm, in length. The spec table, however, lists 2 hooks while the bullets describe 10 wooden pegs, so the peg count is unclear. The listing also gives item dimensions of 4.1 x 4.1 x 4.1 inches, which does not show an expanded width. The bullets describe a sandy color, while the spec table says brown. The two-pack format suits two separate spots, such as a door and a nearby wall, so you can hang one rack in each. The bullets describe a sandy color, while the spec table says brown, so compare the finish in person if color matters to you. Skip this set if you need a confirmed peg count or a known expanded width, and check the listing before you buy two.

Comparison of the four listings

Model Pegs or hooks Listed weight figure Size figure in the listing Finish
Homode 13 hooks 50 pounds maximum Expands to 42 inches Dark brown
AMAPON 13 wooden pegs 35 pounds maximum Approximate 11.0 X 24.8 in Walnut
SCUNDA 10 hooks Not stated Item 10.5 x 2.5 x 2.5 inches Rubberwood
RamPro 2 hooks (bullets say 10 pegs) 50 pounds recommended Item 4.1 x 4.1 x 4.1 inches Brown

Three buying scenarios

If your wall beside the door is wide and you hang heavy coats, start with the Homode rack. It has the largest expanded figure and a stated 50 pound limit. Confirm the folded measurement once it arrives, because the listing gives two that do not match.

If you hang many small items, such as bags, keys and towels, the AMAPON rack suits you best. Its 13 pegs are the same count as Homode’s, and its listing gives a 35 pound limit that works for most coats and bags. Its expanded size is smaller, so it fits a narrower stretch of wall.

If you have a shared entryway and want two racks for two spots, consider the RamPro set only after you confirm its peg count. If you have fewer items and a narrow space, SCUNDA’s 10 hooks can be enough, but accept that the listing gives no weight figure and no expanded width.

The AMAPON listing gives an approximate dimension of 24.8 inches. The gap left over is 30 minus 24.8, which equals 5.2 inches. The Homode rack expands to 42 inches. It is 42 minus 30, which equals 12 inches wider than the wall, so you would set it narrower than its full expansion. Check the sums: 24.8 plus 5.2 equals 30, and 30 plus 12 equals 42. Both checks hold. This is an illustration with a made-up wall width, so measure your own space before you choose.

Common mistakes

  1. Choosing by peg count alone. A 13-peg rack that is too wide for your wall still will not fit, so measure first.
  2. Treating the weight figures as equal. AMAPON states 35 pounds, Homode and RamPro state 50 pounds, and SCUNDA states none. Compare only the figures each listing gives.
  3. Expecting a black or iron rack. None of the four listings describes one.
  4. Trusting numbers that conflict inside one listing. The RamPro peg count and the Homode folded sizes disagree with themselves, so confirm them on the rack you receive.
  5. Placing a rack where it narrows a walkway. The Access Board uses 36 inches of clear width for an accessible route, with 32 inches allowed at doorways for short stretches. It also uses 4 inches as a protrusion yardstick for objects between 27 and 80 inches high. Treat both as yardsticks, not rules for a home. If you want towels in that spot instead, the matte black towel rack with shelf is worth comparing.

FAQ

Can an accordion hook rack hold a heavy coat?

The AMAPON listing states 35 pounds as its maximum weight capacity, and the Homode listing states 50 pounds. The SCUNDA listing gives no weight figure. Before you rely on any rack for a heavy winter coat, check the listed figure and hang the coat you plan to use.

Does an accordion hook rack need screws?

The AMAPON listing says to hang its two metal hooks on a fixed screw and tighten it. The Homode listing mentions two metal hangers on the back. Check each listing for the mounting hardware included, and plan for a wall that accepts screws.

Can I mount an accordion hook rack on a door?

The AMAPON listing says it can be adjusted to fit a wall, door or cabinet. The other listings describe wall mounting. Check the door’s construction before you hang a loaded rack, because the listings do not describe door-mounting limits.

How wide is the Homode rack when it is fully open?

The Homode listing says it expands to 42 inches and can be adjusted to a narrower width. Its folded measurements do not agree with each other, so measure the rack you receive.

Which rack has the most pegs?

Homode and AMAPON tie at 13. AMAPON lists 13 wooden pegs, and Homode lists 13 hooks. SCUNDA lists 10 hooks, and RamPro’s peg count is unclear.

Why does the RamPro listing show two different hook counts?

The spec table lists 2 hooks, while the bullets describe 10 wooden pegs. The listing does not resolve the difference, so confirm the count before you buy a set of two.

Is any of these racks black?

No. The listed finishes are walnut, dark brown, brown and rubberwood. If a black or iron finish is essential, this group will not meet that need.

Bottom line

Homode is the best overall pick for a wide wall beside a door, because it lists the largest expanded figure at 42 inches and a 50 pound maximum weight capacity. Choose AMAPON if you want the most pegs with a stated 35 pound limit and a smaller expanded size. Choose SCUNDA only if you can accept no stated weight figure and 10 hooks. Skip the RamPro set until its peg count is confirmed. Measure your wall before you buy, because the width you have decides which rack you can use.

Sources

How we research our guides