As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links marked “Affiliate link” may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more.

Quick answer

A foldable dining table comes in three common styles: a round or square table whose top or leaves fold down, a drop-leaf with side leaves that hang down, and a wall-mounted table that folds flat against the wall. They solve different problems. A fold-down round saves floor when stored, a drop-leaf works as a narrow table most days and a bigger one for meals, and a wall-mounted table clears the floor entirely but needs a solid wall.

The three listings we read on Amazon on 2026-10-01 are a 36 inch foldable round table at 36 by 36 by 30 inches and about 33 pounds, a 36 inch folding round drop-leaf table at about 33 pounds with a listed 9.5 inch depth row, and a wall-mounted drop-leaf table titled 35 by 23 inches at about 24.3 pounds. We have not tested any of them. All figures come from the listings.

The three styles

A foldable round table, like the 36 inch Tangkula we read, folds its top or legs so the table stores flat or narrow. A drop-leaf table, like the second listing, has a fixed center and hinged leaves; the title says wooden drop leaf, and the dimension row of 9.5 inches deep by 36 inches wide suggests that figure is the folded size, though the listing does not explain it. A wall-mounted drop-leaf table, like the third listing, is fixed to the wall with the top folding up when not in use.

Check which style the listing is. A search for “foldable” also returns portable plastic banquet tables and tabletop extenders that are not meant for daily dining.

Open size and seats

A 36 inch round top has an area of π × 18² = 1,017.9 square inches and an edge of π × 36 = 113.1 inches. A common planning rule is about 24 inches of edge per person; it is a rule of thumb. At that rule, 113.1 ÷ 24 = 4.7, so four people sit comfortably and five would be tight. The listing says for 2-4 people, which matches.

The wall-mounted table at 35 by 23 inches has an area of 35 × 23 = 805 square inches. Its 35 inch side holds 35 ÷ 24 = 1.5 people, so two seats on the long side with a tight fit, or three if you sit close. It is a table for two.

Folded size

Folded size is the number that decides whether a foldable table helps. The drop-leaf listing gives a 9.5 inch depth, which, if it is the folded depth, gives a folded footprint of 9.5 × 36 = 342 square inches. That is 342 ÷ 1,017.9 = 0.34 of the open area, so about 66 percent of the floor is freed. The listing does not state that the 9.5 inches is the folded size, so ask the seller before you plan around it.

The 36 inch fold-down round lists only the open size, 36 by 36 by 30 inches, in the rows we read. The wall-mounted table’s dimension row reads 40.94 by 25.98 by 2.76 inches, which differs from the title’s 35 by 23 inches, so we think it is the packed size; the folded depth when mounted is not stated in the rows we read.

Weight and moving

The 36 inch round and the drop-leaf are each listed at about 33 pounds, which is a two-handed carry from room to room. The wall-mounted table is about 24.3 pounds before mounting. A fold-away table is only as flexible as its weight allows: if you want to move it every day, check you can lift it comfortably.

Wall mounting

A wall-mounted table puts its load on the fixings. The listing we read does not give a maximum load in the rows we opened. Mount into studs, use the hardware supplied for your wall type and follow the manufacturer’s instructions. We did not find a published figure for what a drywall anchor holds in the sources we opened, so we do not give one. If you rent, check what you may drill.

Materials

The 36 inch round is listed as metal and rubberwood. The drop-leaf is listed as engineered wood and rubber. The wall-mounted table is listed as acacia. If the core is a composite, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency says that since March 22, 2019 composite wood products, including household goods that contain them, must be labeled TSCA Title VI compliant under its formaldehyde rule. A listing may state compliance; if it does not, ask.

A worked example

Your kitchen-diner is 90 inches wide and you want to eat there and also keep the space clear. We assume 20 inches of chair pull-out and use 36 inches as a walkway yardstick, taken from the U.S. Access Board’s minimum clear width for accessible routes in public buildings; it is not a home code. The table sits against one wall.

  • 36 inch round, open: 90 − 36 − 20 = 34 inches, which fails by 2 inches.
  • Drop-leaf folded, if the 9.5 inch depth is the folded size: 90 − 9.5 = 80.5 inches, which passes easily.
  • Wall-mounted table, open, projecting 23 inches from the wall: 90 − 23 − 20 = 47 inches, which passes with 11 inches to spare.

The same room fails with the open round table and passes with the other two. If the room were 96 inches wide, the round would leave 96 − 36 − 20 = 40 inches, which passes. The decision depends on how much room you really have and whether you eat at the table or merely want it available.

Stability

Folding mechanisms have joints, and joints loosen. Check the locking hardware photos: a drop-leaf with a swing-out support or a gate leg is stable when open; a table with a single hinge is not. The listings we read do not state a load limit in the rows we opened. Do not sit or stand on a folding table, and keep hot dishes near the center.

Cleaning and care

A hinged leaf collects crumbs in the gap. A wipe with a damp cloth and a dry pass clears it. Rubberwood and acacia can swell or crack if left wet. Keep folding tables out of damp corners, and do not store them folded while wet, since that traps moisture.

Pairing with seating

Folding chairs or stools that tuck away go with a folding table. If you eat at the table every day, a fixed chair is more comfortable. For small-space tables that do not fold, see the dinette table set guide and the nook breakfast table guide.

Questions to ask the seller

What is the folded size? How do the leaves lock? What is the maximum load? Is the wall-mount hardware included and what wall types is it for? What is the top material?

Choosing between the three

If floor space is the scarce thing and you have a solid wall, the wall-mounted table gives the cleanest result, at 805 square inches open for two people and nothing on the floor when folded. If you want a table that serves four and can be moved to the corner, the 36 inch round is the better fit, at 1,017.9 square inches open. If you want a table that stays up most days and expands for guests, the drop-leaf style is the natural choice, though you should confirm its folded and open sizes first. In every case, measure twice: a 2 inch error in a 90 inch room, as in our example, is the difference between passing and failing the walkway test.

Using a folded table as a shelf

A folded table in a hallway can double as a narrow console for keys and mail. At a listed 9.5 inches deep, the drop-leaf would leave 36 inches of walkway in a hallway 45.5 inches wide, since 36 + 9.5 = 45.5. Do not leave heavy objects on a folded leaf, because the hinge carries the weight. This is a use we suggest, not one that any listing states.

Mistakes to avoid

Buying a fold-flat table and then leaving it open all the time defeats the point. Mounting a wall table on drywall without a stud is the second mistake. The third is ignoring the folded depth: a 9.5 inch table still blocks a narrow hallway.

Who should skip a folding table

If you eat at the table every day for several people, a fixed table is steadier. If you are renting and cannot drill, skip the wall-mounted one. If you rarely host, a small fixed table may be simpler than any folding mechanism.

Frequently asked questions

How much space does a foldable dining table save?

It depends on the type. If the drop-leaf’s 9.5 inch depth is its folded size, it uses about 34 percent of the open floor area. Confirm with the seller.

Are folding dining tables sturdy?

They can be, if the locks are solid. Look at the hinge and support photos and avoid standing or sitting on them. We found no load rating in the rows we read.

Can a wall-mounted folding table hold dinner?

For two people, usually, if it is fixed into studs. The listing we read gives no load limit, so ask.

Is a round or square folding table better?

A round top has no corners and works in tight rooms. A square or rectangle suits a wall and can seat more along a side.

Bottom line

A foldable dining table helps only if the folded size is small and the open table still fits the room. Check the folded depth, the lock and the wall fixing, and run the clearance sums before you buy.

Products worth checking

We have not tested these products. Sizes and features come from the Amazon listings, checked on September 30, 2026; where a listing does not say, we say so.

Tangkula 36″ Foldable Round Dining Table, Wooden Kitchen Table for 2-4

36 x 36 x 30 in; 33 lb

The listing gives 36 x 36 x 30 in; 33 lb. We re-opened the page on September 30, 2026 and found these figures; other details are on the product page.

  • Good for: comparing against the measurements in the guide above.
  • Keep in mind: we have not tested it, and the listing may show more than one size or finish, so pick the variant that matches your numbers.
See details on Amazon Affiliate link

36″ Folding Round Dining Table, Wooden Drop Leaf Table for 2-4 People, Space Saving Design

9.5 x 36 x 29.5 in as listed; 33 lb

The listing gives 9.5 x 36 x 29.5 in as listed; 33 lb. We re-opened the page on September 30, 2026 and found these figures; other details are on the product page.

  • Good for: comparing against the measurements in the guide above.
  • Keep in mind: we have not tested it, and the listing may show more than one size or finish, so pick the variant that matches your numbers.
See details on Amazon Affiliate link

Folding Wall-Mounted Drop Leaf Table 35″×23″ Space Saving Decorative Painting On The Back

35 x 23 in per title; 24.3 lb

The listing gives 35 x 23 in per title; 24.3 lb. We re-opened the page on September 30, 2026 and found these figures; other details are on the product page.

  • Good for: comparing against the measurements in the guide above.
  • Keep in mind: we have not tested it, and the listing may show more than one size or finish, so pick the variant that matches your numbers.
See details on Amazon Affiliate link

Sources checked

Specifications checked on September 30, 2026. Product details and availability can change, so confirm on the product page before you buy.